SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2013, 11:54 AM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default DNS Server

I would like to manually assign my DNS server through my Asus N66u Router. I am pretty new to this so I have been doing some reading. So I go into the N66u Router interface and for example if I want to use the google dns servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and under WAN I input these 2 dns servers after changing to Manual set up. I click apply and then when I check in a cmd prompt ipconfig/all my dns server is still showing my ISP dns Servers. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to get these dns servers to stick on my entire network? Also is there a suggestion or tool you guys are using to see what are the best dns servers to use for my location? Thanks !!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:23 PM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default

If this is not possible, how is everyone else forcing their home network to use for example the google dns servers versus the ISP defaults?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:31 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 58
Thanked 6,278 Times in 2,558 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asusrocks View Post
I would like to manually assign my DNS server through my Asus N66u Router. I am pretty new to this so I have been doing some reading. So I go into the N66u Router interface and for example if I want to use the google dns servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and under WAN I input these 2 dns servers after changing to Manual set up. I click apply and then when I check in a cmd prompt ipconfig/all my dns server is still showing my ISP dns Servers. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to get these dns servers to stick on my entire network? Also is there a suggestion or tool you guys are using to see what are the best dns servers to use for my location? Thanks !!
You have to renew your lease for your computer to start using the new DNS.

Make sure you didn't manually configure your DNS servers on that computer, because normally your computer should be using your router's IP - which will in turn take care of doing the name lookups throug the DNS servers configured on the WAN page. If your computer shows the ISP DNS then I suspect you had them manually entered on the computer.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2013, 05:17 PM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default

Hi Merlin,

So are you saying if I go into the n66u WAn settings and put manually input DNS servers 1 and 2 and put them in and click apply then all my clients on the network (unless a client on the network was manually entered at some time) will all use those DNS servers? Is that correct? Thanks

Dana

Last edited by asusrocks; 01-31-2013 at 05:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2013, 06:26 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 58
Thanked 6,278 Times in 2,558 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asusrocks View Post
Hi Merlin,

So are you saying if I go into the n66u WAn settings and put manually input DNS servers 1 and 2 and put them in and click apply then all my clients on the network (unless a client on the network was manually entered at some time) will all use those DNS servers? Is that correct? Thanks

Dana
Yes and no. Technically, your clients will use your router as a DNS server. The router will then take care of sending the requests to your manual servers, and forward the reply back to your clients. But yes, the end result is, your client will get the resolution results from the two DNS you entered.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2013, 06:49 PM
asusrocks asusrocks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asusrocks is just starting out
Default

Thank you very much Merlin. THis whole thing started because I have apple tv and streaming netflix on apple tv is a poor quality picture even on HD content on netflix. After doing reading and testing it boils down to the ISP dns servers. I manually updated my apple tv with the google dns servers and bam, HD quality picture. I guess this is one of the most common issues with apple tv and netflix. Now that I read more, I want to set up my router so everything is using the specified dns servers. Again thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2013, 07:30 AM
Mazda323 Mazda323 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mazda323 is just starting out
Default

I'd like set Google DNS on my RT-N66U (running Shibby v105 AIO). But I don't know where the DNS 1 and DNS 2 are. Can anybody give me a hand?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  423
azazel1024  130
L&LD  98
john9527  98
htismaqe  81
ColinTaylor  76
stevech  71
hggomes  57
sfx2000  55
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6277
john9527  451
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  50677
Old RT-AC68 -...  23198
Old Moderate Nat...  5068
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4526
Old iOS 8.1...  4055
Old RT-AC87U -...  2541
Old WiFi...  2469
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2054
Old AC68U,...  1867
Old Ruckus...  1752
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  228
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  32
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24
Old Linksys...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.