SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2012, 12:53 PM
pawnslinger pawnslinger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pawnslinger is just starting out
Default RT-N66U Tx Power Adjustment

I have been playing with my new router... it works fine, but I guess I am bored, so I am playing with my new toy. I am retired, and don't have a lot to do... anyhow, that is another story.

My router is still on factory firmware, .112, and I like to change things and see what, if any, affect is produced. So i have been trying to change the transmit power adjustment. The firmware has it set at 80. And it just ignores my attempt to change it.

Is this just a bug in the firmware? Or did they really not want people to play with it? Does 3rd party firmware, like Tomato, allow one to fiddle with it? As soon as I got the new router, I wanted to flash Tomato onto it, but everyone around here thinks I am just a crazy old guy (to be polite).

Any ideas how to fiddle with the Transmit Power Adjustment?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2012, 01:00 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,000
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,510 Times in 2,266 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Click three times on "Apply". That's required when making a power change.

Don't ask me why Asus has put this code in the router - I'm still scratching my head over it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2012, 01:34 PM
pawnslinger pawnslinger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pawnslinger is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Click three times on "Apply". That's required when making a power change.

Don't ask me why Asus has put this code in the router - I'm still scratching my head over it.
Thanks! I was able to raise the transmit level to 100 and that improved my signal in my office from 50 to 72... the link rate didn't change, but I didn't really expect it to... it was already near its max of 150 for a single stream client.

Again, thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rt-n66u, tx power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  500
azazel1024  164
KGB7  135
stevech  135
sinshiva  112
hggomes  92
microchip  86
sm00thpapa  82
Kel-L  81
philmiami  81
RMerlin  5509
stevech  322
ryzhov_al  263
TeHashX  214
L&LD  188
RogerSC  187
sinshiva  140
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sfx2000  118
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  73302
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  58381
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  17889
Old Asus locking...  8814
Old ASUS...  6569
Old [Fork]...  6249
Old Incoming...  5887
Old Asus...  5071
Old NETGEAR...  4628
Old How many of...  4460
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  392
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  389
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  133
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  64
Old Asus...  52
Old NETGEAR...  50
Old ASUS...  48
Old How many of...  47
Old Inherited PC...  45


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.