SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > Synology

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2012, 03:48 PM
pplatt52 pplatt52 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pplatt52 is just starting out
Default DS212J and ASUS RT-N56U remote access issues

Looks like there's some serious IT horsepower here - hoping someone will lend a hand to a n00b in need.

Just set up a new DS212J (running DSM 3.2-1955) attached to an ASUS RT-N56U router (running latest firmware), and everything is going great...except remote access. I tried Synology's EZ Internet wizard, and it IDs my router, says that it sets up static IP and port forwarding for me, and that I'm good to go for web station remote access, photo station, etc. Then I test it off my LAN, either through the external IP address/port or DDNS I set up on no-ip, and I get a 504 timeout error every time. Likewise, testing connections in Synology's Router Setup leads to "Failed" messages.

Googled a bit, read up on things, and tried to set up static IP myself (followed Windows 7 directions on portforward.com) and also port forwarding manually in ASUS's WAN settings, and I get the same result...I think I did those things right, but I'm not 100% sure...none of the portforward.com walkthroughs look exactly like my ASUS' settings page, and I feel like I've only set up static IP on my laptop, not on the router or NAS itself...when I tried to do turn DHCP off in the ASUS WAN settings, it told me the subnet mask I got from ipconfig (255.255.255.0) was invalid. Huh? Isn't that like the default subnet mask? Do I need to adjust settings for both the router and the NAS to be static IP, or just one? What am I missing??

Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2012, 10:11 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,024
Thanks: 1
Thanked 271 Times in 260 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pplatt52 View Post
Looks like there's some serious IT horsepower here - hoping someone will lend a hand to a n00b in need.

Just set up a new DS212J (running DSM 3.2-1955) attached to an ASUS RT-N56U router (running latest firmware), and everything is going great...except remote access. I tried Synology's EZ Internet wizard, and it IDs my router, says that it sets up static IP and port forwarding for me, and that I'm good to go for web station remote access, photo station, etc. Then I test it off my LAN, either through the external IP address/port or DDNS I set up on no-ip, and I get a 504 timeout error every time. Likewise, testing connections in Synology's Router Setup leads to "Failed" messages.

Googled a bit, read up on things, and tried to set up static IP myself (followed Windows 7 directions on portforward.com) and also port forwarding manually in ASUS's WAN settings, and I get the same result...I think I did those things right, but I'm not 100% sure...none of the portforward.com walkthroughs look exactly like my ASUS' settings page, and I feel like I've only set up static IP on my laptop, not on the router or NAS itself...when I tried to do turn DHCP off in the ASUS WAN settings, it told me the subnet mask I got from ipconfig (255.255.255.0) was invalid. Huh? Isn't that like the default subnet mask? Do I need to adjust settings for both the router and the NAS to be static IP, or just one? What am I missing??

Help!
Too much, too little! It is confusing. We'll have to talk you through it -best done by phone.

The NAS tried to use Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) to config your router. That's if'y.

What you want, on the router, independent of the NAS' attempts to do it automatically:


WAN side settings in your router: whatever your ISP requires.
LAN side:
LAN IP addresses: Probably now something like 192.168.1.1 for your router, subnet mask 255.255.255.0. Thus, the NAS and all computers are 192.168.1.x, where x is 1 to 254.
DHCP server enabled
DHCP server config: LAN address range start/end, typically 192.168.1.100 to 200.

On the NAS: connect to it and give it a static mode IP of 192.168.1.250 or some such - and address not in the DHCP server range.

On the router again
Config port forwarding per Synology's instructions. Each port number will forward to the same port number, and to the IP addr. of the NAS, say, .250.

That should do it. FTP (passive) on the NAS should work- FTP port number would have been among those you config. And if you set the NAS for PASSIVE MODE FTP, you don't need additional port numbers opened.

---
How do you like the DS212j? A little lower speed CPU than the DS212, but less costly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2012, 10:16 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,024
Thanks: 1
Thanked 271 Times in 260 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pplatt52 View Post
Looks like there's some serious IT horsepower here - hoping someone will lend a hand to a n00b in need.

