SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:19 PM
amadian amadian is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
amadian is just starting out
Default MAC filter limit

Hi!
I have an RT-N66U with merlin firmware and it's a great combo, but i need to add more than 32 devices to the mac filter list. It could be possible to implement in future versions of firmware?

Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:37 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,592
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,486 Times in 1,903 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Revisiting the current 32-entries limitation in various places in the firmware is something I want to look at at some point in the future. No ETA yet.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:44 PM
KevTech KevTech is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 188
Thanks: 2
Thanked 38 Times in 31 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

MAC filtering is not a very good way to secure your network plus it adds some overhead which slows your devices.

Very easy to find out what MAC are allowed on your network then clone a device to use that MAC.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KevTech For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 10-28-2013, 02:49 PM
opie opie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
opie is just starting out
Default

Hi Merlin,

Is the limit of 32 MACs in the filtering list still in place? I've been trying without success to add 51 MACs to the filter and the router appears to go into a reboot loop that is only fixed by resetting the router.

We need support for ~150 MACs and I developed a little script to set the NVRAM paramts. On a side note what is the difference with the _x params - are they there just for the list on the web-page to associate the descriptions?

nvram set wl_maclist=AA:BB:CCD:EE:FF AB:AB:AB:AB:AB:AB
nvram set wl0_maclist=AA:BB:CCD:EE:FF AB:AB:AB:AB:AB:AB
nvram set wl1_maclist=AA:BB:CCD:EE:FF AB:AB:AB:AB:AB:AB
nvram set wl_maclist_x=MAC in greater than less than brackets then desc
nvram set wl0_maclist_x=MAC in greater than less than brackets then desc
nvram set wl1_maclist_x=MAC in greater than less than brackets then desc

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2013, 07:39 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,592
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,486 Times in 1,903 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by opie View Post
Hi Merlin,

Is the limit of 32 MACs in the filtering list still in place? I've been trying without success to add 51 MACs to the filter and the router appears to go into a reboot loop that is only fixed by resetting the router.

We need support for ~150 MACs and I developed a little script to set the NVRAM paramts. On a side note what is the difference with the _x params - are they there just for the list on the web-page to associate the descriptions?

nvram set wl_maclist=AA:BB:CCD:EE:FF AB:AB:AB:AB:AB:AB
nvram set wl0_maclist=AA:BB:CCD:EE:FF AB:AB:AB:AB:AB:AB
nvram set wl1_maclist=AA:BB:CCD:EE:FF AB:AB:AB:AB:AB:AB
nvram set wl_maclist_x=MAC in greater than less than brackets then desc
nvram set wl0_maclist_x=MAC in greater than less than brackets then desc
nvram set wl1_maclist_x=MAC in greater than less than brackets then desc

Thanks,
While the current webui limit is set to 128, there's at least one buffer that gets overrun in the firmware when you enter more than around 35 MACs. I will try to track down other places where a larger buffer might be required to handle more than 32 MACs. There's a chance that some of these buffers might be in closed source components, over which I have no control (and no way to know how large these buffers are either).

For now, I will bring down that limit from 128 to 64, as allocating enough memory to handle up to 128 would be quite wasteful as the targeted audience of this firmware (home users) should never need that many entries. Remember that this device only has 256 MB of memory.

To be honest, if you need THAT many MACs, you should consider going with a business class product instead, as it's not guaranteed that the router can handle that.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.

Last edited by RMerlin; 10-28-2013 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old 10-30-2013, 08:41 AM
opie opie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
opie is just starting out
Default

Thanks Merlin. I really like your build and hope a solution with more MACs in the wifi filtering is possible as it is easy for our less technically minded staff to administer. But worst case I'll switch to Tomato as there are people reporting being able to use 500+.

The other idea I've seen is from the 5th post on here:
http://tomatousb.org/forum/t-308906/

Do you think that might work?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2013, 09:51 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,592
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,486 Times in 1,903 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by opie View Post
Thanks Merlin. I really like your build and hope a solution with more MACs in the wifi filtering is possible as it is easy for our less technically minded staff to administer. But worst case I'll switch to Tomato as there are people reporting being able to use 500+.

The other idea I've seen is from the 5th post on here:
http://tomatousb.org/forum/t-308906/

Do you think that might work?

Thanks!
Not without some changes. No idea what that rdev01 chain is supposed to be in Tomato.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  402
stevech  155
thelonelycode...  152
L&LD  126
azazel1024  119
KGB7  86
jim769  76
DrTeeth  69
Adamm  66
speedingcheet...  64
RMerlin  4486
stevech  275
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  166
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  102
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  88
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  31592
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  22797
Old ASUS...  22459
Old Beta Version...  17497
Old 'Heartbleed'...  14241
Old Linksys...  9290
Old Potential...  7917
Old Asus-Merlin...  7061
Old Groundhog...  6411
Old Linksys...  5537
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  218
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  175
Old Linksys...  142
Old ASUS...  125
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  78
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old USB drive...  39



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.