SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2013, 02:42 AM
Kevin G Kevin G is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kevin G is just starting out
Default weak wireless in parts of house

Hello. My wife received an iPad for Christmas (which she loves) but we're having a hard time getting a strong wireless signal upstairs. We have a cable modem/router (Motorola 6580) ethernetted to our iMac in the office downstairs, but the signal weakly makes it.

I have an old Motorola 901 collecting dust on the shelf and was wondering if it can be converted to act like a bridge/repeater or another AP?

Should I scrap the Motorolas all together and start over? Or is there a clever solution using the equipment I have. I really appreciate the experience and knowledge that this group has. Thanks for the help.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2013, 04:40 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,246
Thanks: 166
Thanked 638 Times in 542 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

The Best Way To Get Whole House Wireless Coverage
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2013, 05:43 PM
stevech stevech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 1
Thanked 353 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin G View Post
Hello. My wife received an iPad for Christmas (which she loves) but we're having a hard time getting a strong wireless signal upstairs. We have a cable modem/router (Motorola 6580) ethernetted to our iMac in the office downstairs, but the signal weakly makes it.

I have an old Motorola 901 collecting dust on the shelf and was wondering if it can be converted to act like a bridge/repeater or another AP?

Should I scrap the Motorolas all together and start over? Or is there a clever solution using the equipment I have. I really appreciate the experience and knowledge that this group has. Thanks for the help.

Kevin
You won't see a large improvement changing WiFi router brands. Tim's link is a good one.
Common way to improve (TWO-WAY) signal strength is to add an Access Point (AP) to you home network, located nearer the weak area. The AP connects to the WiFi router via either
cat5 cable if practical to run under house, in attic, etc.
HomePlug - essentially cat5 cable alternative that uses home's power wiring.
MoCA - same idea as HomePlug, but uses existing TV Coax - if there's one in a room near the weak signal area.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2013, 02:29 AM
Kevin G Kevin G is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kevin G is just starting out
Default AP

Great article! I've bookmarked that one. Just a couple of quick questions (hopefully)...
Can I use the SBG901 as an access point?
If I use the power line networking does it matter if the plug ins are on the same circuit?
Thank you. I feel like I"m getting closer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2013, 11:24 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,246
Thanks: 166
Thanked 638 Times in 542 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

As long as you can disable DHCP and assign an IP number to it so that it is in your LAN range, you can. You will have to determine that.
How To Convert a Wireless Router into an Access Point

Current powerline products work across phases and circuits. You do need to be aware of AFCI breakers and noise sources. Cellphone chargers are one of the worst noise sources that can reduct powerline throughput.

SmallNetBuilder's Powerline FAQ

Consider something like this (paired with a powerline adapter to connect your router), to make your job easier.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2013, 12:44 PM
TonyH TonyH is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 870
Thanks: 5
Thanked 61 Times in 58 Posts
TonyH is just starting out
Send a message via Skype™ to TonyH
Default

Must be huge house? My house is 3000 sq. ft. 2 story including basement. The router and modem is located in the open loft upstairs at certain spot after careful experiment regarding WiFi coverage in/around house. I can access router from either yards patio , from any room in the house. IMO, location of router and antenna stick orientation matter a great deal to have a good coverage.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2013, 02:18 PM
CaptainSTX CaptainSTX is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 576
Thanks: 10
Thanked 103 Times in 99 Posts
CaptainSTX is just starting out
Default Construction

The layout of the home plus construction materials matter.

I live in the tropics and my home is solid concrete with rebar. To get maximum download speeds in all rooms I found it necessary to install multiple APs.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2013, 02:41 PM
stevech stevech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 1
Thanked 353 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Indeed.
Tile floors, or carpet over concrete builder-board over plywood (good houses do this to avoid noisy floors) - are RF unfriendly. In commercial buildings, floors are sometimes poured concrete in a steel pan.

Even my small townhouse (1800 ft, 2 stories) works poorly on the opposite end of the 2nd floor (despite the indicated signal strength). A smart phone's low power WiFi won't work there, or does so very poorly with high error rates = very low speed.

The key is that WiFi coverage is NOT just the from-WiFi router signal strength displayed on a laptop or phone. The to-WiFi router signal is most always less, esp. for phones and tablets and other battery powered devices.

Some few routers display their received signal strength by client. Of course, this varies a lot by where the phone/tablet is, orientation, body-block, etc.

Don't assess WiFi coverage merely by looking at the received signal strength at the client. Instead, run speedtest.net and pay attention to the UPLOAD (not download) speed. In real usage, when you are web-surfing, if the upstream (to-router) signal is too weak, you'll see failed web page requests with spinning icons on the browser, etc.

In engineering terms, there are TWO wireless coverage viewpoints (coverage RF clouds): The downlink and the uplink. In most all wireless systems, the uplink coverage is often half that of the downlink, in area or sq. ft. - because of the lower transmitter power of the battery powered devices.

Last edited by stevech; 01-19-2013 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2013, 02:00 AM
Kevin G Kevin G is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kevin G is just starting out
Default

My house isn't that big (2200 sf) but my office where all the stuff is located is in the far corner of the basement (concrete foundation). We get 40+Mbps downloads and 2+Mbps uploads in our rural neck of the woods.

Sounds like the power line might be the way to go.

Do I need to replace my 6580 with the 901 in order to make the conversion? (i.e. does the 901 have to be connected to the cable in order to make the conversion or can I just tether it to my ethernet hub?)

There's quite a bit of technical options in the Network Control Panel in OSX 10.8 and I might be getting in over my head. Would it help to post a screen shot? Am I on the right track or am I about to demolish my system?

Last edited by Kevin G; 01-20-2013 at 02:46 AM. Reason: updated info
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-20-2013, 03:37 AM
stevech stevech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 1
Thanked 353 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I've not used this product, nor any like-kind from competing vendors.
It is a pair of devices that plug into AC outlets. One goes near your existing router, or near an ethernet switch (sometimes called a hub, but not correctly so).

The other goes near the weak signal area, in an AC outlet. This one creates a WiFi access point in that area. It exchanges data traffic over the home power wiring with the one near the head-end switch/router.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=3836244

Again this uses two paired units communicating via HomePlug and the home wiring. The AC wiring sometimes doesn't work well if you have certain items plugged into the same outlet as the network device - so choose AC outlets carefully.

Another approach to improving coverage is use of a WiFi Range Extender which is marketing-speak for what techies call a WDS device. It's a simple radio repeater. You put the WDS device in a place where it can get a decent signal from the WiFi router and retransmit that to create a new WiFi service are "bubble". And vice-versa. Problem with WDS is that vendor A's WDS product may not "pair" properly with Vendor B's WiFi router. And, being a repeater, the data rate halves - which for handheld WiFi may not be a problem. I don't recommend WDS for the lay person. Here's a link to one of many WDS devices:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...53472&csid=_61

Last edited by stevech; 01-20-2013 at 04:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  427
azazel1024  125
john9527  96
L&LD  95
htismaqe  79
ColinTaylor  70
stevech  69
hggomes  63
sfx2000  58
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6274
john9527  447
stevech  352
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  48359
Old RT-AC68 -...  22650
Old RT-AC68P...  7195
Old Moderate Nat...  4853
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4371
Old iOS 8.1...  4003
Old RT-AC87U -...  2482
Old WiFi...  2439
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2004
Old AC68U,...  1804
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  216
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  31
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old How to flash...  24
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.