SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2013, 10:54 AM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default DNS Server

I would like to manually assign my DNS server through my Asus N66u Router. I am pretty new to this so I have been doing some reading. So I go into the N66u Router interface and for example if I want to use the google dns servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and under WAN I input these 2 dns servers after changing to Manual set up. I click apply and then when I check in a cmd prompt ipconfig/all my dns server is still showing my ISP dns Servers. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to get these dns servers to stick on my entire network? Also is there a suggestion or tool you guys are using to see what are the best dns servers to use for my location? Thanks !!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2013, 03:23 PM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default

If this is not possible, how is everyone else forcing their home network to use for example the google dns servers versus the ISP defaults?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2013, 03:31 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,777
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,033 Times in 2,457 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asusrocks View Post
I would like to manually assign my DNS server through my Asus N66u Router. I am pretty new to this so I have been doing some reading. So I go into the N66u Router interface and for example if I want to use the google dns servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and under WAN I input these 2 dns servers after changing to Manual set up. I click apply and then when I check in a cmd prompt ipconfig/all my dns server is still showing my ISP dns Servers. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to get these dns servers to stick on my entire network? Also is there a suggestion or tool you guys are using to see what are the best dns servers to use for my location? Thanks !!
You have to renew your lease for your computer to start using the new DNS.

Make sure you didn't manually configure your DNS servers on that computer, because normally your computer should be using your router's IP - which will in turn take care of doing the name lookups throug the DNS servers configured on the WAN page. If your computer shows the ISP DNS then I suspect you had them manually entered on the computer.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:17 PM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default

Hi Merlin,

So are you saying if I go into the n66u WAn settings and put manually input DNS servers 1 and 2 and put them in and click apply then all my clients on the network (unless a client on the network was manually entered at some time) will all use those DNS servers? Is that correct? Thanks

Dana

Last edited by asusrocks; 01-31-2013 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2013, 05:26 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,777
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,033 Times in 2,457 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asusrocks View Post
Hi Merlin,

So are you saying if I go into the n66u WAn settings and put manually input DNS servers 1 and 2 and put them in and click apply then all my clients on the network (unless a client on the network was manually entered at some time) will all use those DNS servers? Is that correct? Thanks

Dana
Yes and no. Technically, your clients will use your router as a DNS server. The router will then take care of sending the requests to your manual servers, and forward the reply back to your clients. But yes, the end result is, your client will get the resolution results from the two DNS you entered.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2013, 05:49 PM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default

Thank you very much Merlin. THis whole thing started because I have apple tv and streaming netflix on apple tv is a poor quality picture even on HD content on netflix. After doing reading and testing it boils down to the ISP dns servers. I manually updated my apple tv with the google dns servers and bam, HD quality picture. I guess this is one of the most common issues with apple tv and netflix. Now that I read more, I want to set up my router so everything is using the specified dns servers. Again thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2013, 06:30 AM
Mazda323 Mazda323 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mazda323 is just starting out
Default

I'd like set Google DNS on my RT-N66U (running Shibby v105 AIO). But I don't know where the DNS 1 and DNS 2 are. Can anybody give me a hand?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  366
john9527  153
azazel1024  109
stevech  98
htismaqe  97
sfx2000  81
L&LD  69
TonyH  59
AndreyPopov  53
ColinTaylor  53
RMerlin  6032
john9527  378
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  279
TeHashX  235
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  16616
Old Brainstorming...  2363
Old RT-AC68P  2290
Old Advice on...  2165
Old Looking for...  2148
Old RT-AC68U...  1555
Old Asus...  1541
Old Issues...  1467
Old AC-68...  1389
Old Does Auto...  1259
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  126
Old Advice on...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22
Old Belkin Pre-N...  21
Old Network...  18


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.