SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2012, 02:20 PM
tbosa tbosa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
tbosa is just starting out
Default B/G Protection on RT-AC66U

Hello. I've searched and cannot find a direct answer to what the little check box for "b/g protection" next to the "wireless mode" drop down box in all ASUS routers' firmware does for a person. Does it mean it "protects" wireless b by making sure the router stays compatible for B devices? Or, does it mean it adds some kind of extra security to the B and G wireless transmissions? I don't have any B devices in my house and unless this setting does something else for me, I'd rather disable it.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2012, 03:14 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Protection mode refers to a mechanism for the G radio. Since a legacy B radio device would not decode radio signals at G rates, a protection mechanism was developed for the new G radio and the B radio to co-exist on the same network. When protection mode is enabled, every packet sent on the G rate would require initiation of the sender.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2012, 10:02 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,836
Thanks: 135
Thanked 547 Times in 467 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Enabling "B/G" protection ensures that the AP waits long enough for these slower protocols.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2013, 02:55 PM
professordave professordave is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
professordave is just starting out
Default

Suppose there are no b clients, but there are several g clients.

I currently run without this checkbox.

I have an ac66u, no ac clients yet, just some n and some g clients.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  321
sm00thpapa  230
stevech  187
azazel1024  147
KGB7  131
htismaqe  90
philmiami  80
jim769  73
AcostaJA  68
damir  58
RMerlin  5075
stevech  314
ryzhov_al  249
TeHashX  209
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  121
sfx2000  111
sinshiva  111
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  23335
Old NETGEAR...  12880
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  6692
Old Switched...  6430
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  6265
Old ASUS...  5699
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3435
Old Netgear...  3203
Old N66U daily...  2817
Old ASUS...  2548
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  169
Old NETGEAR...  161
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  56
Old Switched...  52
Old ASUS...  48
Old N66U daily...  47
Old Netgear...  41
Old Which router...  41
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  41
Old TP-Link...  38


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.