SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2011, 09:37 PM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default Linksys E4200 issue

Lurker here, decided to sign up and see if someone might have some feedback on the issue I'm having with my new Linksys E4200 that I just got yesterday. When I was first hooking it up, I noticed the following message in the instruction manual:

Indicator light—Stays on steadily while power is connected and
following a successful Wi-Fi Protected Setup connection. Pulses slowly
during bootup, during firmware upgrades, and during a Wi-Fi Protected
Setup connection. Flashes quickly when there is a Wi-Fi Protected Setup
error.


Based on this, I assumed that if the router is functioning properly that the big CISCO symbol on the front will stay solid unless there is a problem. However, I have noticed that every so often it will start slowly pulsing and then start flashing quickly. The light will then go back to solid. Rinse and repeat. As far as I can tell everything is functioning properly. I've got at least 8 devices on the network via both ethernet and wireless. They all are functioning properly even while the light is flashing. I am just curious if this is normal or if I have a problem that I'm not aware of. Any help would be great. I shot a short video of the flashing so that you could see what I'm talking about. It takes about 3 minutes from the start of flashing to going back solid...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3129245/IMG_0139.MOV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2011, 10:26 PM
claykin claykin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 996
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
claykin is just starting out
Default

Have you tried the updated firmware available on the Linksys website?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2011, 10:33 PM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default

Yep. The router says it has firmware 1.0.01 and that is what is listed on the Linksys website as the latest firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:12 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5,004
Thanks: 1
Thanked 359 Times in 346 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbushnell View Post
It takes about 3 minutes from the start of flashing to going back solid...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3129245/IMG_0139.MOV
Cisco's pro series (not Linksys) has an LED that blinks when there are no active clients. When one or more go active, the LED goes steady. A client going active can be non-person traffic such as network management, DHCP renewal, ARPs from other nodes powering up, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2011, 08:07 AM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
Cisco's pro series (not Linksys) has an LED that blinks when there are no active clients. When one or more go active, the LED goes steady. A client going active can be non-person traffic such as network management, DHCP renewal, ARPs from other nodes powering up, etc.
Thanks for the info. Not sure if this is something similar or not, but as long as I'm not seeing any performance issues I'm inclined to just let it be. I may just take a piece of black electrical tape and cover it up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2011, 05:03 AM
aphexacid aphexacid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aphexacid is just starting out
Default

Seems to be a sort of common issue. It says that it does that when theres an error, so it could be some error happening, but you have no clue what it is. I've had mine for a couple weeks now and havent had that or any other problems.

My guess is if its a glitch, it'll be fixed in a firmware update.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2011, 03:02 PM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default

Just wanted to post a followup and say that it stopped blinking finally. Originally, I had both the 5ghz and 2.4ghz networks using the same name. However, I needed to name them differently because some of my equipment wasn't playing nice with them both being named the same. Once I gave each network a different name it stopped blinking almost immediately. Obviously, this evidence is anecdotal, but it is curious that it stopped blinking right after I reset the router and renamed the networks. At any rate, it seems to be working perfectly (and by perfectly, I mean much better than the airport extreme that it replaced).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
L&LD  118
john9527  117
stevech  96
htismaqe  91
azazel1024  90
huotg01  85
jegesq  81
watusi  64
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6413
john9527  508
stevech  358
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  138
hggomes  131
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9834
Old Why not...  8797
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  6249
Old RT-AC66U...  3674
Old Why ASUS?  2505
Old NAS...  1925
Old Help Plz:...  1674
Old OpenVPN...  1614
Old Asus...  1551
Old Remote...  1522
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  31
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old The future...  26
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  26
Old Extension...  26
Old What are the...  25
Old OpenVPN...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.