SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2012, 09:15 PM
tempnet tempnet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempnet is just starting out
Default Setting up IPv6 on RT-N56U Custom FW

I'm having trouble setting up IPv6 on my router. Everything works fine as it had been (great job devs), also my ISP supports IPv7 6RD protocol as they lay out themselves as instructions for their specific modem that I have as transparent bridged. Since this is custom I don't expect a smooth, step by step approach to 'simplified" interface for the general public, lol but I wonder if there are any super specific settings under "WAN" that I have to enable/disable? Under "IPv6", everything is setup as I think it would be setup, connection to the internet exists but I see no IPv6 addressing present. Computer is all fine under network settings, modem is bridged and it specifically tells me that I cannot fiddle with IPv6 as it is bridged, perfect. So is there a specific step by step setting under or in combination of "WAN" and "IPv6" to make it work? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2012, 10:11 PM
RogerSC RogerSC is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 21
Thanked 199 Times in 176 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tempnet View Post
I'm having trouble setting up IPv6 on my router. Everything works fine as it had been (great job devs), also my ISP supports IPv7 6RD protocol as they lay out themselves as instructions for their specific modem that I have as transparent bridged. Since this is custom I don't expect a smooth, step by step approach to 'simplified" interface for the general public, lol but I wonder if there are any super specific settings under "WAN" that I have to enable/disable? Under "IPv6", everything is setup as I think it would be setup, connection to the internet exists but I see no IPv6 addressing present. Computer is all fine under network settings, modem is bridged and it specifically tells me that I cannot fiddle with IPv6 as it is bridged, perfect. So is there a specific step by step setting under or in combination of "WAN" and "IPv6" to make it work? Thanks.
Did you try rebooting after enabling IPv6 and setting the mode that you want?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2012, 03:28 PM
tempnet tempnet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempnet is just starting out
Default

Yes, I I rebooted and tried all sorts of things to "trigger it". But I happen to have other problems other than trying to have IPv6. Seems that WAN keeps disconnecting intermittently like previous 1.1.2.x-xxx versions. Don't want to change topic here but once I have that fixed, I'll come back to making IPv6 work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:34 PM
tempnet tempnet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempnet is just starting out
Default

Well it appears that the WAN disconnects have something to do with IPv6 6RD settings. As soon as I activate IPv6 and mess with the settings, apply, and see what happens... no IPv6 connection, test fails and WAN starts to have intermittent disconnects though with internet connection. That must be the problem messing with my wan stability. I completely restored 3.0.3.0-025 and started settings from scratch and it seems to hold with IPv6 untouched. Once activated 6RD and later deactivated, WAN problem arises. 3.0.3.0-026 is out by the time of this post but doesn't seem to address anything.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2012, 10:17 PM
tempnet tempnet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempnet is just starting out
Default

Ok so it seems I haven't yet solved Padavan only issues over WAN disconnects. So I loaded official 3.0.0.4.260 and it seems to hold well, looks like it is grabbed from Padavan? Anyways, what I did was setup IPv6 on the modem only along PPPoE and DHCP, everything on standalone and it seems to connect perfectly, WAN that is because LAN always worked for awhile. But as soon as IPv6 data is inputted in the firmware (6RD Protocol) no IPv6 appears, though there is regular WAN IPv4 connection. So it seems I have to play a bit more unless it's a firmware handling alongside the 'dual stack' IPv4 management.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:03 PM
tempnet tempnet is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempnet is just starting out
Default

Ok everything is now stable but I still can't connect. If I scroll through the different IPv6 protocols (Native Static, Native DHCPv6, etc..) The PPPoE logo icon are all green, but the 6RD settings which my ISP requires is in orange. I have filled all the settings except Tunnel MTU and Tunnel TTL which kept at default but still no connection. I have tried Asus Official FW .260 and 6RD protocol works perfect. Why can't Padavan connect?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
john9527  149
azazel1024  129
stevech  114
htismaqe  104
sfx2000  78
L&LD  76
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  57
ColinTaylor  52
RMerlin  6024
john9527  377
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  278
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27623
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  13934
Old Simple NAS...  2499
Old Brainstorming...  2294
Old Looking for...  2066
Old RT-AC68P  2041
Old Advice on...  1875
Old RT-AC68U...  1464
Old Asus...  1441
Old Issues...  1359
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  111
Old Advice on...  48
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.