SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2013, 01:35 AM
reb00tz reb00tz is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
reb00tz is just starting out
Default Double Hop Over LACP-Enabled Switches?

Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster...

Just wondering if anyone has experience if 802.3ad/802.1ax/LACP/LAG (or one of the gazillion names) will work if it goes through a double hop involving two switches that are LACP enabled (i.e. the trunks are set up switch-to-switch).

In (horrible) ASCII art:

Code:
Laptop 1
        \
         \
          Switch 1 === (LACP trunk) === Switch 2 === NAS (also trunked)
         /
        /
Laptop 2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2013, 04:45 PM
bendsley bendsley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
bendsley is just starting out
Default

LACP just aggregates the information going through the bonded ports...so any traffic going through from SWITCH 1 to SWITCH 2 will pass through to the NAS just fine...all bonded through LACP.

As long as SWITCH 1 and SWITCH 2 and NAS are all LACP, everything will work fine. If you only have SWITCH 1 and SWITCH 2 set to LACP, then obviously you will only get the bonded benefit between those two devices.

Remember though, you won't really see any benefit from your laptops as they are not LACP enabled. You are not going to be able to send a file any faster over the 1 gig link than you would over a 2 gig bonded link since you will be limited by your slowest connection.

Last edited by bendsley; 03-04-2013 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2013, 11:47 PM
networkguy1 networkguy1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
networkguy1 is just starting out
Default

Should not be a problem.. I have done this in Cisco lab environments many times. You can probably get the same setup on other managed siwtches.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  448
john9527  189
huotg01  177
stevech  140
System Error...  137
jegesq  132
hggomes  110
L&LD  107
azazel1024  93
RussellInCinc...  60
RMerlin  6845
john9527  650
stevech  372
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  271
TeHashX  270
RogerSC  208
hggomes  167
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  143
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old SECURITY:...  18184
Old ASUS...  10309
Old ASUS...  6741
Old ASUS...  6498
Old choose a new...  2638
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2399
Old Bulding...  2189
Old Horrible...  2027
Old Upgraded to...  1718
Old Anyone added...  1634
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  72
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  43
Old ASUS...  38
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old ASUS...  29
Old Dongle LTE...  25
Old Crazy...  25
Old Upgraded to...  23


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.