SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-27-2013, 05:48 PM
Charken Charken is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Charken is just starting out
Default

So far I have manually set the NIC on the HTPC to 1 Gigabit speed and at this stage the it seems to be holding at around 20MB/sec. Which is enough to stream HD content. I'll see how this holds out, although I don't understand why this doesn't simply work at full speed.

Thanks for your comments and help.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:09 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,497
Thanks: 93
Thanked 457 Times in 390 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/sh...8990#post58990

Replacing GS105 seemed to help in his case. I don't think you need the GS108T. Just replace the GS105.

Some NICs and switches still have trouble auto-negotiating. Seems you found a case.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-09-2013, 02:10 PM
George5164 George5164 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
George5164 is just starting out
Default Daisy chained switches

HI: My LAN is using daisy chained switches, one Cisco SG200-08, one Dlink DGS 1008D and three Trendnet TEGs59g switches and one DLink 655 router used as a wireless access point and switch (DHCP turned off). These are all gigabit devices and everything seems to be functioning perfectly. Generally switches keep track of where messages need to go by remembering MAC addresses of sources and targets in packet data. There seems to be a 256 Mac address limit to the smaller switches. It does not sound as though you have violated Mac address limits. If any of the switches have routing capabilities, i.e. DHCP or are actually router/switches they should be configured as access points. If too many of your attached devices spend a lot of time talking on the internet they may be overwhelming the main router and switch. Good luck with this. George 5164
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-09-2013, 03:42 PM
thetoad30 thetoad30 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
thetoad30 is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charken View Post
One other thing to note which I mentioned above, is that if I move the cable that links the 8 port switch to the 5 port switch to the Virgin Super Hub or vice-a-versa the speed goes up to around 30MB/s for a limited time. I don't know how long this will last as I haven't tested it properly, but will work for some days.

I don't know what happens to drop the speed after some time.
This tells me that your 8 port switch is having erratic behavior. Only when you remove this switch does the problem go away.

Try replacing with a different switch if you have one, and see if that fixes your problem.

Or, conversely, you might be having a problem with the 5 port switch, since you still have the problem a few days later. I would bet money on one of those switches being the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  344
thelonelycode...  167
stevech  156
L&LD  129
azazel1024  116
KGB7  72
Adamm  71
jim769  65
speedingcheet...  59
sm00thpapa  57
RMerlin  4433
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  193
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  104
jlake  100
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  87
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  28581
Old ASUS...  18856
Old Beta Version...  17217
Old 'Heartbleed'...  13283
Old Potential...  7667
Old Linksys...  7143
Old Asus-Merlin...  6497
Old Groundhog...  6145
Old Linksys...  4601
Old Linksys...  3585
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  212
Old Linksys...  134
Old Beta Version...  112
Old ASUS...  109
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  61
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old New Home...  38
Old Managing...  38



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.