SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > LAN & WAN Article Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2008, 04:35 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,245
Thanks: 166
Thanked 638 Times in 542 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default How To: Wake on LAN / Wake on WAN

Waking your PC up over the Internet can come in handy. Doug Reid shows you how.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:15 PM
ratchet ratchet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ratchet is just starting out
Default Linksys WRT54GS and Wake on LAN

Having read Doug Reid's comprehensive article on WOL, I've just spent the week trying to get my desktop powered remotely. From with in the LAN I am able to do it, however, when I tried it over the internet it has always been a complete failure. I "slowly" re-read the article today and I believe I discovered the problem. I have been trying to send the magic packet via a notebook connected wirelessly to the internet. I was under the impression that only the host, desktop needed to be hard wired, failing to pay attention to "both the PC to be turned on and the PC sending the WOL signal need to use wired Ethernet connections". Is this indeed the problem and is there any work around? Thank You!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2008, 04:13 PM
jdabbs's Avatar
jdabbs jdabbs is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: al.us
Posts: 628
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
jdabbs is just starting out
Default

What's the transmission path of the magic packet?

Is it wireless notebook>Internet>home router>desktop, or wireless notebook connected to remote device (router/other PC on network) initiates sent packet to desktop?

If the former, it will likely fail as magic packets only work on the same broadcast domain.
__________________
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy." - Field Marshal von Moltke
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2008, 07:32 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I managed to do it.

- set the router to give a fix IP via DHCP to the computer you want to wake up
- set port forwarding on the router to the above fix IP
- send the magic packet via internet (I used HSDPA mobile net) but be careful to set the subnet mask to 255.255.255.255

I think that's all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2008, 02:46 PM
Mike
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default WakeOnLan Problem

Hi,

I read the WakeOnLan guide trying to troubleshoot a problem (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/conte.../29941/53/1/5/), which led me here. Basically, I set up WakeOnLan on my desktop and tested it. It works fine at first, I've verified that magic packets are being received.

But then, after about 30 minutes or so, the desktop stops responding to magic packets! I know that IP addresses are lost after a certain amount of time, so I tried sending to the broadcast IP, but it still does not work. What am I missing here?

Thanks for any help,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2008, 02:42 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Tut

Verry nice tutorial. thx!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2008, 10:09 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
Hi,

I read the WakeOnLan guide trying to troubleshoot a problem (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/conte.../29941/53/1/5/), which led me here. Basically, I set up WakeOnLan on my desktop and tested it. It works fine at first, I've verified that magic packets are being received.

But then, after about 30 minutes or so, the desktop stops responding to magic packets! I know that IP addresses are lost after a certain amount of time, so I tried sending to the broadcast IP, but it still does not work. What am I missing here?

Thanks for any help,
Mike
This is caused by two different things.

First - you are partially correct in saying that ip addresses are lost after a certain amount of time - a more accurate way to put this is that the "ip address to MAC address" pairing is flushed from the arp cache.

ip addresses are not used for local (as in local area network) communications - the ip stack compares the destination ip address to the source ip address & subnet mask to determine if the destination and the source are on the same network, and if they are it will send the data directly to the destination using it's MAC address, if they are not, it will send the data to the router (as specified in the source hosts's routing table) using the router's MAC address, for onward routing.

Now - the MAC address of the destination host is unknown to the source so it uses a protocol called arp - address resolution protocol - to get it, and it stores that in the arp cache for an unspecified period of time - arp works like this - the PC that needs the address sends a broadcast asking "who has ip address a.b.c.d?" and the PC with that address answers.

I'm sure you see the problem here - after you switch off the computer - it cannot respond to the arp request - so after the router's arp cache is flushed the router does not know where to send the magic packet, does not get a response to an arp request, and then drops the packet.

This explains why it works when the computer is first switched off but after a few moments will stop working.

The fix is to send the magic packet to the LAN's broadcast address which SHOULD cause the router to broadcast it to all hosts using the broadcast MAC address - but - as you discovered this does not work either.

Most consumer routers do not allow "ip directed broadcast" which is what is required for you to send a broadcast packet from the WAN side to the LAN side - this is a security issue and a potential attack vector that can be used to hack systems on the inside of the LAN as well as to use those systems in denial of service attacks (smurf attacks) on other targets.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2008, 02:28 PM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default arp cache

ARP cache - how to check it it is flushed or keeped ? I own a canyon Wf 514 router, wher the desktop is connected over wired lan. When I try wakeOnLanGUI in the lan, it works without any problems, but if I send this signal over wan it works only a couple of minutes after something is changed in the configuration of the router, after that - not. Please help me with this issue. Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:57 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default static arp

I have understood that the arp cache is dynamic and is loosed after a couple of minutes. Is there a possibility to add static arp record in the router CN-WF514 ( canyon ) so I can send WOL request from WAN to this computer in the LAN?Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:20 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Static ARP

Assuming 192.168.1.1 is the address for your router,
Try this from command prompt: telnet 192.168.1.1
then: arp -s 192.168.1.64 00:00:00:00:00:00

In the above example, the ip address is the address of the PC you want to wake. And what follows is the MAC address. This worked for my Actiontec GT704WG. Basically, I did a search for ARP Actiontec. Good luck.

TC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  432
azazel1024  125
john9527  97
L&LD  94
htismaqe  81
ColinTaylor  70
stevech  65
hggomes  64
sfx2000  58
Anzaia  50
RMerlin  6273
john9527  447
stevech  352
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  46888
Old RT-AC68 -...  22213
Old RT-AC68P...  7011
Old Moderate Nat...  4673
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4227
Old iOS 8.1...  3952
Old RT-AC87U -...  2430
Old WiFi...  2420
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  1957
Old AC68U,...  1744
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  214
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  29
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.