SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2012, 02:20 PM
tbosa tbosa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
tbosa is just starting out
Default B/G Protection on RT-AC66U

Hello. I've searched and cannot find a direct answer to what the little check box for "b/g protection" next to the "wireless mode" drop down box in all ASUS routers' firmware does for a person. Does it mean it "protects" wireless b by making sure the router stays compatible for B devices? Or, does it mean it adds some kind of extra security to the B and G wireless transmissions? I don't have any B devices in my house and unless this setting does something else for me, I'd rather disable it.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2012, 03:14 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Protection mode refers to a mechanism for the G radio. Since a legacy B radio device would not decode radio signals at G rates, a protection mechanism was developed for the new G radio and the B radio to co-exist on the same network. When protection mode is enabled, every packet sent on the G rate would require initiation of the sender.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2012, 10:02 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,344
Thanks: 172
Thanked 680 Times in 566 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Enabling "B/G" protection ensures that the AP waits long enough for these slower protocols.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2013, 02:55 PM
professordave professordave is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
professordave is just starting out
Default

Suppose there are no b clients, but there are several g clients.

I currently run without this checkbox.

I have an ac66u, no ac clients yet, just some n and some g clients.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  494
john9527  190
huotg01  170
System Error...  149
stevech  139
jegesq  130
L&LD  129
hggomes  105
azazel1024  104
RussellInCinc...  66
RMerlin  6897
john9527  653
stevech  373
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  273
TeHashX  270
RogerSC  208
hggomes  171
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  145
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  19327
Old SECURITY:...  18367
Old ASUS...  10542
Old ASUS...  7474
Old ASUS...  6836
Old choose a new...  3103
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2464
Old Bulding...  2252
Old Horrible...  2069
Old Upgraded to...  1751
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  190
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  43
Old ASUS...  43
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old ASUS...  29
Old Need a...  27
Old Equipment...  26


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.