SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2013, 12:55 AM
jbombs16 jbombs16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jbombs16 is just starting out
Default Merlin randomly rebooted back to ddwrt

I was running the cfe hacked ddwrt then switched to merlin about a month ago. Tonight my router n66u randomly rebooted and when accessing the router, it went to ddwrt. I can't seem to get back to merlin.

When attempting to flash back with the firmware restoration tool, it keeps failing saying it can't connect (check if light is blinking). I can't seem to get the router to boot into the safe mode. The light blinks for a while but not long enough to finish the restoration.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2013, 02:47 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,679
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,001 Times in 2,437 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

I can't see any way a firmware could out of the blue change to a different one. It's kinda like saying you booted your Windows 7 computer, and it suddenly booted again with your old WinXP. When you flash a firmware, it overwrites the existing firmware partition.

When using recovery mode, make sure to unplug everything (including the modem) but the one computer used for the recovery.

Start the firmware recovery process just before turning the router on (with reset button pressed, to enter recovery mode). That means click on the button to connect to your router - it will start counting down. That's how I do it, it ensures your router won't exit recovery mode before you are done flashing it.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2013, 05:34 PM
jbombs16 jbombs16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jbombs16 is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the reply. I don't know what happened either.

To confirm your suggested procedure: I should start the firmware flash application, load the file to flash, click start, then power on router (with reset pressed)?

In my experience, When I run the utility, it uploads the file to the router (takes a few seconds), then it starts counting to 100%. Sometime after upload has completed (during the count up) the light stops blinking. Then the procedure eventually fails at 100%.

Also, if I can connect running ddwrt, can I just change your firmware extension to bin and flash through ddwrt?

My router must be messed up because if I boot to recovery and access my router through the browser, sometimes I get the cfe mini server and others I get ddwrt (even with light blinking)

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2013, 07:31 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,679
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,001 Times in 2,437 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbombs16 View Post
Thanks for the reply. I don't know what happened either.

To confirm your suggested procedure: I should start the firmware flash application, load the file to flash, click start, then power on router (with reset pressed)?

In my experience, When I run the utility, it uploads the file to the router (takes a few seconds), then it starts counting to 100%. Sometime after upload has completed (during the count up) the light stops blinking. Then the procedure eventually fails at 100%.

Also, if I can connect running ddwrt, can I just change your firmware extension to bin and flash through ddwrt?

My router must be messed up because if I boot to recovery and access my router through the browser, sometimes I get the cfe mini server and others I get ddwrt (even with light blinking)

Thanks again
That's correct. Start the upload procedure before you actually put the router in recovery mode.

I have no idea if you can flash directly from DD-WRT. Probably safer to use recovery mode for that.

Make sure that your issues aren't partly caused just by your browser cache playing tricks on you. Try either clearing your browser cache, or using a different browser.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2013, 07:44 PM
Pierino Pierino is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 399
Thanks: 58
Thanked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Pierino is just starting out
Default

I flashed from dd-wrt to Merlin's fw by changing the .trx to .bin and flashing from the GUI.
__________________
Rt-ac68u on Asuswrt-Merlin fw
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2013, 11:17 PM
jbombs16 jbombs16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jbombs16 is just starting out
Default

Thanks for all your help. Well I am an idiot. So I had an old router running ddwrt as a switch on my network. Well, the switch router must have rebooted to default and had the same IP address as my N66u. That explains why i would sometimes access the N66U and was getting ddwrt others.

all is good.

Thanks again, and thanks Merlin for the great firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2013, 04:01 AM
octopus's Avatar
octopus octopus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 182
Thanks: 11
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
octopus is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbombs16 View Post
Thanks for all your help. Well I am an idiot. So I had an old router running ddwrt as a switch on my network. Well, the switch router must have rebooted to default and had the same IP address as my N66u. That explains why i would sometimes access the N66U and was getting ddwrt others.

all is good.

Thanks again, and thanks Merlin for the great firmware.
If you have two router in your setup then it's a good thing to use one at 192.168.2.1 and the other one at 192.168.2.2 then you don't have that problem when one of routers reboots, no ip-address collision.

Last edited by octopus; 01-04-2013 at 04:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2013, 06:15 AM
nubyOz nubyOz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 70
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
nubyOz is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by octopus View Post
If you have two router in your setup then it's a good thing to use one at 192.168.2.1 and the other one at 192.168.2.2 then you don't have that problem when one of routers reboots, no ip-address collision.
Also set them manually to different non overlapping Channels.
__________________
Synology NAS DS211J DSM 4.3 - 3827.
ASUS RT-AC68U RMerlin 3.0.0.4.374.39.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2013, 07:37 AM
octopus's Avatar
octopus octopus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 182
Thanks: 11
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
octopus is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nubyOz View Post
Also set them manually to different non overlapping Channels.
Not channel, separate LAN-net.
If you have them in same subnet then you can communicate between them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2013, 09:26 AM
jbombs16 jbombs16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jbombs16 is just starting out
Default

I know. I was just using it as a switch. Had wireless turned off and had it set to a different ip. The problem arose when the switch router reset to default (192.168.1.1) which my main router was set at. The switch was at 192.168.1.5. Before it reset to default for some unknown reason.

I was planning on replacing it with a gigabit switch i bought but hadn't gotten around to doing it. I have since replaced the switch router with the switch and everything is good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  323
L&LD  137
john9527  137
stevech  117
azazel1024  115
htismaqe  91
sfx2000  75
ChristineBCW  75
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  55
RMerlin  6000
john9527  367
stevech  348
ryzhov_al  277
TeHashX  230
L&LD  230
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  132
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  73093
Old Shellshock...  27194
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3714
Old Antenna...  3662
Old Asus...  3310
Old Simple NAS...  2225
Old Brainstorming...  2026
Old Looking for...  1793
Old RT-AC68P  1489
Old New Router:...  1481
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  314
Old Antenna...  73
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  34
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Asus...  29
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old Issues...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.