SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2013, 08:04 PM
asuswrt asuswrt is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asuswrt is just starting out
Default Any possibility for built-in DNS server?

I have FIOS and provided Actiontec MI424WR router.

This particular router has a very nice feature - DNS server. It is integrated with DHCP server, so when new client connects - it either provides a host name or router assigns "new-hostNN" to it. Then admin can change DHCP lease to static and update host name to be used for this MAC. All DHCP assignments are automatically reflected in built-in DNS server. In addition, Admin can add any custom entry to the DNS(like in hosts file: IP name). Local DHCP also has local domain name (RT-N66U also has it).

It is great feature as it makes LAN more peer-to peer friendly and helps in managing local connections. All external DNS requests are forwarded to the DNS servers assigned by the WAN.

PS. I was able to find some old post about DNS on this forum. It seems the answer is dnsmasq.

Last edited by asuswrt; 01-19-2013 at 09:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:24 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,010
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,516 Times in 2,268 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

That's exactly what dnsmasq does by default. it will resolve local queries, and will forward the other queries to your ISP's DNS.

Code:
>nslookup camelot

Server:  www.asusnetwork.net
Address:  192.168.10.1

Name:    camelot.lostrealm.lan
Address:  192.168.10.100
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2013, 11:15 PM
saintdev saintdev is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 121
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
saintdev is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
That's exactly what dnsmasq does by default. it will resolve local queries, and will forward the other queries to your ISP's DNS
It sounds more like OP wants a DHCP assigned hostname (automatically assigned and/or static), that is also automatically entered into DNS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asuswrt
PS. I was able to find some old post about DNS on this forum. It seems the answer is dnsmasq.
Most likely this is correct. I would be surprised if dnsmasq couldn't do this. You should have a look at the dnsmasq man page and dnsmasq.conf.example. You will have to configure this manually (most likely via hosts.add, dnsmasq.conf.add and possibly some custom scripts), there won't be any web UI for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2013, 11:27 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,010
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,516 Times in 2,268 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saintdev View Post
It sounds more like OP wants a DHCP assigned hostname (automatically assigned and/or static), that is also automatically entered into DNS.
That's precisely what the example I posted was. My desktop called Camelot requests a DHCP lease from the router, supplies the "camelot" name, and dnsmasq adds it to its internal host database, appending the LAN domain configured on the router. Resolving my desktop's hostname returned the FQDN and IP I posted. Same for a reversed lookup:

Code:
C:\Users\Merlin>nslookup 192.168.10.100
Server:  www.asusnetwork.net
Address:  192.168.10.1

Name:    Camelot.lostrealm.lan
Address:  192.168.10.100
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.

Last edited by RMerlin; 01-20-2013 at 11:31 PM. Reason: added reversed lookup
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2013, 05:36 AM
saintdev saintdev is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 121
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
saintdev is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
That's precisely what the example I posted was.
Fair enough, it just looked like you were just showing that local DNS worked. You didn't mention the hostname was DHCP assigned.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2014, 12:16 AM
Atoshi Atoshi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Atoshi is just starting out
Lightbulb Some help with dnamasq

Here's a good link to how the dnsmasq config file works:

http://www.g-loaded.eu/2010/09/18/ca...using-dnsmasq/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Atoshi For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  491
azazel1024  153
stevech  133
KGB7  129
sinshiva  113
hggomes  94
Kel-L  88
microchip  86
sm00thpapa  83
fistv  81
RMerlin  5515
stevech  322
ryzhov_al  264
TeHashX  214
L&LD  188
RogerSC  187
sinshiva  140
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sfx2000  118
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  73797
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  58574
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  21790
Old Asus locking...  9000
Old [Fork]...  7755
Old ASUS...  6752
Old Incoming...  5915
Old Asus...  5245
Old Share What...  2953
Old Download...  2841
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  392
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  389
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  131
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  85
Old Asus...  52
Old ASUS...  48
Old Inherited PC...  45
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old What's...  39


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.