SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:12 PM
Marrus Marrus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Marrus is just starting out
Default RT-AC66U Router + Media Bridge Can't Connect To Local Media Services

Last night, I received a pair of RT-AC66U's that I set up as a router and media bridge, connecting over 5GHz AC. I updated both to the latest official firmware (3.0.0.4.260).

Previously, I had a Linksys WRT400N connecting to a Linksys WET610, over 5GHz N.

I run PS3 Media Server, Plex DLNA and Streambaby on my desktop, which is physically connected to the router.

I use a PS3 to connect to the PS3MS and Plex DLNA services, and a Tivo HD to connect to the Streambaby HME service, both of which are physically connected to the media bridge.

Everything worked with the Linksys WRT400N/WET610 combination, although not really fast enough for streaming 1080p content.

Now, with the two RT-AC66U's, the PS3 can't see PS3MS and the Tivo can't see Streambaby. The PS3 *is* able to see the Plex DLNA server.

I can live without PS3MS, but I really want to get Streambaby working again. Since Streambaby uses Bonjour, this thread seems to be related.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Last edited by Marrus; 11-30-2012 at 03:16 PM. Reason: Added related thread link
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:04 AM
Marrus Marrus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Marrus is just starting out
Default

After installing the new iTunes, my PS3 is now able to see PS3MS. I'm not sure if there is a causal relationship or if it was just a coincidence. Maybe reinstalling reconfigured Bonjour or something...?

I also managed to get Streambaby working, by plugging my Tivo into my old WET610N instead of the RT-AC66U Media Bridge.

The bizarre thing is, the WET610N is connecting to the 2.4Ghz network from the Media Bridge, which I configured with a difference SSID than the 2.4Ghz network from the main RT-AC66U router.

So why does Tivo->WET610N->Media Bridge->Router->Streambaby work while Tivo->Media Bridge->Router->Streambaby does not work?

Anyone have any suggestions for how I can figure that out?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2012, 04:44 PM
Marrus Marrus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Marrus is just starting out
Default

Looks like I'm not the only person having a problem with Streambaby and an Asus router. Link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2012, 06:08 AM
amro amro is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
amro is just starting out
Default

I too am having the same issue. For me, it was my AppleTV on the Bridge side not being able to see Home Sharing on my desktop PC connected to the Wireless router. Also, my Yamaha app for the iPhone could not find my Yamaha receiver.

I narrowed it down to the Bridge mode router because I can hook back up an old reliable D-link DAP-1522 in Bridge mode and get back those features. Of course, this defeats the purpose of upgrading wanting wireless AC.

I have a call-in with tech support. I got two replies in the same day, but haven't heard anything for the second day.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2013, 02:42 PM
cmonroe cmonroe is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cmonroe is just starting out
Default

I had the same problem and came up with the hack posted here:

https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-mer...mment-11330223

I'm sure this causes other issues and isn't the correct fix. Likely we need multicast support on the bridge available in Linux kernels 2.6.34 and later. Current firmware only runs 2.6.22.19.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  464
john9527  189
huotg01  177
stevech  140
System Error...  134
jegesq  131
hggomes  112
L&LD  112
azazel1024  93
RussellInCinc...  61
RMerlin  6868
john9527  650
stevech  372
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  271
TeHashX  270
RogerSC  208
hggomes  169
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  143
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old SECURITY:...  18229
Old ASUS...  10344
Old ASUS...  6757
Old ASUS...  6702
Old choose a new...  2691
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2413
Old Bulding...  2209
Old Horrible...  2032
Old Upgraded to...  1724
Old Anyone added...  1639
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  72
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  43
Old ASUS...  40
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old ASUS...  29
Old Dongle LTE...  25
Old Crazy...  25
Old Upgraded to...  23


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.