SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2009, 07:25 AM
Shadow_Fi Shadow_Fi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadow_Fi is just starting out
Question Best router for 100Mbps Internet.

Hello everyone,

I have small problem with my TP-Link TL-WR642G Wireless Router.
I have 100Mbps Internet connection using my CISCO EPC3000 cable modem, but my router cant use whole internet speed, because it is slow.

On screenshot, i tested my connection without router, and with it.



Anyway, as i understood, i cannot speed up my router. So I need to buy new one.

If thats so, which router i should buy? I need FAST and CHEAP router with 300mbps n WIFI.

I need Gigabit router? If my modem is 100mbit, will Gigabit router help me?

As I noticed D-Link DIR-655 is fast, but its gigabit. How fast it will be on 100Mbps connection? It will use 100% of 100Mbps speed?

Anyway i have Gigabit LAN in my PC so, i think it would be smart to get Gigabit Router.

So which is cheapest and fastest router?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2009, 12:18 PM
rickeo rickeo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rickeo is just starting out
Default

With bandwidth like that, I would want some overhead, and since most routers only have 100Mbps WAN ports, I would want one with a Gigabit WAN port. All of the routers here have Gigabit WAN ports, aswell as at least a 4 port Gigabit LAN switch.

I would probably get the D-Link DGL-4500 if it was me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:28 AM
Shadow_Fi Shadow_Fi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadow_Fi is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickeo View Post
With bandwidth like that, I would want some overhead, and since most routers only have 100Mbps WAN ports, I would want one with a Gigabit WAN port. All of the routers here have Gigabit WAN ports, aswell as at least a 4 port Gigabit LAN switch.

I would probably get the D-Link DGL-4500 if it was me.
Well, if I would have enough money, i would choose DIR-855 coz its faster than DGL-4500.

But in my case, 100 (+/-20e) euros is maximum.

So is i noticed DIR-655 is pretty fast, and has 3 antennas, etc. and is cheap.

Also there is DIR-825 but, it harder to find, and it is Faster than DIR-655, but not much. It also has only 2 antennas.

So i wold say, DIR-655 vs DIR-825 vs XXX.

Any TIPs?

BTW.. How i can know, is DIR-655 A1, A2, A3 or A4... In Internet shops there is no info about that. Do they look exactly same? Is it written somewhere on the box? How can i make sure before buying that I am buying A4?

Last edited by Shadow_Fi; 04-21-2009 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2009, 08:24 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,497
Thanks: 92
Thanked 457 Times in 390 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Give yourself 10% margin on throughput. So with 92 Mbps down you need a router with only 101 Mbps throughput. Getting anything more than that doesn't make your connection any faster.

Only way to know the rev level of D-Link product is to look on the box. I don't know of any reason to restrict yourself to getting rev A4.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2009, 08:41 AM
Shadow_Fi Shadow_Fi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadow_Fi is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thiggins View Post
Give yourself 10% margin on throughput. So with 92 Mbps down you need a router with only 101 Mbps throughput. Getting anything more than that doesn't make your connection any faster.

Only way to know the rev level of D-Link product is to look on the box. I don't know of any reason to restrict yourself to getting rev A4.
Yes i agree with you. But Gigabit is good if i connect 2 PCs to router, and send movies.

A4 is good to buy, coz it seems that they all are same price, and for same money I would like to choose best of them. A4 I mean.

I have 1 PC, and 2 laptops home. I am using Internet almost Non-stop.

What I need is fast enough, cheap, a reliable router. Also if I am paying for router from 60-100, i would like to have n standart and gigabit for a future, so i dont need to buy again new router next year.

So as i understood, cheapest, fastest and the most reliable router is DIR-655. Am I right?

P.S
And USB is cool feature. Coz here we have 3g almost everywhere, and looking for a future, USB would be cool to have in router directly to share 3G USB modem.

P.P.S
Btw, is it possible on DIR-655 to share USB 3g modem, on many computers? Like in my situation, with one wired, and 2 WIFI connections. Will they all be able to use that 3G internet? Or only one of them?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2009, 08:52 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,497
Thanks: 92
Thanked 457 Times in 390 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

The DIR-655 A4 isn't better than other revisions, just different, mostly for manufacturing cost-reduction reasons.

Don't count on using the USB port to connect a 3G USB modem. D-Link hasn't really implemented that feature very well and may not in the future.

The DIR-655 is a reasonable choice.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2009, 09:24 AM
Shadow_Fi Shadow_Fi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadow_Fi is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thiggins View Post
The DIR-655 A4 isn't better than other revisions, just different, mostly for manufacturing cost-reduction reasons.

Don't count on using the USB port to connect a 3G USB modem. D-Link hasn't really implemented that feature very well and may not in the future.

The DIR-655 is a reasonable choice.
Well, is there some other router wich is almost as fast as DIR-655, also has USB, and same price?

Or is the DIR-655 really best choise for me?

What about Linksys, Netgear etc?

Maybe im annoying, but i really want to choose best for 100 euros.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2009, 12:46 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,619
Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

If you go with DIR-655 need to get the A3 hardware version. LINKSYS WRT-610N 64MB of RAM is good or WRT-310N 300MHz NPU 16MB of RAM. Netgear WNR-854T was good but it has issues with heat, also it was the best one they made 500MHz NPU, 32MB of RAM, 8MB for Flash, WNPU has 8MB Buffer but the chipset is a mix bag from Marvel Gig switch, Marvel NPU, Marvel WNPU, TXI and a few others..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:16 PM
Shadow_Fi Shadow_Fi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadow_Fi is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tipstir View Post
If you go with DIR-655 need to get the A3 hardware version. LINKSYS WRT-610N 64MB of RAM is good or WRT-310N 300MHz NPU 16MB of RAM. Netgear WNR-854T was good but it has issues with heat, also it was the best one they made 500MHz NPU, 32MB of RAM, 8MB for Flash, WNPU has 8MB Buffer but the chipset is a mix bag from Marvel Gig switch, Marvel NPU, Marvel WNPU, TXI and a few others..
At least A3? Or A3 exactly?

Which would you personally recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:42 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,619
Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_Fi View Post
At least A3? Or A3 exactly?

Which would you personally recommend?
DIR-655 A2 hardware
http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL109.../355438237.jpg

DIR-655 A3 hardware better hardware I have this one..
http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL109.../354191039.jpg

DIR-655 A3 with a modded TP-LINK 300 MiniPCI (this one I did on my own)
http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL109.../354191047.jpg

DIR-655 A4 hardware is made to reduce cost like Tim said above..
http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL109.../355439043.jpg

I recommend going to the store and look at the box it will tell you what hardware version is included (A3). If you order online they're not going to tell you it's like pot luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  347
thelonelycode...  167
stevech  156
L&LD  134
azazel1024  116
KGB7  72
Adamm  70
jim769  63
speedingcheet...  59
sm00thpapa  57
RMerlin  4426
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  193
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  104
jlake  100
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  87
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  28107
Old ASUS...  18634
Old Beta Version...  17197
Old 'Heartbleed'...  13224
Old Potential...  7656
Old Linksys...  7040
Old Asus-Merlin...  6464
Old Groundhog...  6122
Old Linksys...  4587
Old Linksys...  3451
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  210
Old Linksys...  134
Old Beta Version...  112
Old ASUS...  108
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  61
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old New Home...  38
Old Managing...  38



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.