SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:26 PM
Thatguy Thatguy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thatguy is just starting out
Default How many wireless clients do routers support?

I've recently been in 3 locations where once a certain number of clients access a wireless router (not bridged, not strictly AP) another client gets disconnected from the network. This seems to be happening more and more.

Location 1: Linksys wrt110

HW - 1 PC

Wireless - 2 Droids, Ipad, netbook, laptop

Symptom - When all 5 are connected wirelessly someone gets the boot. It has actually completely locked up the router in some instances and a hard reset was required (power cycle did squat).

Location 2: Belkin f5d8231-4 v2

HW -3 desktops and a roku box
Wireless - roku box, laptop, xbox, itouch

HW devices are always fine. When 4 or 5+ clients connect someone gets the boot

Location 3: ubee ddw3611

No HW

Wireless - Wii, droid, iphone, Mac, netbook

Disconnects when 4 of 5 (typically) are connected.

The ISP is not the issue as they don't limit connected devices but the clients are NAT'd anyways so that shouldn't matter.

The documentation on all of these devices fails to show max # of clients or max simultaneous connections. At first I thought the clients were hammering the connections and just hit a maximum number of simultaneous connections that the wireless routers could handle but that doesn't seem to be the case. In each situation it's just accessing the routers when the users are on minor web sites (google, yahoo) that boots them off.

I've also found zero documentation (on any wireless router or AP) that has a max # of clients per for a wireless device.

Obviously you can theoretically have 253 devices connected to these but that's clearly not a real world situation (I would never expect a wireless router/AP to support more than 20 clients, but 10-15 should be attainable).

So I guess i'm looking for some assistance here. What are you guys also seeing when connecting multiple devices? Especially consumption devices like droids, iphones, tables etc..? Is it typical for these lower end routers to have a max # of clients and to not have that documentation anywhere?

I'm also not looking to rock Tomato or DD-WRT as and i'd rather not go out to there and flash routers when I can just point them in the right direction to buy the right product.

I'm just looking for some simple answers to a simple problem really but the supporting documentation doesn't seem to exist and I really have no one else to bounce this off of so I figured i'd see what some other pros have seen with similar situations.

2 further points:

1) I'm not a moron and I didn't originally setup the networks but did reset them all up after I was asked for assistance

2) I've done good troubleshooting: hard resets and re-setup with new SSID's, broadcasting in mixed and just G mode, changed all channels to either 1,6 or 11 but overlap from other AP or interference from other devices is not an issue and turned off security.

I've done this in all locations with zero improvements or results. The only conclusion that i've come to is that a lot of these "lower end" wireless routers have a max # of clients that they are not documenting. I'm just looking for a little confirmation from some peers is all.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:56 PM
stevech stevech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,615
Thanks: 1
Thanked 327 Times in 315 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Do you have 3 WiFi routers in use with one WAN connection (ISP)?
How is the WAN modem (or other?) connected to these?
Is there more than one DHCP server?
Are there 3 NATing routers going to a single WAN public IP address?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2012, 12:25 AM
overdrive31 overdrive31 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 350
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
overdrive31 is just starting out
Default

Sounds like DHCP conflict...do you have any manually set client side static addresses setup, specifically IPeez that exist in the DHCP pool? Client side manually set static addresses must exist outside the DHCP pool at all times. If this is your problem you can try DHCP reservation static addresses instead if you don't want to change the address they currently use.
__________________
NETGEAR R7000
TEW-652BRP V1.1R F/W DD-WRT

Last edited by overdrive31; 05-25-2012 at 06:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2012, 07:45 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,006
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

You are correct that manfs don't spec max wireless clients. When I tested back in 2004, I found 32 STAs was the maximum. http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wirel...gapshandleload

I have heard numbers like 16 STAs occasionally quoted or spec'd recently.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2012, 08:28 AM
Thatguy Thatguy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thatguy is just starting out
Default Responses

@ stevech These are 3 separate locations that happened about 2 months from each other with all 3 having nothing to do with the other.

@ overdrive It is certainly not a DHCP issue, even when I forced static IP's it did the same thing. Plus, that's rookie stuff homeboy.

@ TH - that was my conclusion, it had to be. Just needed further confirmation from others. It's odd that these routers don't specify that. It'd be nice if the documentation would provide that information. I'm consistently seeing people buying the $40 or $50 routers and trying to hook up 5-10 devices with nothing but issues and just general web browsing. Thanks for the link
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2012, 11:06 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,006
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Let me see if I can get any info from my manf contacts.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2012, 03:32 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,006
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Cisco says they currently test their consumer routers (E and EA series) for up to 64 simultaneous clients. No spec for this, though.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thiggins For This Useful Post:
  #8  
Old 05-25-2012, 08:13 PM
stevech stevech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,615
Thanks: 1
Thanked 327 Times in 315 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

It's my understanding that the WiFi access point/router limitations is in the number of active Associations... not to be confused with TCP/IP connections.

I also recall that the IEEE 802.11 standards, nor the WiFi Alliance "recommendations", state what to do if there are resouces for n associations and n+1 comes along. I know that some products disassociate the oldest/inactive client. This has the problem that a bad guy can jam out the access point by faking lots of associations with different MAC addresses.

But I suppose the behavior is irregular among products.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2012, 10:32 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,006
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Buffalo says it has no hard limit on number of wireless clients. But recommends 12 per band based on bandwidth considerations.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2012, 01:23 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,006
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

NETGEAR also has no spec for max wireless clients. But they say one of their internal interference tests uses 13 simultaneously-connected clients.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  432
stevech  143
azazel1024  139
KGB7  130
sinshiva  106
Kel-L  93
sfx2000  91
hggomes  84
fistv  80
ColinTaylor  65
RMerlin  5576
stevech  326
ryzhov_al  265
TeHashX  216
RogerSC  189
L&LD  189
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  120
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  76212
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  36004
Old [Fork]...  14756
Old Asus locking...  9757
Old ASUS...  7716
Old Incoming...  7603
Old [Fork]...  4076
Old Share What...  3433
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2791
Old Best version...  2254
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  173
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  116
Old ASUS...  49
Old Connection...  46
Old [HOW TO]...  44
Old Incoming...  44
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old [Fork]...  40


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.