SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:47 PM
rnichols rnichols is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rnichols is just starting out
Default Cisco Catalyst 3750G

Does anyone know of a good place to go to learn on this switch? I am going to be using it in a small office setting for myself.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2013, 10:29 AM
Terry Kennedy Terry Kennedy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Terry Kennedy is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rnichols View Post
Does anyone know of a good place to go to learn on this switch? I am going to be using it in a small office setting for myself.
That's a pretty good switch - I have about 25 of them (various models) scattered around the network. However, it does come with IOS, which has a rather steep learning curve if you're not already familiar with that software. Assuming the switch has been wiped to the factory configuration, you'll have basic "dumb switch" functionality without doing anything. You can then selectively enable features (such as jumbo frames, VLANs, etc.) as you need them.

Depending on the 3750G model and what software it is running, the switch may offer web-based configuration. Due to Cisco never providing enough memory in their products, code bloat means that the full web-based setup is only available on more recent models, or older models running out-of-date (and smaller) software.

Most of Cisco's IOS-based switches have very similar configuration commands. It is only when you get into more esoteric things that the differences between models become visible. However, some older Cisco switches ran CatOS, which was very different. As a rule of thumb, if the version number is < 8, you've got CatOS and if it is > 10, you've got IOS.

The current software for the older 3750G models is 12.2(55)SE6, while the newer ones is 12.2(58)SE2 or 15.0(2)SE.

If you have any specific questions regarding configuring the switch, post a reply here and I'll try to help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2013, 04:00 PM
bendsley bendsley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
bendsley is just starting out
Default

I'll be here to help as well as we have several hundred scattered throughout. These can do routing on them, but I would tell you to stay away from that currently if you're new to switching and just stick to the layer 2 stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2013, 11:14 AM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,619
Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rnichols View Post
Does anyone know of a good place to go to learn on this switch? I am going to be using it in a small office setting for myself.
Did you purchase them from your CISCO rep, because he or she should offer you training classes on this device. I've use prior 37xx stack series. Install firmware upgrades, deploy them into a network farm of 5,000 units. Configure VLAN via telnet through them. in all your getting very good product.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2013, 03:08 PM
rnichols rnichols is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rnichols is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Kennedy View Post
That's a pretty good switch - I have about 25 of them (various models) scattered around the network. However, it does come with IOS, which has a rather steep learning curve if you're not already familiar with that software. Assuming the switch has been wiped to the factory configuration, you'll have basic "dumb switch" functionality without doing anything. You can then selectively enable features (such as jumbo frames, VLANs, etc.) as you need them.

Depending on the 3750G model and what software it is running, the switch may offer web-based configuration. Due to Cisco never providing enough memory in their products, code bloat means that the full web-based setup is only available on more recent models, or older models running out-of-date (and smaller) software.

Most of Cisco's IOS-based switches have very similar configuration commands. It is only when you get into more esoteric things that the differences between models become visible. However, some older Cisco switches ran CatOS, which was very different. As a rule of thumb, if the version number is < 8, you've got CatOS and if it is > 10, you've got IOS.

The current software for the older 3750G models is 12.2(55)SE6, while the newer ones is 12.2(58)SE2 or 15.0(2)SE.

If you have any specific questions regarding configuring the switch, post a reply here and I'll try to help.
I put 15.0(2)SE (IPSERVICESK9) on it.. I am still trying to figure out the best configuration for the switch using a server , desktop , and two other smaller switches.. I enabled trunking for the ports with the switches on.. I am just not sure that I am doing the right thing to get the best out of the switch I have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  401
stevech  156
thelonelycode...  148
L&LD  126
azazel1024  114
KGB7  86
jim769  80
DrTeeth  69
Adamm  64
speedingcheet...  61
RMerlin  4487
stevech  275
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  166
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  102
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  88
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  32135
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  24612
Old ASUS...  22853
Old Beta Version...  17545
Old 'Heartbleed'...  14352
Old Linksys...  9496
Old Potential...  7950
Old Asus-Merlin...  7132
Old Groundhog...  6441
Old Linksys...  5833
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  220
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  181
Old Linksys...  145
Old ASUS...  125
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  79
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old USB drive...  39



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.