SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:16 AM
Arrow Arrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerSC View Post
Are you talking connect speed or throughput?
Link rate

File transfer rate does drop.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:17 AM
Arrow Arrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerSC View Post
It isn't advisable to clear your settings and then use a .CFG file to restore all those settings you just cleared. I've read some other postings by people who have been able to put together commands to restore the repetitive settings (such as MAC addresses and IP's) via a Linux script. You can search for those postings elsewhere in this forum.
Thanks. I'll take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:40 AM
samhain1 samhain1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
samhain1 is just starting out
Default

Why is it that even sitting next to the router you only see 200mbps link speed, I clicked the apply on the professional tab and it didn't increase it whatsoever
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-28-2013, 03:24 AM
Sinthor Sinthor is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sinthor is just starting out
Default 5Ghz issues...

I wonder if this drop in link speed is related to the signal strength drop issue? I've had my router for two days now and suddenly had the same issue. My 5ghz network went from a consistent 78% strength in the farthest areas of my house to 35% all of a sudden and I had to refresh a settings page on the web interface to the router itself to suddenly get it to jump back up to normal. Seems like some sort of power save setting on the router maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-28-2013, 09:38 AM
Arrow Arrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow is just starting out
Default

So, I reset my router, and manually re-entered everything.
Didn't help.

For those telling me to do this, do you have an AC network card or AC wireless adapter? And are you hibernating your systems, and then turning them back on hours later?

This situation really defeats the purpose of buying an AC router.

Last edited by Arrow; 04-28-2013 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  371
john9527  143
stevech  137
azazel1024  130
hggomes  88
noric  81
sfx2000  76
L&LD  67
fistv  66
TonyH  62
RMerlin  5777
stevech  336
john9527  281
ryzhov_al  272
TeHashX  228
L&LD  202
RogerSC  195
sinshiva  146
joegreat  127
sfx2000  124
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  12497
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  9388
Old My...  5308
Old Most stable...  4251
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  4182
Old Thinking of...  3892
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  3778
Old Connection...  3183
Old [HOW TO]...  2902
Old Can't trust...  2376
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  122
Old Connection...  59
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  57
Old My...  56
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  39
Old USB N...  30
Old Most stable...  29
Old New...  28
Old Second new...  27


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.