SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2013, 08:13 AM
huluvu huluvu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
huluvu is just starting out
Default DUAL WAN on RT-N66U

Hi there,

I recently upgraded my RT-N66U to the latest official Asus Firmware (3.0.0.4.374_979).

Since I'm running a total of 4 Asus routers (1x N66U as the main router and 3x N56U as Access Points) serving circa 25 clients on a single DSL line (50down/10up), I'm considering subscribing to a second DSL line and enabling the DUAL WAN feature on the N66U in Load Balancing mode.

Has anyone tried this? Is this reliable (=rock solid)?

Thanks!

Last edited by huluvu; 12-14-2013 at 09:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2013, 08:33 PM
SoCalReviews SoCalReviews is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
SoCalReviews is just starting out
Default

I am using dual WAN on a RT-N66U. I tried the load balancing and got it to work but I can't confirm how well it performed in the long run because mine is set up as "fail over" with cable internet as the primary internet access and DSL as the secondary internet standby. The fail over setup works fine except when the primary internet fails and it switches to secondary internet then it remains on secondary internet. That is my only gripe since it only switches back to primary if the secondary fails (you can unplug the secondary Ethernet cable) or if you reboot or power cycle the router.

Last edited by SoCalReviews; 12-14-2013 at 08:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2013, 07:47 AM
JS_racer JS_racer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JS_racer is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalReviews View Post
I am using dual WAN on a RT-N66U. I tried the load balancing and got it to work but I can't confirm how well it performed in the long run because mine is set up as "fail over" with cable internet as the primary internet access and DSL as the secondary internet standby. The fail over setup works fine except when the primary internet fails and it switches to secondary internet then it remains on secondary internet. That is my only gripe since it only switches back to primary if the secondary fails (you can unplug the secondary Ethernet cable) or if you reboot or power cycle the router.

would the "enable watchdog" feature help with the switch back ???
i have mine turned on, but my cable co is rock solid. one short outage and i was using using tethering from my phone (or was trying, works now)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2013, 11:46 AM
SoCalReviews SoCalReviews is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
SoCalReviews is just starting out
Default

I haven't tried the "watchdog" feature. I posted about this before and apparently the lack of automatic return to primary WAN is a limitation with the current firmware feature set. Hopefully the Dual WAN features and options will expand in future firmware updates. On the positive side when it stays on secondary WAN after primary WAN fails at least you know when it is on secondary that the primary in fact became unreliable or failed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2013, 05:22 PM
msb msb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 31
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
msb is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huluvu View Post
Hi there,

...I'm considering subscribing to a second DSL line and enabling the DUAL WAN feature on the N66U in Load Balancing mode.

Has anyone tried this?...
Unless there are advanced configuration options, load balancing over different networks can cause some problems with secure (https://) connections. I used to use load balancing and combined a cable and dsl circuit. I had to create a rule specifying that all https:// traffic went out over one of the circuits. If traffic for a specific connection ended up being split between the two circuits the connection would fail.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  365
stevech  156
KGB7  124
Kel-L  98
sfx2000  98
sinshiva  93
azazel1024  93
john9527  75
fistv  71
hggomes  68
RMerlin  5597
stevech  329
ryzhov_al  266
TeHashX  217
L&LD  191
RogerSC  190
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  121
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  77974
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  45893
Old [Fork]...  19676
Old Asus locking...  10291
Old ASUS...  8260
Old Incoming...  8009
Old Share What...  3870
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3341
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3017
Old Ac68u Latest...  2664
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  206
Old [Fork]...  134
Old Asus locking...  125
Old Connection...  54
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old ASUS...  49
Old Incoming...  44
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old Use the same...  35


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.