SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2013, 08:20 PM
DonWie63 DonWie63 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Peoria
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DonWie63 is just starting out
Default Wireless Bridge Setup - Slow Transfer Speeds

Since nobody has responded to my earlier thread I am going to try and rename this to an appropriate heading.
To start with I have tried the help desks for ASUS and Synology and they both say the problem is not theirs and refuse to help further and I am not sure which of these sub-forums to put this question that has been plaguing me for quite some time now so here it goes. If anyone has any further questions please let me know and I will respond ASAP.
First off here is my layout.
Cable modem connected to internet
CAT 6 Ethernet cable from cable modem to First ASUS RT-AC66U Wireless 802.11AC Router
CAT 6 Ethernet cable from AUS Router to Main PC
Second ASUS RT-AC66U Wireless 802.11AC Router setup up as Wireless Bridge
CAT 6 Ethernet cable from Second Router to Home Theater PC
CAT 6 Ethernet cable from Second Router to Synology Diskstation DS +1812 networked hard disk

Here is my problem - if I try to transfer files from "Main PC" to the Synology networked hard disk, I get transfer speeds from around 4 MBps, way too slow. But if I login into my "Home Theater PC" and initiate the same transfer from my "Main PC" and the "Synology", I get 40 MBps transfer speed. Am I missing something? Is there a setting I need to change? Since I am transferring the same files over the same route, the only difference is who initiates the transfer, I do not understand what setting to change.

If there is any more info anyone needs just let me know.

Thanks

Don
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2013, 10:39 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 353 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

2nd router is a client bridge, functionally. They have you leave the WAN port unused, right?

Your speed units are xxMBps meaning bytes per second, right?

The results indicate that the 802.11ac isn't working correctly, it seems. Try some pings and look at the reported connection bit rate (WiFi) and assure it is a high rate with good signal strength both ways.


You'll need special software, or us a single large file with which to measure speeds. You'll also see in aggregate more speed with 2+ parallel transfers.

Last edited by stevech; 02-26-2013 at 10:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2013, 06:32 PM
kasigi kasigi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kasigi is just starting out
Default Same Problem

I have the EXACT same issue you are seeing right down to the 4 Megabytes per second transfer speed.

For testing the routers have been between 3 and 5 feet apart and I've verified that I have the only 5ghz network in detectable range.

Anybody find a solution to this issue with the Asus AC routers?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2013, 08:01 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 353 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonWie63 View Post
...
Second ASUS RT-AC66U Wireless 802.11AC Router setup up as Wireless Bridge
Questions
1) is the WAN port of the second RT-AC66U unused? I don't know about the RT-AC66U's explicit bridge mode (right? explicitly a user choice in their setup screens?) The WAN port is normally used for the routing functions - and a bridge has none. If this is hosed up, it can cost throughput because you'd be double-NATing, etc.

2) The two need to be on channel numbers separated by at least 3 channel numbers so there's no competition for use of the channel. And at close range, this will be more pronounced and perhaps even more channel number (RF freq) separation is needed if distance between the two is less than about 50 ft. and they are line of sight.

I'd put my NAS on the first router's LAN port, for sure. If not, I'd avoid it going over WiFi and use MoCA or HomePlug/power wiring bridge if you just *cannot* use the 1st router or get cat5 cable to where you must have located the NAS.

Last edited by stevech; 07-13-2013 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2013, 09:22 PM
kasigi kasigi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kasigi is just starting out
Default

The primary Asus unit is in Access Point mode (there's a separate wired-only router governing the network itself elsewhere on the network). The second wireless unit is in Media Bridge mode.

DHCP is controlled by the wired router and both wireless units have their DHCP servers deactivated. Both routers have reserved IP's assigned to them by the DHCP server based on their MAC addresses.

In short, no double NATing, or any NATing at all sending data across the LAN.

The primary Asus unit in Access point mode has a cable connecting it to the lan on the uplink port (WAN port). The bridge unit has its WAN port empty and the ethernet cable is connected to the LAN ports.

I also did a few tests to isolate where the speed appears to be lost:

-- I plugged a cable into the LAN ports of the primary unit and ran a file transfer test with a resulting speed of ~55 megabytes per second

-- Connecting to the wireless LAN on the primary unit and the same test yields between 10 and 15 megabytes per second

-- Connecting to the LAN on the bridge unit yields the afore-mentioned 3-5 megabytes per second.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2013, 09:29 PM
kasigi kasigi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kasigi is just starting out
Default

Just to state something explicitly:

Bridge router is actually a client to the primary router's wireless so I can't set the channel or much of anything on the wireless.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  437
azazel1024  125
john9527  96
L&LD  95
htismaqe  81
ColinTaylor  70
stevech  65
hggomes  64
sfx2000  58
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6273
john9527  447
stevech  352
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  47126
Old RT-AC68 -...  22276
Old RT-AC68P...  7043
Old Moderate Nat...  4689
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4244
Old iOS 8.1...  3974
Old RT-AC87U -...  2438
Old WiFi...  2422
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  1967
Old AC68U,...  1754
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  215
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  29
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old How to flash...  24
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.