Just set up a new DS212J (running DSM 3.2-1955) attached to an ASUS RT-N56U router (running latest firmware), and everything is going great...except remote access. I tried Synology's EZ Internet wizard, and it IDs my router, says that it sets up static IP and port forwarding for me, and that I'm good to go for web station remote access, photo station, etc. Then I test it off my LAN, either through the external IP address/port or DDNS I set up on no-ip, and I get a 504 timeout error every time. Likewise, testing connections in Synology's Router Setup leads to "Failed" messages.

Googled a bit, read up on things, and tried to set up static IP myself (followed Windows 7 directions on portforward.com) and also port forwarding manually in ASUS's WAN settings, and I get the same result...I think I did those things right, but I'm not 100% sure...none of the portforward.com walkthroughs look exactly like my ASUS' settings page, and I feel like I've only set up static IP on my laptop, not on the router or NAS itself...when I tried to do turn DHCP off in the ASUS WAN settings, it told me the subnet mask I got from ipconfig (255.255.255.0) was invalid. Huh? Isn't that like the default subnet mask? Do I need to adjust settings for both the router and the NAS to be static IP, or just one? What am I missing??

Help!
Too much, too little! It is confusing. We'll have to talk you through it -best done by phone.

The NAS tried to use Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) to config your router. That's if'y.

What you want, on the router, independent of the NAS' attempts to do it automatically:


WAN side settings in your router: whatever your ISP requires.
LAN side:
LAN IP addresses: Probably now something like 192.168.1.1 for your router, subnet mask 255.255.255.0. Thus, the NAS and all computers are 192.168.1.x, where x is 1 to 254.
DHCP server enabled
DHCP server config: LAN address range start/end, typically 192.168.1.100 to 200.

On the NAS: connect to it and give it a static mode IP of 192.168.1.250 or some such - and address not in the DHCP server range.

On the router again
Config port forwarding per Synology's instructions. Each port number will forward to the same port number, and to the IP addr. of the NAS, say, .250.

You'll need no-ip or dyndns setup on the router- login and password for that service. Your domain name and IP will take hours/days to propagate around the Internet to the DNS servers. You can check if it's on the DNS server your router using by doing a windows command line: nslookup mydoman.net or whatever it is. If it's not found, you can use the numeric WAN address given to your router by your ISP while waiting for DNS to propagate.

If you override your ISP's DNS choices given to the router, and setup your own preferred DNS servers, I suggest entering 4.2.2.2 and 8.8.8.8 for DNS.


That should do it. FTP (passive) on the NAS should work- FTP port number would have been among those you config. And if you set the NAS for PASSIVE MODE FTP, you don't need additional port numbers opened.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stevech For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 01-13-2012, 10:18 AM
pplatt52 pplatt52 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pplatt52 is just starting out
Default

You're a gentleman and a scholar, sir - that did it.

For some reason, DSM wouldn't let me pick a port outside the router's range (2-254), so I went into the router and adjusted the range to max out at 150, then set the IP for the NAS at 200, manually forwarded ports in the router settings, and it's up and running. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2012, 10:21 AM
pplatt52 pplatt52 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pplatt52 is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
---
How do you like the DS212j? A little lower speed CPU than the DS212, but less costly.

It's my first NAS, so I'm not the best judge, but so far, so good. Apart from the remote connect issue, set up has been fairly intuitive, and speeds seem to be good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2012, 02:16 PM
klauzer klauzer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
klauzer is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pplatt52 View Post
You're a gentleman and a scholar, sir - that did it.

For some reason, DSM wouldn't let me pick a port outside the router's range (2-254), so I went into the router and adjusted the range to max out at 150, then set the IP for the NAS at 200, manually forwarded ports in the router settings, and it's up and running. Thanks again.
I am having big problems with this NAS. I can't even connect to the "package center" in NAS?

Where did you made this changes IP for NAS at 200?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  362
thelonelycode...  167
stevech  152
L&LD  129
azazel1024  115
KGB7  76
Adamm  71
jim769  67
speedingcheet...  57
sm00thpapa  53
RMerlin  4457
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  104
jlake  100
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  87
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  29861
Old ASUS...  19632
Old Beta Version...  17279
Old 'Heartbleed'...  13505
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  7978
Old Potential...  7700
Old Linksys...  7651
Old Asus-Merlin...  6613
Old Groundhog...  6208
Old Linksys...  4665
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  215
Old Linksys...  135
Old Beta Version...  112
Old ASUS...  110
Old Potential...  98
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  73
Old Linksys...  61
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old Managing...  38



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.