SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2013, 09:04 PM
asuswrt asuswrt is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asuswrt is just starting out
Default Any possibility for built-in DNS server?

I have FIOS and provided Actiontec MI424WR router.

This particular router has a very nice feature - DNS server. It is integrated with DHCP server, so when new client connects - it either provides a host name or router assigns "new-hostNN" to it. Then admin can change DHCP lease to static and update host name to be used for this MAC. All DHCP assignments are automatically reflected in built-in DNS server. In addition, Admin can add any custom entry to the DNS(like in hosts file: IP name). Local DHCP also has local domain name (RT-N66U also has it).

It is great feature as it makes LAN more peer-to peer friendly and helps in managing local connections. All external DNS requests are forwarded to the DNS servers assigned by the WAN.

PS. I was able to find some old post about DNS on this forum. It seems the answer is dnsmasq.

Last edited by asuswrt; 01-19-2013 at 10:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2013, 02:24 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,515
Thanks: 62
Thanked 6,414 Times in 2,640 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

That's exactly what dnsmasq does by default. it will resolve local queries, and will forward the other queries to your ISP's DNS.

Code:
>nslookup camelot

Server:  www.asusnetwork.net
Address:  192.168.10.1

Name:    camelot.lostrealm.lan
Address:  192.168.10.100
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:15 AM
saintdev saintdev is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
saintdev is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
That's exactly what dnsmasq does by default. it will resolve local queries, and will forward the other queries to your ISP's DNS
It sounds more like OP wants a DHCP assigned hostname (automatically assigned and/or static), that is also automatically entered into DNS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asuswrt
PS. I was able to find some old post about DNS on this forum. It seems the answer is dnsmasq.
Most likely this is correct. I would be surprised if dnsmasq couldn't do this. You should have a look at the dnsmasq man page and dnsmasq.conf.example. You will have to configure this manually (most likely via hosts.add, dnsmasq.conf.add and possibly some custom scripts), there won't be any web UI for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:27 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,515
Thanks: 62
Thanked 6,414 Times in 2,640 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saintdev View Post
It sounds more like OP wants a DHCP assigned hostname (automatically assigned and/or static), that is also automatically entered into DNS.
That's precisely what the example I posted was. My desktop called Camelot requests a DHCP lease from the router, supplies the "camelot" name, and dnsmasq adds it to its internal host database, appending the LAN domain configured on the router. Resolving my desktop's hostname returned the FQDN and IP I posted. Same for a reversed lookup:

Code:
C:\Users\Merlin>nslookup 192.168.10.100
Server:  www.asusnetwork.net
Address:  192.168.10.1

Name:    Camelot.lostrealm.lan
Address:  192.168.10.100
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.

Last edited by RMerlin; 01-21-2013 at 12:31 AM. Reason: added reversed lookup
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2013, 06:36 AM
saintdev saintdev is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
saintdev is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
That's precisely what the example I posted was.
Fair enough, it just looked like you were just showing that local DNS worked. You didn't mention the hostname was DHCP assigned.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2014, 12:16 AM
Atoshi Atoshi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Atoshi is just starting out
Lightbulb Some help with dnamasq

Here's a good link to how the dnsmasq config file works:

http://www.g-loaded.eu/2010/09/18/ca...using-dnsmasq/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Atoshi For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
L&LD  118
john9527  117
stevech  96
htismaqe  91
azazel1024  90
huotg01  85
jegesq  81
watusi  64
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6413
john9527  508
stevech  358
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  138
hggomes  131
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9834
Old Why not...  8797
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  6249
Old RT-AC66U...  3674
Old Why ASUS?  2505
Old NAS...  1925
Old Help Plz:...  1674
Old OpenVPN...  1614
Old Asus...  1551
Old Remote...  1522
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  31
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old The future...  26
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  26
Old Extension...  26
Old What are the...  25
Old OpenVPN...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.