SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2013, 11:49 AM
connor2k connor2k is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
connor2k is just starting out
Default RT-n56u Access Point Issue

First off, this forum has been extremely helpful so far.
I have a Cable Modem from Time Warner going to a RT-AC66U. From there it goes out to several wired devices including a powerline adapter that goes upstairs. At the other end of that I want to place my old RT-N56U as an Access point. I set this up last night with the powerline adapter going into the WAN port. I set it up with a different SSID upstairs so I could check the connection and it will not provide an ip to any devices that connect. Shouldn't it be passing through the DHCP from the 66?

Failed to mention the firmware is .318

Last edited by connor2k; 01-17-2013 at 12:58 PM. Reason: added firmware
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 02:49 PM
kanewolf kanewolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
kanewolf is just starting out
Default

I believe you have to use one of the LAN ports if it is an AP.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2013, 04:05 PM
connor2k connor2k is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
connor2k is just starting out
Default

So i need to plug it into one of the lan ports instead of the WAN? It seems like when i do this, the router never gets its own ip. Is there any documentation on this anywhere?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2013, 08:08 PM
kanewolf kanewolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
kanewolf is just starting out
Default

I have my 56U set as an AP. It has a static IP (recommended) and the uplink is connected to one of the LAN ports. You can always use the WAN port. Get it to DHCP and get an IP address, then go to the web GUI and set a static IP. THEN swap it over to an AP.
I had some long term issues with the .318 firmware and backed down to the .260 version.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kanewolf For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old 01-17-2013, 10:41 PM
connor2k connor2k is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
connor2k is just starting out
Default

I see where people are having better success with .206, so I am going to give it a try. I'll let you know my results.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2013, 04:57 PM
connor2k connor2k is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
connor2k is just starting out
Default

After trying some things out. I hooked the 56u directly to the ac66 and everything works great. So the problem lies in the Belkin Powerline adapters I have. They just won't push the IP's through from the DHCP router. Any ideas on this issue?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  448
john9527  189
huotg01  177
stevech  140
System Error...  137
jegesq  132
hggomes  108
L&LD  106
azazel1024  93
RussellInCinc...  60
RMerlin  6845
john9527  650
stevech  372
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  271
TeHashX  270
RogerSC  208
hggomes  167
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  143
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old SECURITY:...  18174
Old ASUS...  10300
Old ASUS...  6738
Old ASUS...  6453
Old choose a new...  2620
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2397
Old Bulding...  2186
Old Horrible...  2023
Old Upgraded to...  1718
Old Anyone added...  1633
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  72
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  43
Old ASUS...  38
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old ASUS...  29
Old Dongle LTE...  25
Old Crazy...  25
Old Upgraded to...  23


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.