SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2013, 11:54 AM
Lazzerman Lazzerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lazzerman is just starting out
Question Dual NICs in my home file/media server

Hi guys,

I'm running a Windows 8 machine as file/web and media-server. I was thinking about adding an extra NIC to the machine. My reasoning was like this:

1. I'll share the media-drives over one IP adress/NIC
2. And use the other NIC for files/backups on another IP adress

So even if I load the backup NIC 100%, the media-streaming will be unaffected.

Media and backup/files are on separate harddrives and hdd controllers.

Am I thinking straight? :-)

Best regards,

Lars Siden
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2013, 01:43 AM
00Roush 00Roush is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 520
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
00Roush is just starting out
Default

Not a bad idea to have dual NICs if you are planning on having lots of network traffic. Hard part might be how to share only certain things over a specific NIC. Pretty sure you can do it with VLANs but it takes a bit more work.

My thought is why not just get a dual port Intel NIC that can do teaming. This is what I use in my server. The two ports get teamed and have the same IP address. Then you can set it up to spread the load across the two ports. So you can have one port being maxed out doing a file transfer and the other port would automatically service any other requests. The nice thing about the Intel cards is you can do all of this in the driver and don't even need a special switch. Typically you can find the Intel PRO/1000 PT Dual Port Server adapters for around $30-$40 on ebay. Actually the HP NC360T is a HP branded version of this card and can sometimes be found cheaper. http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-NC360T-Du...item20d0003a92 The only downside is these cards will only fit in a PCI-E x4, x8, or x16 slot. Other than that they work great.

Hope that helps.

00Roush
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2013, 04:13 AM
Lazzerman Lazzerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lazzerman is just starting out
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the input! Actually, I just started looking at teaming paired with a good Intel NIC that will do TCP offloading.

I'll give it a try with the onboard intel NIC and see if it works!

// Lazze
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dual nic, files, media, streaming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  428
azazel1024  130
L&LD  98
john9527  98
htismaqe  84
ColinTaylor  75
stevech  73
hggomes  57
sfx2000  55
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6278
john9527  452
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  51572
Old RT-AC68 -...  23343
Old Moderate Nat...  5134
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4589
Old iOS 8.1...  4077
Old RT-AC87U -...  2570
Old WiFi...  2491
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2085
Old AC68U,...  1889
Old Ruckus...  1763
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  233
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  32
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old How to flash...  24
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old Linksys...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.