SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 11-23-2012, 08:00 PM
nubyOz nubyOz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 70
Thanks: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
nubyOz is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idefix View Post
Hi,

I have the following issue with this version:
After running for 3 hours with the download manager active, the n66u will disconnect the USB disk and repeat the following in the log:

- rejecting I/O to dead device

Rebooting both USB HD and RT-N66U solves the problem (the web interface of the router becomes sluggish / hangs if only the HD is rebooted).

Any idea?

Thanks !
Just a hunch, check memory usage and see if it degrades.
__________________
Synology NAS DS211J DSM 4.3 - 3827.
ASUS RT-AC68U RMerlin 3.0.0.4.374.39.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11-23-2012, 09:19 PM
idefix idefix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
idefix is just starting out
Default

Thanks Merlin,

The HD (WD myBook) has its own power supply.
Had the setup running all night with the download manager on standby and had no issue this morning.
Next I ran the DM with 2 downloads in parallel for 2 hours and it was also ok.

Looks like an issue which comes up when multiple DM downloads are active at the same time.

---------------------
Update:

Activated 4 downloads at the same time and after 3 hours the HD was ejected and the web interface of the router not longer reachable on the second connect (first time it could be reached. After that the browser simply timed out). Unfortunately, due to that, I could not see whether the Router ran out of mem.

However switching from 2-4 downloads had no immediate effect on the free router mem directly after the additional 2 downloads were enabled.

Had to unplug power to reset the router.

-----------------------------------
Update 2:

The same issue happens when I copy a large quantity of files from the HD share over the network.
Same error message after a while: kernel: scsi 0:0:0:0: rejecting I/O to dead device

Guess I will have to test with a different HD :-( Maybe the n66U has issues with this particular WD disk type?
Has anyone tried the WD HD with their n66u before (WD My Book 1140)?

Last edited by idefix; 11-24-2012 at 06:42 AM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-24-2012, 07:58 AM
shantanugoel shantanugoel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
shantanugoel is just starting out
Default

^^ I am using a WD hard disk with my N66U but with a transcend storejet enclosure. Another Sandisk USB flash drive is also connected to the 2nd usb port and I have no issues in having a lot of downloads and file transfers going on simultaneously.
Edit: But do note that I don't use Asus DM. I use entware apps for all my tasks.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:50 AM
idefix idefix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
idefix is just starting out
Default

Thanks.
Could it be the size of the HD (3TB) and the fact that it uses NTFS? I will change it to ext3 now and see if this makes a difference......

Update:
I changed the HDD format to ext3 and it looks like it works fine now.
The previous issue of the HD disconnecting and the router web interface freezing when copying large amounts of data from and to the USB HD is gone. :-)

Update 2:
Still the same issue :-( does not happen as quickly as before any more when I used NTFS but still comes up when I copy larger files or have downloads running :-(
Next step: change HDD

Last edited by idefix; 11-28-2012 at 09:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 12-02-2012, 01:57 PM
dazz87 dazz87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dazz87 is just starting out
Default

Been running this over the last two days and loving it so far. Just wondering if there a way to change client status name? Most of my devices names are incorect. I know we are able to do on LAN>DHCP server.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 12-02-2012, 02:06 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,664
Thanks: 48
Thanked 5,150 Times in 2,177 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazz87 View Post
Been running this over the last two days and loving it so far. Just wondering if there a way to change client status name? Most of my devices names are incorect. I know we are able to do on LAN>DHCP server.
The Name field on the DHCP page is only to help you identify your device - it does not set a hostname.

The hostname is usually configured inside the client devices themselves. One exception are mobile devices such as phones and tablets which won't let you chose a hostname.

In the past I refused to display the description name on the Status Page as I felt it could be misleading since that name is just a description, not an actual hostname. I might end up eventually adding it to the Network Map somehow since there is an increasing amount of mobile devices with useless names such as android-123456 by default.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 12-02-2012, 02:22 PM
dazz87 dazz87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dazz87 is just starting out
Default

Yeah it would be great if you could add that. Some time the correct name will appear on client status. Most time the name show up as the MAC address. Examples my server and Panny Plasma show up as a MAC address as their name. When I go add something like port forward or wake on LAN and I click on drop down menu there names of the client would be there. Btw any chance there will be a page for a link speed and connection strength %?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 12-02-2012, 03:18 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,664
Thanks: 48
Thanked 5,150 Times in 2,177 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazz87 View Post
Yeah it would be great if you could add that. Some time the correct name will appear on client status. Most time the name show up as the MAC address. Examples my server and Panny Plasma show up as a MAC address as their name. When I go add something like port forward or wake on LAN and I click on drop down menu there names of the client would be there. Btw any chance there will be a page for a link speed and connection strength %?
The router will be able to resolve the client's name once its DHCP lease expires and gets renewed (which usually means within 24 hours).

Link speed info are already added on the Wireless Log page.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #79  
Old 12-02-2012, 03:32 PM
dazz87 dazz87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dazz87 is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post

Link speed info are already added on the Wireless Log page.
Thanks! Wow, this asus router is a beast. The best speed on my zenbook when connect to my dlink 655 was 89 Mbps. I always blame the notebook for the poor speed, now its hitting 150Mbps. Also, notice transfer rate between the notebook to my server has double in speed. Thanks again for all your help RMerlin!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  411
sm00thpapa  209
stevech  191
azazel1024  179
KGB7  152
jim769  87
philmiami  83
AcostaJA  73
htismaqe  71
damir  63
RMerlin  5149
stevech  315
ryzhov_al  259
TeHashX  212
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sinshiva  115
sfx2000  112
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  18603
Old Switched...  8917
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  8115
Old ASUS...  7366
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  7059
Old ASUS...  6099
Old ASUS RT-AC87...  4113
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3975
Old Netgear...  3746
Old ASUS...  3704
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  188
Old ASUS...  82
Old Switched...  66
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  57
Old [Q] How to...  54
Old Overclock...  52
Old N66U daily...  47
Old How many of...  45
Old ASUS...  45
Old ASUS...  44


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.