SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:49 PM
hyelton hyelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hyelton is just starting out
Default Stuck Between a few different Routers

Okay So I prob have about a total of 22 or so devices and average about 10 active at one time and Ever since I left my WRT310n Last year ive been changing routers a lot and want something updated had a WNR3700v2 with DD-WRT but it got to acting up and now using an OLD WRT120n for temp use until I find something.

I`m looking for Reliability , Stable, and fast doesnt have to be dd-wrt compatible.

Currently I`m looking at the

E4200 v1
E3200
ASUS RT-56U
Maybe the E3000 due to it actually having Lan Lights which I like. and Its Cheaper!

I`ve always had good luck with Linksys products BUT I have read a LOT of complaints against the E4200 which one Should I get? I would like to order by tonight. Would the E4200 be better than the E3200? Its just the reviews about how they fail Scare me I just want to plug it up and have QOS for upload, And Speed

Last edited by hyelton; 01-02-2013 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:34 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,008
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

If you like the Linksys' go order one from the cisco home store. Refurbs have 30 day return and new have 90, I think.

Why the 4200 v1 vs. v2/EA4500? You don't need to be scared of Cisco Cloud. The latest firmware makes it entirely optional.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:52 PM
hyelton hyelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hyelton is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thiggins View Post
If you like the Linksys' go order one from the cisco home store. Refurbs have 30 day return and new have 90, I think.

Why the 4200 v1 vs. v2/EA4500? You don't need to be scared of Cisco Cloud. The latest firmware makes it entirely optional.
Im not really scared of the cloud, Im just scared of the unreliableness of reviews about the E4200.

I ordered one 5 days again V1 from the Cisco store referb and it STILL SAID processing so I cancelled it it it still would not had been here til next week
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:31 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,008
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Sorry to hear about the delay. I don't know that the v2 is any more/less reliable than the V1.

I'd try a v2, maybe from Amazon. They also have no-hassle 30 day return as long as you return it in as-received shape.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2013, 06:02 PM
hyelton hyelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hyelton is just starting out
Default

I guess I`ll reorder on there and pay for extra shipping. I know with V2 I cant get DD-WRT if I get bored with it lol But would v2 be worth it over V1?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 06:10 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,008
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

v2 gives you the option of trying the Linksys Apps (formerly Cisco Cloud).

Go get a v1 if you really want it.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:43 PM
TonyH TonyH is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 736
Thanks: 5
Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
TonyH is just starting out
Send a message via Skype™ to TonyH
Default

Hi,
When you say routers are unreliable, you mean they go bad hardware wise? I mean break down? Years of using various routers I never experienced router going bad but only had one AC power adapter went flaky causing problems. Nothing else going bad except your router?????
When you use WNDR3700V2, did you try trondah's OpenWrt ready-to- use f/w?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  395
stevech  143
KGB7  124
azazel1024  114
sfx2000  104
sinshiva  95
Kel-L  95
hggomes  82
fistv  80
john9527  67
RMerlin  5588
stevech  329
ryzhov_al  265
TeHashX  217
RogerSC  189
L&LD  189
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  120
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  76870
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  40571
Old [Fork]...  16693
Old Asus locking...  9943
Old ASUS...  7955
Old Incoming...  7786
Old Share What...  3595
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2906
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2234
Old Ac68u Latest...  2141
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  191
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  123
Old Connection...  51
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old ASUS...  49
Old Incoming...  44
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old Use the same...  35


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.