SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2012, 12:53 PM
pawnslinger pawnslinger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pawnslinger is just starting out
Default RT-N66U Tx Power Adjustment

I have been playing with my new router... it works fine, but I guess I am bored, so I am playing with my new toy. I am retired, and don't have a lot to do... anyhow, that is another story.

My router is still on factory firmware, .112, and I like to change things and see what, if any, affect is produced. So i have been trying to change the transmit power adjustment. The firmware has it set at 80. And it just ignores my attempt to change it.

Is this just a bug in the firmware? Or did they really not want people to play with it? Does 3rd party firmware, like Tomato, allow one to fiddle with it? As soon as I got the new router, I wanted to flash Tomato onto it, but everyone around here thinks I am just a crazy old guy (to be polite).

Any ideas how to fiddle with the Transmit Power Adjustment?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2012, 01:00 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,481
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,891 Times in 2,393 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Click three times on "Apply". That's required when making a power change.

Don't ask me why Asus has put this code in the router - I'm still scratching my head over it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2012, 01:34 PM
pawnslinger pawnslinger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pawnslinger is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Click three times on "Apply". That's required when making a power change.

Don't ask me why Asus has put this code in the router - I'm still scratching my head over it.
Thanks! I was able to raise the transmit level to 100 and that improved my signal in my office from 50 to 72... the link rate didn't change, but I didn't really expect it to... it was already near its max of 150 for a single stream client.

Again, thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rt-n66u, tx power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  369
L&LD  169
azazel1024  150
stevech  131
john9527  120
ChristineBCW  113
hggomes  84
dirtyclyde  64
TonyH  63
AndreyPopov  52
RMerlin  5890
stevech  344
john9527  303
ryzhov_al  274
TeHashX  230
L&LD  223
RogerSC  195
sinshiva  146
joegreat  126
sfx2000  124
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  33390
Old Shellshock...  23162
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  19579
Old Does...  11539
Old T-Mobile...  9390
Old Most stable...  7063
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  6047
Old RT-N66U...  5923
Old Can't trust...  3909
Old New...  3000
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  167
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  89
Old Does...  69
Old Antenna...  62
Old T-Mobile...  56
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  42
Old USB N...  37
Old Most stable...  37
Old Simple NAS...  35
Old Range: G vs...  31


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.