1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Netgear R7500v2 (100% QCA MU-MIMO) First Impressions & Formal Review

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by mediatrek, Oct 24, 2015.

  1. Dareksa

    Dareksa New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Lodz/Poland
    I have information on the box:

    Memory: 128 MB Flash and 512 MB RAM
     
  2. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14,425
    The FCC photos clearly show two Nanya NT5CB64M16FP, which are 128MB each for total of 256.

    Attached photo is from my box.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Dareksa

    Dareksa New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Lodz/Poland
    On my box is 512 MB RAM. Maybe there are two versions.
    Look at photos below.

    20160318_193034_1.jpg 20160318_193034_2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016
  4. avtella

    avtella Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    USA
    Beta sample info you see on the FCC site can differ from final product. This is from my experience as a beta tester.
     
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14,425
    I've asked NETGEAR Guy to clarify
     
  6. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14,425
    NETGEAR Guy tracked down the answer:

    R7500v2 is 512 MB
    R7500v1 is 256 MB
     
  7. SNBCruiser

    SNBCruiser New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    xcqckng likes this.
  8. husky55

    husky55 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Please report on your experience with the new Kong's firmware!!!
     
  9. Pep Streebek

    Pep Streebek New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Just replaced my Asus RT-AC66R with the R7500v2 and flashed the latest Kong build (12/2/2016), everything working great so far. MUCH better range through multiple walls in a "noisy" environment with many different WiFi signals than the AC66R. Going to miss Merlin's ASUS work, but so far the DD-WRT from Kong is excellent as well. Will update if anything changes or later on down the road if it keeps doing well.
     
    husky55 likes this.
  10. husky55

    husky55 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Just a heads up. Using kong 11/14/16 r30880 as a repeater bridge. Working great!!! Will try 12/2/16 soon.
     
  11. husky55

    husky55 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Netgear OEM firmware 1.0.3.4 latest have ipv6 problem with comcast. Netgear is working on a fix.