SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:23 PM
sevendustweb sevendustweb is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sevendustweb is just starting out
Default Outdoor Cat6 wiring

Hello:

My A/V installer is going to be running several drops of Cat6 from my basement to my attic. One proposed path is up the side of an unused chimney. The wiring would be run outside and would be covered with conduit.

I have 2,000 ft of Cat6 UTP Solid wiring from Monoprice. It is NOT outdoor rated. If I run the standard Cat6 wiring though conduit, can it survive the elements (cold weather, humid summers, summer heat, etc.) or should I run 1 drop of Cat6 outdoor rated from a switch in the basement to a switch in the attic?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:47 PM
stevech stevech is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5,157
Thanks: 1
Thanked 373 Times in 360 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I'd guess yes. But there are building codes to worry on.. I'd play it safe and get plenum rated cable for fire codes.

The connectors are the items to protect from humidity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:11 AM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevendustweb View Post
Hello:

My A/V installer is going to be running several drops of Cat6 from my basement to my attic. One proposed path is up the side of an unused chimney. The wiring would be run outside and would be covered with conduit.

I have 2,000 ft of Cat6 UTP Solid wiring from Monoprice. It is NOT outdoor rated. If I run the standard Cat6 wiring though conduit, can it survive the elements (cold weather, humid summers, summer heat, etc.) or should I run 1 drop of Cat6 outdoor rated from a switch in the basement to a switch in the attic?

Thanks!
Don't use cheap Ethernet cables for outside usage. I use to use Belkin CAT5e ran it up the roof down the side of the house and mounted them with wood coax mounts. 32 x 50FT and 75FT drops ran all over. Drilled holes thru wooded floors and snake the Ethernet through the underground garage then into a drop network closet. The Ethernet cables were out in 100F to -10F freezing cold and ice rain stormy weather. No issues with them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2015, 05:29 AM
Motofixxer Motofixxer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Motofixxer is just starting out
Default

Attics are extreme temperature areas. It's best to not place electronic equipment there. You will usually have lower useful life on those components.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  476
john9527  191
huotg01  175
stevech  140
System Error...  138
jegesq  129
L&LD  118
hggomes  111
azazel1024  98
RussellInCinc...  64
RMerlin  6885
john9527  652
stevech  372
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  271
TeHashX  270
RogerSC  208
hggomes  170
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  143
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old SECURITY:...  18289
Old ASUS...  10431
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  7405
Old ASUS...  7118
Old ASUS...  6792
Old choose a new...  2876
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2439
Old Bulding...  2234
Old Horrible...  2046
Old Upgraded to...  1731
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  83
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  43
Old ASUS...  43
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old ASUS...  29
Old Need a...  26
Old Dongle LTE...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.