SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2013, 11:54 AM
Lazzerman Lazzerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lazzerman is just starting out
Question Dual NICs in my home file/media server

Hi guys,

I'm running a Windows 8 machine as file/web and media-server. I was thinking about adding an extra NIC to the machine. My reasoning was like this:

1. I'll share the media-drives over one IP adress/NIC
2. And use the other NIC for files/backups on another IP adress

So even if I load the backup NIC 100%, the media-streaming will be unaffected.

Media and backup/files are on separate harddrives and hdd controllers.

Am I thinking straight? :-)

Best regards,

Lars Siden
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2013, 01:43 AM
00Roush 00Roush is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 520
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
00Roush is just starting out
Default

Not a bad idea to have dual NICs if you are planning on having lots of network traffic. Hard part might be how to share only certain things over a specific NIC. Pretty sure you can do it with VLANs but it takes a bit more work.

My thought is why not just get a dual port Intel NIC that can do teaming. This is what I use in my server. The two ports get teamed and have the same IP address. Then you can set it up to spread the load across the two ports. So you can have one port being maxed out doing a file transfer and the other port would automatically service any other requests. The nice thing about the Intel cards is you can do all of this in the driver and don't even need a special switch. Typically you can find the Intel PRO/1000 PT Dual Port Server adapters for around $30-$40 on ebay. Actually the HP NC360T is a HP branded version of this card and can sometimes be found cheaper. http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-NC360T-Du...item20d0003a92 The only downside is these cards will only fit in a PCI-E x4, x8, or x16 slot. Other than that they work great.

Hope that helps.

00Roush
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2013, 03:13 AM
Lazzerman Lazzerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lazzerman is just starting out
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the input! Actually, I just started looking at teaming paired with a good Intel NIC that will do TCP offloading.

I'll give it a try with the onboard intel NIC and see if it works!

// Lazze
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dual nic, files, media, streaming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
L&LD  122
john9527  121
htismaqe  94
stevech  93
azazel1024  89
huotg01  84
jegesq  78
watusi  58
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6398
john9527  507
stevech  357
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  137
hggomes  129
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9587
Old Why not...  8446
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5903
Old RT-AC66U...  3526
Old Why ASUS?  2424
Old NAS...  1872
Old Help Plz:...  1616
Old Asus...  1510
Old OpenVPN...  1506
Old Remote...  1434
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  29
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old Extension...  26
Old The future...  26
Old OpenVPN...  25
Old What are the...  25
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.