SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2012, 04:15 PM
polyharmonic polyharmonic is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
polyharmonic is just starting out
Default Powerline Networking vs Wifi Bridge

Hello!

I have my cable modem and router at one end of the house. My TV, game consoles, Blu-Ray players are at the other end of the house and all use ethernet only connections. To connect all those to my home network, I was originally planning to get the following:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wirel...witch-reviewed

(Thanks to SNB for that great review BTW!)

However, I heard that powerline networking is another alternative to consider. One of the best ones I was able to find is:
http://www.amazon.com/Powerline-Giga.../dp/B005XUNWZ2

Obviously performance is going to be situation dependent. But if you could only choose one or the other, which one would seem, in most likelihood, have the best performance overall?

Thanks in advance for any responses!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2012, 10:47 PM
StratmanX StratmanX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 67
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
StratmanX is just starting out
Default

Please clarify: You have ethernet-only (not wireless capable) clients - TV, BluRay player, game console - but they are not hooked up yet and you don't have ethernet cable to the location of the clients? You have a modem plus a router (not wireless?) and you want to use either a wireless bridge or PowerLine plugs to connect them to your LAN (to the router?)?

Have you read SNB's new review on the TRENDnet TEW-680MB 450Mbps Dual Band Wireless N HD Media Bridge? Looks like a beast.

As for PowerLine plugs, read both Thiggins and Rhombus reviews. You'll find some great info on the forum, especially head to head comparisons. My vote if I were in your situation and decided to go with a PowerLine plug solution, I would go with the Netgear XAVB5004 unless you already have a switch for the client end, and then I would get the XAVB5001.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:52 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,447
Thanks: 1
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Consider too using MoCA, if there's TV coax at each location
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2012, 02:30 AM
polyharmonic polyharmonic is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
polyharmonic is just starting out
Default

Yes that is correct. The TV, BluRay and console are ethernet-only clients and I want to put them all in the living room on the other side of the house from the cable modem/router (Asus RT-N56U). They are unconnected when left in the living room.

I get about 3-4 bars out of 5 as indicated by the laptop wireless-n adapter in the living room area.

Thanks for your link to the new Trendnet. I might consider it over the Cisco WES610N!

Originally my plan was to get the WES610N. But along the way I discovered alternatives like powerline and MoCA. I'm fairly unfamiliar with these so that's why I wrote my post here and wonder if I should consider these instead. They seemed like they might be more stable and have higher throughput as they are "wired". But only if there was a good chance that they would work better than a Wifi bridge. So I am asking if in "general" people have experienced HomePlug or MoCA as being a better choice.

And yes there is a coax in the living room but the TV is hooked up to it via a STB.

Last edited by polyharmonic; 01-03-2012 at 02:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:35 AM
rhombus rhombus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 128
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
rhombus is just starting out
Default

Short answer: it's impossible to tell without trying.

You can read my 500Mbps Homeplug Shootout to understand why, there is even a short paragraph "Homeplug vs Wireless".

Networking is all about goals and achieving those goals reliably, not getting the absolute best numbers. You are just going from one point to another point - so if a pair of Homeplugs in your location gives you the throughput you need in the long-term, then I would suggest this is a better solution than wireless for various reasons. You don't necessarily need a Homeplug with built-in switch by the way, you can connect any Homeplug of your choice to a cheap switch.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2012, 02:08 PM
StratmanX StratmanX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 67
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
StratmanX is just starting out
Default

Not much to add to what Rhombus and Stevech wrote. You need to try things to see if it works for you over a period of time and if possible buy from a store that allows you to return it for no penalty fee.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2012, 07:38 PM
hungarianhc hungarianhc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
hungarianhc is just starting out
Default

Just thought I'd put my personal 2 cents in there...

My parents have a fairly large house, and the XBOX / home entertainment stuff is on the opposite side of the house than the cable modem and router. We used powerline networking, and the speed is fantastic. I also find the reliability to better than using wireless. We put another access point there so that the wireless signal is now blasted from both sides of the house. Very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2012, 07:34 PM
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
YeOldeStonecat is just starting out
Default

I was huge into online gaming ....took a break for about a year but getting back into it.

To sum up the long story....couple of years ago....got married again...moved to "her" town. Until I sold my house in my old town...had to rent in her town. So got an old old 3 story farmhouse, about 3,600 sq ft. My office was up on the 3rd floor. Modem/router was down on first floor. (eventually moved up to 3rd floor office area for other reasons later). Since was only renting that house..I didn't want the bother of running CAT throughout. So at first...I did my online gaming via wireless. Faster first person shooter type games...Battlefield 1924/Desert Combat, etc. Generally sucked...like when doing a bombing run in the B-17..going into a dive...pushed the frames too hard, would cause a hang/lag..then snap out of the hang and find that I had crashed into the ground.

So picked up some of the Linksys powerline adapters. Problem gone...online gaming as snappy as if I ran ethernet cable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  315
sm00thpapa  235
stevech  183
azazel1024  148
KGB7  124
htismaqe  93
philmiami  82
jim769  71
AcostaJA  68
damir  59
RMerlin  5070
stevech  314
ryzhov_al  246
TeHashX  209
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  121
sfx2000  111
sinshiva  111
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  23008
Old NETGEAR...  12725
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  6648
Old Switched...  6313
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  5857
Old ASUS...  5483
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3383
Old Netgear...  3107
Old N66U daily...  2788
Old AC68U AND...  2765
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  169
Old NETGEAR...  161
Old ASUS...  62
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  56
Old Switched...  52
Old N66U daily...  47
Old Which router...  41
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  41
Old Netgear...  41
Old TP-Link...  38


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.