SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 11:16 AM
neil0311 neil0311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
neil0311 is just starting out
Default Recommended IPv6 setting with Comcast IPv4

My Comcast connection only supports IPv4 at this time, at least as indicated by the cable modem which list the "Modem IP Mode" and "DOCSIS MIMO" as "IPv4 Only."

Given that, what is the best setting for IPv6 on the RT-N66U? I was going to disable, but wasn't sure if 6to4 would be a better choice. Any suggestions, and I'll admit that IPv6 isn't something I understand well. What issues might come up as a result of disabling IPv6?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2013, 12:26 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,068
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,575 Times in 2,287 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

At this point, IPv6 is mostly an experimental thing (Internet-wise). Keeping it disabled will have no impact at all. You shouldn't enable an IPv6 tunnel unless you were prepared to subscribe to a tunnelling service (such as Hurricane Electric's TunnelBroker) and configure it. And in most case it will result in a drop of performance when accessing some IPv6 enabled sites such as Youtube, depending on how close network-wise you are to HE's tunnel endpoint.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:31 PM
m00ster m00ster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
m00ster is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neil0311 View Post
My Comcast connection only supports IPv4 at this time, at least as indicated by the cable modem which list the "Modem IP Mode" and "DOCSIS MIMO" as "IPv4 Only."

Given that, what is the best setting for IPv6 on the RT-N66U? I was going to disable, but wasn't sure if 6to4 would be a better choice. Any suggestions, and I'll admit that IPv6 isn't something I understand well. What issues might come up as a result of disabling IPv6?

Hello,

The setting you are describing on your modem where it says ipv4 only is only for the management interface of the modem not the customer interface. You may have full ipv6 service.

the correct setting for comcast ipv6 is the DHCP with PD option. Try setting that and saving/rebooting your router. I have comcast and ipv6 works perfoect for me with the AC66 router.

-Jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:35 PM
neil0311 neil0311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
neil0311 is just starting out
Default

Thanks Jon. How can I test to see if IPv6 is enabled on my connection?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:46 PM
m00ster m00ster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
m00ster is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neil0311 View Post
My Comcast connection only supports IPv4 at this time, at least as indicated by the cable modem which list the "Modem IP Mode" and "DOCSIS MIMO" as "IPv4 Only."

Given that, what is the best setting for IPv6 on the RT-N66U? I was going to disable, but wasn't sure if 6to4 would be a better choice. Any suggestions, and I'll admit that IPv6 isn't something I understand well. What issues might come up as a result of disabling IPv6?
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil0311 View Post
Thanks Jon. How can I test to see if IPv6 is enabled on my connection?
open a cmd prompt and type ipconfig /all and see if you see something like:

IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:c:9e:6:886:4b69:d0db:e8ff(Preferred)

you can also try:

ping www.kame.net

if you get a response back from a ipv6 address, you have ipv6.

-Jon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:06 PM
neil0311 neil0311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
neil0311 is just starting out
Default

Assuming that I need to enable DNS and router advertisement as well as setting connection type to "Native with DHCP-PD"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:07 PM
KevTech KevTech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 285
Thanks: 2
Thanked 48 Times in 40 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m00ster View Post
Hello,

The setting you are describing on your modem where it says ipv4 only is only for the management interface of the modem not the customer interface. You may have full ipv6 service.

the correct setting for comcast ipv6 is the DHCP with PD option. Try setting that and saving/rebooting your router. I have comcast and ipv6 works perfoect for me with the AC66 router.

-Jon
Wait a second...not all Comcast customers have access to native IPv6 yet.

All of the Arris DOCSIS 3.0 C4 CMTS now have IPv6 but many Cisco CMTS still do not.

It all depends on what CMTS serves your area.

I am in a Cisco area so I have router set to 6to4.

Here is a map of IPv6 enabled areas for Comcast:http://goo.gl/maps/sL3Z

If you are not in one of these areas then you most likely do not yet have native IPv6 available to you through Comcast.

Last edited by KevTech; 01-05-2013 at 02:13 PM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:14 PM
neil0311 neil0311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
neil0311 is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevTech View Post
Wait a second...not all Comcast customers have access to native IPv6 yet.

All of the Arris DOCSIS 3.0 C4 CMTS now have IPv6 but many Cisco CMTS still do not.

It all depends on what CMTS serves your area.

I am in a Cisco area so I have router set to 6to4.
I'm outside Atlanta, so I'm assuming my Comcast connection doesn't have IPv6 enabled. If it's not, which I think is the case, then do you recommend setting the router to 6to4 or to disabled? If 6to4, any changes to the defaults needed? Leave router advertisements on and the Anycast relay IP to 192.88.99.1?

I did ping www.kame.net and only get a reply from an IPv4 address.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:16 PM
KevTech KevTech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 285
Thanks: 2
Thanked 48 Times in 40 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

See my previous post as I added a map.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:20 PM
m00ster m00ster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
m00ster is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevTech View Post
See my previous post as I added a map.
Hello,

It is possible you don't have ipv6 service if you are using Cisco equipment in your plant. The worse thing that will happen is you do not get a ipv6 address or connectivity, pretty much the same thing you had before you enabled ipv6 support. You can get a tunnel from a broker if you really want it regardless.

-Jon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  431
stevech  143
azazel1024  139
KGB7  130
sinshiva  106
sfx2000  91
Kel-L  90
hggomes  84
fistv  80
sm00thpapa  66
RMerlin  5574
stevech  326
ryzhov_al  265
TeHashX  216
RogerSC  189
L&LD  189
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  120
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  76183
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  35756
Old [Fork]...  14663
Old Asus locking...  9752
Old ASUS...  7709
Old Incoming...  7586
Old [Fork]...  4054
Old Share What...  3423
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2784
Old Best version...  2254
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  171
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  113
Old ASUS...  49
Old Connection...  46
Old [HOW TO]...  44
Old Incoming...  44
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old [Fork]...  40


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.