SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2013, 03:19 PM
SedoSan SedoSan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SedoSan is just starting out
Default E4200 as an access point?

Hello all,
I'm living in a compound and they offer free internet on their own router.
I'm doing a small LAN between my machines (PC, Laptop, TVs, etc...) and to avoid sharing folders with other residents I've changed the ip address of my E4200 router and just made it an access point (or so I think it is).

The default gateway of the main compound router is 192.168.1.100
this router has a DHCP server on from 101~200, I set my E4200 router internet connection type to static IP and put 192.168.1.150
Then I made the E4200 router address to 192.168.2.1 and made its own DHCP server from 192.168.2.2~30 with subnet mask 255.255.255.224

But i've been having problems like sudden network disrupts every 5 minutes or less which starts to get really annoying later. I can't even watch 20 seconds of a youtube video without getting interrupted! I called the technician but he was out of the city, but he told me there might be an interference between another router and the main router, is my router causing this problem?
Since there are other residents in the building, someone might have another router that is not setup properly. But I can't make sure if it is from me or not, am I doing something wrong?

here is a simple sketch of how it looks like:
http://i48.tinypic.com/28cikgh.jpg
Regards,
SedoSan

Last edited by SedoSan; 02-23-2013 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2013, 06:26 PM
devnull devnull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
devnull is just starting out
Default

Did you give your router a reserved DHCP address on the compound router or only set the E4200 WAN to static?

If you only set your WAN IP to static, you should change the IP address to something outside the compound DHCP range. If someone else happens to get the same IP address as your router, it can cause a problem like you describe.

Also it was unnecessary to give yourself such a small subnet on the E4200 LAN, but it should work all the same.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2013, 06:33 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,849
Thanks: 1
Thanked 351 Times in 339 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

From the drawing, you do not have an AP. The WAN port of your router is given the static IP of 192.168.1.150 to be a member of the "compound" LAN. You show that the compound's router is 192.168.1.100. That .100 is not a normal choice for the gateway address; it's usually x.x.x.1 or x.x.x.254. Need to sort this out. The .100 is a common address within the DHCP range on the LAN side.

Your router's LAN side should be in 192.168.x.y, where x is not one, so let's say x=2.

The above then yields a new subnet 192.168.2.x for your use. It's a double-NAT arrangement, since the WAN side of your router does NOT have a public IP address.

You can change this to be an AP since you have a wired connection to the 192.168.1.x LAN subnet, per your drawing.

I don't think you can or should do an AP, because APs are typically in the same subnet as its router, which in your case is 192.168.1.x. If you owned the router, you could do an AP, but you don't.

Here's what I'd try, keeping the double-NAT.
Change your router's WAN side (ISP) setting from static to DHCP. That way, you'll get a non-conflicting address from the main compound router.
Setup your own router's LAN side to use a subnet of 192.168.2.x. Your DHCP server would be enabled for a portion of the addresses in 192.168.2.x. Your router's address (for admin purposes) would be an address like 192.168.2.1 or .254 or some such that cannot conflict with your own DHCP server. The WAN side gateway will be set automatically by DHCP to the compound server.

The compound's gateway address would typically be 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.254 or some such, or maybe it's in 192.168.0.x. But with DHCP enabled on your WAN port (ISP), you don't care what that address is, but your own should be in a different subnet to keep you from getting confused.

==========

Now... your WiFi should have a different SSID than the compound's SSID. And your client devices should NOT have the compound's SSID in their list of OK SSIDs. This will force your clients' WiFi to choose only your WiFi.

Last edited by stevech; 02-23-2013 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:08 AM
SedoSan SedoSan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SedoSan is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
From the drawing, you do not have an AP. The WAN port of your router is given the static IP of 192.168.1.150 to be a member of the "compound" LAN. You show that the compound's router is 192.168.1.100. That .100 is not a normal choice for the gateway address; it's usually x.x.x.1 or x.x.x.254. Need to sort this out. The .100 is a common address within the DHCP range on the LAN side.

Your router's LAN side should be in 192.168.x.y, where x is not one, so let's say x=2.

The above then yields a new subnet 192.168.2.x for your use. It's a double-NAT arrangement, since the WAN side of your router does NOT have a public IP address.

You can change this to be an AP since you have a wired connection to the 192.168.1.x LAN subnet, per your drawing.

I don't think you can or should do an AP, because APs are typically in the same subnet as its router, which in your case is 192.168.1.x. If you owned the router, you could do an AP, but you don't.

Here's what I'd try, keeping the double-NAT.
Change your router's WAN side (ISP) setting from static to DHCP. That way, you'll get a non-conflicting address from the main compound router.
Setup your own router's LAN side to use a subnet of 192.168.2.x. Your DHCP server would be enabled for a portion of the addresses in 192.168.2.x. Your router's address (for admin purposes) would be an address like 192.168.2.1 or .254 or some such that cannot conflict with your own DHCP server. The WAN side gateway will be set automatically by DHCP to the compound server.

The compound's gateway address would typically be 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.254 or some such, or maybe it's in 192.168.0.x. But with DHCP enabled on your WAN port (ISP), you don't care what that address is, but your own should be in a different subnet to keep you from getting confused.

==========

Now... your WiFi should have a different SSID than the compound's SSID. And your client devices should NOT have the compound's SSID in their list of OK SSIDs. This will force your clients' WiFi to choose only your WiFi.
ok, I kinda have access to the main router, since they have a username and password of admin,admin... So I can change in it a bit,
so you would say I make the compound router address 192.168.1.1, then make the DHCP from .1.100-200?
Then I change my E4200 address to DHCP? (the problem with this is that it might get a different IP often and I will lose my double NAT settings, unless I reserve the DHCP from the compound routher, hmm),
Then give the E4200 router a subnet address of 192.168.2.1 (which i'm already doing), and give it a DHCP range from .2.100~200?

I'm not home right now so I will try this once I get back, but did I get it right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  368
john9527  151
azazel1024  115
stevech  106
htismaqe  99
sfx2000  81
L&LD  75
TonyH  61
ColinTaylor  54
AndreyPopov  53
RMerlin  6030
john9527  378
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  279
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27666
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  15364
Old Brainstorming...  2317
Old RT-AC68P  2137
Old Looking for...  2102
Old Advice on...  2036
Old RT-AC68U...  1496
Old Asus...  1481
Old Issues...  1399
Old AC-68...  1336
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  122
Old Advice on...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22
Old Belkin Pre-N...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.