SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:48 PM
-AndyH- -AndyH- is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
-AndyH- is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerSC View Post
Seems like it would be fairly easy to walk up to the router with a laptop computer, pull one of the LAN cables out of the router, and plug the laptop directly into the router. This is a basic principal in troubleshooting, problem isolation, removing pieces of the problematic hardware if possible (the switch and cables connecting to it in this case) and see if the problem still happens. Much quicker way to see where the problem is. I'd be doing that, even if I had to carry a desktop computer over to the router *smile*. That's just me, though.
Unfortunately my laptops are out of the house at the moment. Only got iPads/iPhones/iMacs and PCs.

It's a weird problem. The Asus router definitely doesn't seem to like the Netgear GS608 switch. Everything is wired up correctly with Cat5e/6 and my previous ISP supplied router works with the setup. As the switch is unmanaged, I can't find if there is some setting that is not quite right. The speeds are 2-10mbps when using the switch and Asus router. Will phone Asus tomorrow to see if they can shed some light or if they are aware of any issues with that setup.

I am going to be upgrading my network anyway shortly. Any recommendations for a 12-16 port gigabit switch for the Asus N66U?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-20-2012, 03:06 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,549
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,469 Times in 1,895 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Make sure that everything is set to auto-detect, and nothing is forcibly set to 100 or 1000 Mbits.

Also make sure everything is set to regular frames (1500 bytes). Jumbo frames can cause more issues than it's worth it when enabled, I recommend people keep that disabled on every devices on their network. Make sure for instance that you didn't enable it on the router (under LAN -> Switch Ctrl)
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  377
thelonelycode...  154
stevech  148
L&LD  129
azazel1024  115
KGB7  80
jim769  71
Adamm  67
speedingcheet...  58
DrTeeth  56
RMerlin  4469
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  101
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  87
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  30514
Old ASUS...  20353
Old Beta Version...  17332
Old 'Heartbleed'...  13698
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  12509
Old Linksys...  8214
Old Potential...  7746
Old Asus-Merlin...  6720
Old Groundhog...  6263
Old Linksys...  4729
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  216
Old Linksys...  138
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  116
Old ASUS...  115
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  64
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old New Home...  38



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.