SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2012, 11:27 AM
Nucleartiger Nucleartiger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nucleartiger is just starting out
Default RT-AC66U will not see WAN connection

I am replacing a draft N Linksys router that is starting to require resets to have wireless and wired connection.

I followed all the instructions in the manual for the new router and will not see the WAN connection to my modem. I talked to ASUS support and walked through the router setup through the browser. No matter what we tried with resetting the router or the modem it just will not connect to the modem. I reconnected my old router and within 2 minutes the old router was up and providing internet connection.

The modem is a Scientific Atlanta Webstar from Time Warner cable and Earthlink. When the modem and router are restarted the WAN light comes on solid (after the light test) and then it goes off, at the same time the modem data lights blink like it has connection then everything goes off. So at this point I am thinking that it is a compatability issue between the router and the modem.

Any suggestions or ideas to try? I have had to deal with TWC to get a new modem before so I am sure its going to be like pulling teeth to get a different model/brand of modem. OR should I just take the ASUS back and get the Netgear R6300?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2012, 12:25 PM
mikeg mikeg is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 12
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
mikeg is just starting out
Default

What cables are you using . minimum cat5e between the modem and router and your pc and the router.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nucleartiger View Post
I am replacing a draft N Linksys router that is starting to require resets to have wireless and wired connection.

I followed all the instructions in the manual for the new router and will not see the WAN connection to my modem. I talked to ASUS support and walked through the router setup through the browser. No matter what we tried with resetting the router or the modem it just will not connect to the modem. I reconnected my old router and within 2 minutes the old router was up and providing internet connection.

The modem is a Scientific Atlanta Webstar from Time Warner cable and Earthlink. When the modem and router are restarted the WAN light comes on solid (after the light test) and then it goes off, at the same time the modem data lights blink like it has connection then everything goes off. So at this point I am thinking that it is a compatability issue between the router and the modem.

Any suggestions or ideas to try? I have had to deal with TWC to get a new modem before so I am sure its going to be like pulling teeth to get a different model/brand of modem. OR should I just take the ASUS back and get the Netgear R6300?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2012, 01:08 PM
Nucleartiger Nucleartiger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nucleartiger is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeg View Post
What cables are you using . minimum cat5e between the modem and router and your pc and the router.
I am using the included cat5e between modem and router and a cat 6 between router and computer. I tried multiple cables between each location including the previous cables in their original positions just with the new router.

Last edited by Nucleartiger; 12-21-2012 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2012, 01:36 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,533
Thanks: 62
Thanked 6,448 Times in 2,647 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Try powering off your modem and leaving it off for 10 mins, then try again. Cable modems can be picky if you move them to a new router, they might be unable to obtain a new DHCP lease from the ISP unless you keep the modem offline for at least a few minutes.

You could also try cloning the old router's WAN MAC address.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2012, 03:13 PM
Nucleartiger Nucleartiger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nucleartiger is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Try powering off your modem and leaving it off for 10 mins, then try again. Cable modems can be picky if you move them to a new router, they might be unable to obtain a new DHCP lease from the ISP unless you keep the modem offline for at least a few minutes.

You could also try cloning the old router's WAN MAC address.
I left it unplugged overnight. Still won't connect. Just bought a Motorola surfboard modem. Hopefully that will work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2012, 03:10 PM
hail2030 hail2030 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hail2030 is just starting out
Default Motorola SB6120 wouldn't connect to router

I have Comcast internet and my modem ran fine when I used the Linksys E4200. I got the RT-AC66R and it worked fine for a few hours and then it stopped working. Modem was online and so was the router, but I couldn't access any website on my tablet. I turned on my computer and tried to ping an address and it failed too. Powered off everything for a few minutes and it still didn't work. I figured I had a bad router, so I connected my computer directly to the modem and I still had no internet. Power cycled the modem again by removing the coaxial cable first and tried it again. Now I had internet access, so I connected the router again and lost internet access on everything again. Called Comcast and the rep told me t o power off the router and he would send a signal to my modem because he noticed there was an error on some file for the modem. He sent the signal and after a few minutes I powered on the router and I was back online. No issues since then!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2013, 03:32 PM
Nucleartiger Nucleartiger is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nucleartiger is just starting out
Default

After spending about 3 hours on the phone between ASUS and Tiime Warner Cable we didn't get anywhere other than to try and change out the modem. I finally went out and bought a motorola surfboard modem. Everything connected and has been rock solid since then.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2013, 09:54 PM
jdtj63 jdtj63 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jdtj63 is just starting out
Default

Sometimes older hardware and newer hardware don't get along.

I found this out alot trying to setup VPN tunnels between different hardware and different ISP's. Some would work and others wouldn't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  366
L&LD  118
john9527  117
stevech  95
htismaqe  90
azazel1024  90
huotg01  87
jegesq  86
watusi  64
ColinTaylor  55
RMerlin  6447
john9527  511
stevech  358
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  206
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  138
hggomes  131
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Why not...  8924
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  6481
Old RT-AC66U...  3754
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2768
Old Why ASUS?  2534
Old NAS...  1974
Old Help Plz:...  1720
Old OpenVPN...  1652
Old Remote...  1603
Old Asus...  1573
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  50
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  46
Old Whats going...  31
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  26
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old Extension...  26
Old The future...  26
Old What are the...  25
Old OpenVPN...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.