SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2012, 12:53 PM
pawnslinger pawnslinger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pawnslinger is just starting out
Default RT-N66U Tx Power Adjustment

I have been playing with my new router... it works fine, but I guess I am bored, so I am playing with my new toy. I am retired, and don't have a lot to do... anyhow, that is another story.

My router is still on factory firmware, .112, and I like to change things and see what, if any, affect is produced. So i have been trying to change the transmit power adjustment. The firmware has it set at 80. And it just ignores my attempt to change it.

Is this just a bug in the firmware? Or did they really not want people to play with it? Does 3rd party firmware, like Tomato, allow one to fiddle with it? As soon as I got the new router, I wanted to flash Tomato onto it, but everyone around here thinks I am just a crazy old guy (to be polite).

Any ideas how to fiddle with the Transmit Power Adjustment?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2012, 01:00 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,494
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,387 Times in 1,879 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Click three times on "Apply". That's required when making a power change.

Don't ask me why Asus has put this code in the router - I'm still scratching my head over it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2012, 01:34 PM
pawnslinger pawnslinger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pawnslinger is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Click three times on "Apply". That's required when making a power change.

Don't ask me why Asus has put this code in the router - I'm still scratching my head over it.
Thanks! I was able to raise the transmit level to 100 and that improved my signal in my office from 50 to 72... the link rate didn't change, but I didn't really expect it to... it was already near its max of 150 for a single stream client.

Again, thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rt-n66u, tx power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  336
thelonelycode...  167
stevech  158
L&LD  138
azazel1024  120
KGB7  71
Adamm  70
speedingcheet...  59
jim769  58
sm00thpapa  55
RMerlin  4387
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  193
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  104
jlake  100
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  86
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  26019
Old ASUS...  18194
Old Beta Version...  17133
Old 'Heartbleed'...  13013
Old Potential...  7621
Old Linksys...  6661
Old Asus-Merlin...  6317
Old Groundhog...  6093
Old Linksys...  4562
Old Linksys...  2975
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  196
Old Linksys...  133
Old Beta Version...  112
Old ASUS...  107
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  60
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old New Home...  38
Old Managing...  38



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.