SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2013, 09:13 AM
huluvu huluvu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
huluvu is just starting out
Default DUAL WAN on RT-N66U

Hi there,

I recently upgraded my RT-N66U to the latest official Asus Firmware (3.0.0.4.374_979).

Since I'm running a total of 4 Asus routers (1x N66U as the main router and 3x N56U as Access Points) serving circa 25 clients on a single DSL line (50down/10up), I'm considering subscribing to a second DSL line and enabling the DUAL WAN feature on the N66U in Load Balancing mode.

Has anyone tried this? Is this reliable (=rock solid)?

Thanks!

Last edited by huluvu; 12-14-2013 at 10:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2013, 09:33 PM
SoCalReviews SoCalReviews is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
SoCalReviews is just starting out
Default

I am using dual WAN on a RT-N66U. I tried the load balancing and got it to work but I can't confirm how well it performed in the long run because mine is set up as "fail over" with cable internet as the primary internet access and DSL as the secondary internet standby. The fail over setup works fine except when the primary internet fails and it switches to secondary internet then it remains on secondary internet. That is my only gripe since it only switches back to primary if the secondary fails (you can unplug the secondary Ethernet cable) or if you reboot or power cycle the router.

Last edited by SoCalReviews; 12-14-2013 at 09:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2013, 08:47 AM
JS_racer JS_racer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JS_racer is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalReviews View Post
I am using dual WAN on a RT-N66U. I tried the load balancing and got it to work but I can't confirm how well it performed in the long run because mine is set up as "fail over" with cable internet as the primary internet access and DSL as the secondary internet standby. The fail over setup works fine except when the primary internet fails and it switches to secondary internet then it remains on secondary internet. That is my only gripe since it only switches back to primary if the secondary fails (you can unplug the secondary Ethernet cable) or if you reboot or power cycle the router.

would the "enable watchdog" feature help with the switch back ???
i have mine turned on, but my cable co is rock solid. one short outage and i was using using tethering from my phone (or was trying, works now)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2013, 12:46 PM
SoCalReviews SoCalReviews is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
SoCalReviews is just starting out
Default

I haven't tried the "watchdog" feature. I posted about this before and apparently the lack of automatic return to primary WAN is a limitation with the current firmware feature set. Hopefully the Dual WAN features and options will expand in future firmware updates. On the positive side when it stays on secondary WAN after primary WAN fails at least you know when it is on secondary that the primary in fact became unreliable or failed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2013, 06:22 PM
msb msb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 32
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
msb is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huluvu View Post
Hi there,

...I'm considering subscribing to a second DSL line and enabling the DUAL WAN feature on the N66U in Load Balancing mode.

Has anyone tried this?...
Unless there are advanced configuration options, load balancing over different networks can cause some problems with secure (https://) connections. I used to use load balancing and combined a cable and dsl circuit. I had to create a rule specifying that all https:// traffic went out over one of the circuits. If traffic for a specific connection ended up being split between the two circuits the connection would fail.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  364
L&LD  122
john9527  119
azazel1024  92
htismaqe  92
stevech  89
huotg01  80
jegesq  78
watusi  58
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6396
john9527  504
stevech  357
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  137
hggomes  129
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9518
Old Why not...  8352
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5805
Old RT-AC66U...  3474
Old Why ASUS?  2408
Old NAS...  1842
Old Help Plz:...  1609
Old Asus...  1498
Old OpenVPN...  1452
Old Remote...  1400
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  28
Old Extension...  26
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old The future...  26
Old What are the...  25
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  25
Old OpenVPN...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.