SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2012, 04:27 AM
mcginn mcginn is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mcginn is just starting out
Default Cisco EA3500

Hi, I was wondering if anyone knew how to speed up the download speed of the cisco ea3500. The reason is i have it set up right now and it maxes out its download at 9.6Mbs. So i was wondering if this is a normal speed or if there was a way to improve that.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2012, 09:57 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,848
Thanks: 1
Thanked 351 Times in 339 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcginn View Post
Hi, I was wondering if anyone knew how to speed up the download speed of the cisco ea3500. The reason is i have it set up right now and it maxes out its download at 9.6Mbs. So i was wondering if this is a normal speed or if there was a way to improve that.
9.6 Megabytes/sec (Mbps) ? (Mbps is Megabits/sec). 8 bits per byte.

By download speed... do you mean speed downloading from the Internet? If so, that's governed by you ISP's speed offering, assuming your WiFi is not slowing things.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:11 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

1. Check and make sure your ISP has you on the right subnet.
2. Know what your paying for on download and upload speeds.
3. Make sure your modem firmware is up-to-date.
4. Make sure your router firmware is up-to-date.
5. Make sure all DSL filters have been check for wear and tear. Replace it worn?
6. Make sure coax cables used on Cable modem are not the old RG59?
7. Replace RG59 with either RG6 Dual Shield or Quad Shield Coax Cable
8. Make sure all compressed ends are tighten on the coax cable.
9. Make sure all coax cable connectors are tighten too.

It's a lot to get into but if you do it right then you should be getting what you have paid for. Also if your ISP offers D3 modem and your on D1 or D2 time to upgrade it. Newer ones are much faster for download and uploads. But again this depends on what your paying for from the ISP for downloads and uploads.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
john9527  149
azazel1024  129
stevech  117
htismaqe  104
sfx2000  78
L&LD  76
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  57
ColinTaylor  52
RMerlin  6024
john9527  377
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  278
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27623
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  13934
Old Simple NAS...  2499
Old Brainstorming...  2294
Old Looking for...  2066
Old RT-AC68P  2041
Old Advice on...  1875
Old RT-AC68U...  1464
Old Asus...  1441
Old Issues...  1359
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  110
Old Advice on...  48
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.