SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2012, 11:23 AM
FlyRyde FlyRyde is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
FlyRyde is just starting out
Default MoCA and Time Warner Cable Internet don't play nice!

Hi, I'm Chris. Hopefully somebody out there understands my situation and can help! Ok, first off, ISPs dont know anything about MoCA it seems, and their techs at least understand it, but have never heard of it. I had MoCA setup in my old home that had Verizon Fios, and it just piggy backed on to the system and worked amazing in any room that had coax.

So, I'm in another home now, and Fios is not available, so Time Warner was the option we went with for TV and internet. Their modem is just like the fios system, where it has power and a coax hook up in the back. Now from everything I've checked, it seems that the signal carried through the coax is only the lower frequency, without the upper range for internet (and in this case MoCA).

I had a tech come out because in only one room of the house, the MoCA adapter didn't read any coax signal... in my room. Every other room in the house, I could give it power and screw in coax, and the LED lit. Well after the tech came out to see what was up with my signal, he installed an amp to the upstairs lines, and all of the sudden, non of the coax lines light up the LED indicator for coax on my MoCA adapter now.

I read through some awesome posts about diplexers and nicer power pass splitters, installed everything correctly, and the hardware is in perfect now. I basically seperated the lines into upper and lower frequencies, allowing the amp to boost the lower frequency and bypassing it with the upper range, then brought them back together (again, using diplexers), and the TV signal is boosted now... but no signal shows on MoCA through the lines upstairs OR downstairs now, even coming directly from the main line to the modem like it used to work??? This is weird, because the amp uses a directional connector so that it boosts only one way, and almost like i diode I guess, it doesn't let that boosted frequency to back feed into the system. So why downstairs my adapter isn't seeing a signal I dont get?

In a last ditch effort I checked outside where the main line enters the house. Sure enough the guy had put a splitter out there that was for the lower range frequency only, so I swapped it out with a power pass gold splitter to make sure both frequency ranges were coming in. Still nothing, yet the Time Warner modem is happy as ever, and stayed that way through out, even with only the lower range signal coming through. I'm mentally spent on figuring this out.

Any ideas?

Last edited by FlyRyde; 04-05-2012 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2012, 02:34 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 1
Thanked 351 Times in 339 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I have Time Warner So. Calif. cable TV/Phone/Internet (cable modem).
And my own MoCA goes on parts of the coax in my house.
Works fine.

My coax wiring is simple: Sort of like this

Coax enters home
Two-way splitter:
1 Coax to garage, to another 2-way, to digital phone modem and cable modem for internet.
2 coax to in-attic amplifier with return channel

Output of amplifier:
to a 4 way splitter to feed TVs in different rooms

MoCA is on a coax from garage to Living room where HDTV with internet connectivity is. One MoCA box in garage - loop-thru. That coax goes directly to living room to the other MoCA box- loops through to get to the TimeWarner Set Top Box.

Hope this helps, sans schematic drawing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2012, 04:32 PM
Gigahertz21 Gigahertz21 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Gigahertz21 is just starting out
Default

I made a post here if it helps you at all:

http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/sh...0120#post40120
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
john9527  150
azazel1024  129
stevech  114
htismaqe  104
sfx2000  78
L&LD  76
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  54
ColinTaylor  52
RMerlin  6024
john9527  377
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  278
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27630
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  14226
Old Simple NAS...  2510
Old Brainstorming...  2300
Old Looking for...  2078
Old RT-AC68P  2053
Old Advice on...  1905
Old RT-AC68U...  1471
Old Asus...  1449
Old Issues...  1370
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  114
Old Advice on...  48
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.