SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:24 AM
fountopa fountopa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hellas (Greece)
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fountopa is just starting out
Default Unresponsive RT-N66U

@Merlin: "Αίεν Αριστεύειν" (Homer - Ever to Excel)

@Community: Keep up the good work

Hi,

Since my first encounter with RT-N66U and Merlin's firmwares (xx.21 - xx.24), once per week (every 4-5 days) I am facing router's unresponsiveness when I am trying to access it either through web interface and/or telnet/ssh.

Needless to say that despite this, the router is still functioning (LAN, WAN access, etc) without a problem. The cure is always a reset.

Do you guys have faced, constantly, such a kind of issue. Any help will be much appreciated.

Regards
PF
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2013, 10:58 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,643
Thanks: 68
Thanked 7,353 Times in 2,964 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Are you running Download Master or any other bittorrent client on it?

Check on the Sysinfo page for the available RAM as well as CPU load when the problem occur, they might give a hint as to what is going wrong. Could be a service leaking memory, for example.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2013, 03:46 PM
fountopa fountopa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hellas (Greece)
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fountopa is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the reply.
I do not run either Download Master (i have not installed it) or any other bittorent on router. I do run bittorents on other "devices" (PC, NAS).
I will will monitor RAM and i will come back when the problem reoccurs (my only concern is that when it happens I can't do anything).
Regards
PF
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2013, 03:59 PM
fountopa fountopa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hellas (Greece)
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fountopa is just starting out
Default

BTW I suppose that these figures are OK. Aren't they ?
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (13.0 KB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2013, 05:15 PM
joegreat's Avatar
joegreat joegreat is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 477
Thanks: 694
Thanked 129 Times in 102 Posts
joegreat is just starting out
Arrow Memory usage with Transmission and NFS file server

Hi,

Just to compare - My memory usage looks like this:
Code:
Memory
Total 		234.25 MB
Free 		51.65 MB
Buffers 	54.95 MB
Swap usage 	2.07 / 62.75 MB
Much less free memory and some usage of swap file due to
- heavy file sharing with Tranmission
- NFS file server for the Linux clients

So your memory usage looks good!

With kind regards
Joe
__________________
Asus RT-AC68U Main router overclocked with Optware & Transmission + Asus RT-N66U for WLAN range = Firmware: Both on v378.50 (Merlin build) - Asus GPL 378_4129

Last edited by joegreat; 02-25-2013 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2013, 05:47 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,643
Thanks: 68
Thanked 7,353 Times in 2,964 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fountopa View Post
BTW I suppose that these figures are OK. Aren't they ?
All normal. Keep an eye on this over the next few days to see if it has a tendency to go down.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2013, 11:05 AM
Serpent Serpent is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Serpent is just starting out
Default

γειά σου,

For this kind of issues it's a good idea to activate the swap.
Even if your router runs out of physical memory it will not become unresponsive.

Anyway, try to ping it when this happens.

My memory usage:
Code:
             total          used           free       shared      buffers
Mem:        239868       201172        38696            0        11096
-/+ buffers:             190076        49792
Swap:       506008         2216        503792
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  511
L&LD  249
stevech  151
john9527  119
jegesq  117
System Error...  104
azazel1024  95
Samir  87
Rankdropper84  85
Kel-L  72
RMerlin  7352
john9527  759
stevech  385
ryzhov_al  316
L&LD  303
TeHashX  276
RogerSC  215
hggomes  206
sinshiva  161
azazel1024  148
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  107027
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  42367
Old Login...  29417
Old Entware-arm...  5347
Old Home Mesh...  3640
Old AC3200 worth...  2673
Old At what...  2552
Old ASUS...  2406
Old End of the...  2138
Old Lag issues...  1979
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  607
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  271
Old Entware-arm...  57
Old Forgo...  44
Old Home Mesh...  42
Old ZyXEL...  38
Old Fear and...  35
Old Lag issues...  35
Old AC68U cannot...  34
Old ASUS...  31


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.