SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2013, 12:01 AM
JonnyRock JonnyRock is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JonnyRock is just starting out
Default Dropping 2.4GHz?

Hi guys, I'm having a big issue with this router. It continually stops broadcasting the 2.4 signal. I've restarted it three times this evening. I just updated to the .334 FW from the .318 (I think! Can't recall, just did that 15 min ago).

So what happens is it'll be working great and then I'll loss internet. Check my connection, yep my SSID is missing from the list. Go upstairs (I'm never more than ~20 ft from the router) and the 2.4GHz light is off. Unplug, wait, plug in. Boom, internet works. Until it doesn't. Sometimes it'll be good for nearly a week, but usually I do this at least every other day. Sometimes like today, many, many times. I've tried changing channels (busted out wifi analyzer to determine the best one, currently on 11). I've tried changing the wireless mode. It was unusable with the earlier FW's (I cc'd my Amazon review below).

Can any of you gurus help?

"I'm reviewing this router after having owned it for a year. Mind you, it's only been in real use for 3-4 months. That's because when I initially purchased it to replace my longtime Netgear router, it was unusable.

I'm pretty tech savvy and did a proper bit of research to determine what was the best router available and most everyone agreed that this RT-N56U was it.Setup wasn't too bad, but not as simple as the Netgear. But it was impossible to hold a connection for more than a few minutes. I tried all different channels and settings, tried to connect through my HP laptop, my wife's Mac, our Xbox, tablets, cellphones... You get the idea. I got so frustrated with it that after 2 days of digging through forums, updating the firmware, and praying to various internet gods, that I packed it away and nearly forgot about it.

Then a few months ago my Netgear gave up the ghost and I dug this thing out and set it up again. The first thing I did was update the firmware and was very pleased to see that it was much improved. The user interface was much better and best of all, the router would hold connections! It was too good to last though... I know regularly (multiple times per week) find my self restarting the damn thing. It's become habit to check it's indicator LEDs when walking past the office and all too often the 2.4 ghz light is off. Occasionally the 5ghz light is off, just to mix things up. Once again, I've checked for updates (there are none), I've fiddled with channels and settings nothing seems to work. Hell, I had to restart it twice in the 10 min before sitting down to this review.

Like others have said, when it is working, it's definitely a stellar router. But I'm convinced I got a lemon and I'm sorry that I left it in the box for nearly a year rather than return it right away. Because my experience has been anything but stellar."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2013, 01:29 AM
RogerSC RogerSC is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 21
Thanked 199 Times in 176 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

I'd suggest trying the .206 version firmware that works for just about everyone before deciding about returning the router:

https://dl.dropbox.com/s/gb858i7r6km...4_206.trx?dl=1

Try the above firmware and see how it works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2013, 12:56 AM
JonnyRock JonnyRock is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JonnyRock is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerSC View Post
I'd suggest trying the .206 version firmware that works for just about everyone before deciding about returning the router:

https://dl.dropbox.com/s/gb858i7r6km...4_206.trx?dl=1

Try the above firmware and see how it works for you.
Hey, I forgot to say thank you. This firmware did help and I can't remember the last time I had to power cycle the router!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2013, 01:53 AM
RogerSC RogerSC is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 21
Thanked 199 Times in 176 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

Good to hear. Thanks for the followup!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  368
john9527  148
azazel1024  132
stevech  117
htismaqe  101
L&LD  99
sfx2000  77
TonyH  72
AndreyPopov  57
ColinTaylor  53
RMerlin  6019
john9527  375
stevech  349
ryzhov_al  278
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27567
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  12097
Old Simple NAS...  2422
Old Brainstorming...  2226
Old Looking for...  1998
Old RT-AC68P  1931
Old Advice on...  1679
Old RT-AC68U...  1415
Old Asus...  1355
Old AC-68...  1254
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  102
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Advice on...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  24
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.