SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2011, 10:37 PM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default Linksys E4200 issue

Lurker here, decided to sign up and see if someone might have some feedback on the issue I'm having with my new Linksys E4200 that I just got yesterday. When I was first hooking it up, I noticed the following message in the instruction manual:

Indicator light—Stays on steadily while power is connected and
following a successful Wi-Fi Protected Setup connection. Pulses slowly
during bootup, during firmware upgrades, and during a Wi-Fi Protected
Setup connection. Flashes quickly when there is a Wi-Fi Protected Setup
error.


Based on this, I assumed that if the router is functioning properly that the big CISCO symbol on the front will stay solid unless there is a problem. However, I have noticed that every so often it will start slowly pulsing and then start flashing quickly. The light will then go back to solid. Rinse and repeat. As far as I can tell everything is functioning properly. I've got at least 8 devices on the network via both ethernet and wireless. They all are functioning properly even while the light is flashing. I am just curious if this is normal or if I have a problem that I'm not aware of. Any help would be great. I shot a short video of the flashing so that you could see what I'm talking about. It takes about 3 minutes from the start of flashing to going back solid...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3129245/IMG_0139.MOV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:26 PM
claykin claykin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 983
Thanks: 4
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
claykin is just starting out
Default

Have you tried the updated firmware available on the Linksys website?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:33 PM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default

Yep. The router says it has firmware 1.0.01 and that is what is listed on the Linksys website as the latest firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2011, 12:12 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 353 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbushnell View Post
It takes about 3 minutes from the start of flashing to going back solid...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3129245/IMG_0139.MOV
Cisco's pro series (not Linksys) has an LED that blinks when there are no active clients. When one or more go active, the LED goes steady. A client going active can be non-person traffic such as network management, DHCP renewal, ARPs from other nodes powering up, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2011, 09:07 AM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
Cisco's pro series (not Linksys) has an LED that blinks when there are no active clients. When one or more go active, the LED goes steady. A client going active can be non-person traffic such as network management, DHCP renewal, ARPs from other nodes powering up, etc.
Thanks for the info. Not sure if this is something similar or not, but as long as I'm not seeing any performance issues I'm inclined to just let it be. I may just take a piece of black electrical tape and cover it up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2011, 06:03 AM
aphexacid aphexacid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aphexacid is just starting out
Default

Seems to be a sort of common issue. It says that it does that when theres an error, so it could be some error happening, but you have no clue what it is. I've had mine for a couple weeks now and havent had that or any other problems.

My guess is if its a glitch, it'll be fixed in a firmware update.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2011, 04:02 PM
mbushnell mbushnell is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mbushnell is just starting out
Default

Just wanted to post a followup and say that it stopped blinking finally. Originally, I had both the 5ghz and 2.4ghz networks using the same name. However, I needed to name them differently because some of my equipment wasn't playing nice with them both being named the same. Once I gave each network a different name it stopped blinking almost immediately. Obviously, this evidence is anecdotal, but it is curious that it stopped blinking right after I reset the router and renamed the networks. At any rate, it seems to be working perfectly (and by perfectly, I mean much better than the airport extreme that it replaced).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  432
azazel1024  125
john9527  96
L&LD  95
htismaqe  80
ColinTaylor  70
stevech  65
hggomes  64
sfx2000  58
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6274
john9527  447
stevech  352
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  47559
Old RT-AC68 -...  22409
Old RT-AC68P...  7079
Old Moderate Nat...  4782
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4290
Old iOS 8.1...  3989
Old RT-AC87U -...  2459
Old WiFi...  2425
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  1977
Old AC68U,...  1773
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  215
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  31
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.