SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2013, 11:46 PM
djidji77 djidji77 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
djidji77 is just starting out
Default RT-AC66U WiFi signal strength depending from FW version

I just want to share results of some testing which I was conducting upon joining this forum.
I came to RT-AC66U H/W ver. A1 after using TP-Link TL-WL1043ND and TL-WA901ND in my home network, for 5 years. It was like a coming on a light from a dungeon... I was thrilled and still I'm. I don't have any issue with it and when I saw that some members have different problems, I decided to do some testing.

so, here is my setup:

PC desktop connected wired to first LAN port of RT-AC66U, which WAN port is furthermore connected wired to Cisco EPC3212 cable modem. I have 40Mbs internet connection. On 2nd and 3rd LAN port I connect Synology DS1511+ NAS which NIC's are configured as Network Fault Tolerance only and finally on 4th LAN port I connected TrendNet TEW-692GR for extend range purposes. I use Sony Vaio laptop with Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 WiFi card for signal measure. Both computers running Windows 8 Enterprise x64.
RT-AC66U is placed vertically with vertically placed antennas too. Vaio is placed on 2m distance from router and inSSIDer 2.1.5.1293 is used for measurement.

RT-AC66U setup as following:

SSID same for both band. (Vaio setup: Prefer 5.2GHz, highest power, medium roaming aggressiveness)

2,4GHz

N Only
40MHz b/w
contr. ch. 1L
WPA2-PSK AES
Tx bursting enable
WMM APSD enable
125mW

5GHz

N Only
80MHz b/w
cont.ch. 36
WPA2-PSK AES
Tx bursting enable
WMM APSD enable
125mW

with FW 3.0.0.4.266:

2,4GHz signal, RSSI -15dBm
5GHz signal, RSSI -19dBm
laptop WiFi status: speed 300.0Mbps360Mbps fluctuated
transfer 20GB file from NAS to laptop, getting 26-27MBs


with FW 3.0.0.4.270

2,4GHz signal, RSSI -17dBm
5GHz signal, RSSI -34dBm
laptop WiFi status: speed 450.0Mbps
transfer 20GB file from NAS to laptop, getting 49-52MBs


with FW 3.0.0.4.321

2,4GHz signal, RSSi -17dBm
5GHz signal, RSSI -35dBm-37dBm fluctuated
laptop WiFi status: speed 450.0Mbps
transfer 20GB file from NAS to laptop, getting 43-45MBs


with FW 3.0.0.4.270.24 beta3

2,4GHz signal, RSSi -17dBm
5GHz signal, RSSI -31dBm-34dBm fluctuated
laptop WiFi status: speed 450.0Mbps
transfer 20GB file from NAS to laptop, getting 43-45MBs
temperature 2,4GHz 58C, 5GHz 64C.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djidji77 For This Useful Post:
  #2  
Old 02-06-2013, 06:49 AM
mikeg mikeg is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 12
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
mikeg is just starting out
Default

Just a note the fw .321 has a newer Broadcom driver which the other fw:ers
do not have. Good of you to take the time and effort to test The Tx power should not be set over 120 mW
according to Asus because of distorsion issues.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeg For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:55 AM
Sivim Sivim is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sivim is just starting out
Default

So this looks like 266 had the best RSSI on the 5 Ghz band but the worst file transfer rate?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:01 PM
mikeg mikeg is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 12
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
mikeg is just starting out
Thumbs down

I have a TP-Link WDR4300 as a backup for the RT-AC66U with lower RSSI but better connection on 5 GHz band on my laptop than the Asus , 300 Mbps compared to 108 Mbps with the Asus. The TP.Link cost less than half of the A66U but is STABLE on the 5 GHz band so come on Asus give us something for the money we spent when we bought this top off the line AC-router..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sivim View Post
So this looks like 266 had the best RSSI on the 5 Ghz band but the worst file transfer rate?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:05 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,593
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,487 Times in 1,904 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeg View Post
I have a TP-Link WDR4300 as a backup for the RT-AC66U with lower RSSI but better connection on 5 GHz band on my laptop than the Asus , 300 Mbps compared to 108 Mbps with the Asus. The TP.Link cost less than half of the A66U but is STABLE on the 5 GHz band so come on Asus give us something for the money we spent when we bought this top off the line AC-router..
That device uses an Atheros device, so you aren't comparing identical technologies. You would have to compare it with an RT-N56U or an RT-N65U to compare similar technologies. Not to mention the fact that the RT-AC66U is a 802.11ac capable router - you can't compare pricing of the two.

Some clients work better with Atheros-based devices, and others with Broadcom-based devices.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.

Last edited by RMerlin; 02-06-2013 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:57 PM
djidji77 djidji77 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
djidji77 is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sivim View Post
So this looks like 266 had the best RSSI on the 5 Ghz band but the worst file transfer rate?
yes, unfortunately

I noticed something very strange - with FW 270, 321 and 270.24 there is a problem when changing output power in 5GHz band.
for example changing from 100mW to 200mW, it'is change of 3dB and RSSI should be changed for same level but it change just for +1dB!? or changing from 200mW to 10mW, its -13dB change but RSSI change just for -7dB?! with FW 266 that's OK, ie RSSI is changed for same number of dB as I changed output power of the router.
it looks like some sort of a bug or my unit going to be dead....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2013, 05:19 PM
Pierino Pierino is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 267
Thanks: 48
Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts
Pierino is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
That device uses an Atheros device, so you aren't comparing identical technologies. You would have to compare it with an RT-N56U or an RT-N65U to compare similar technologies. Not to mention the fact that the RT-AC66U is a 802.11ac capable router - you can't compare pricing of the two.

Some clients work better with Atheros-based devices, and others with Broadcom-based devices.
If I'm not mistaken the rt-n56u and rt-n65u are Railink devices, so he souldn't really use those either. Right?
__________________
Rt-ac68u on Asuswrt-Merlin fw
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2013, 05:20 PM
mikeg mikeg is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 12
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
mikeg is just starting out
Default

You miss my point ; a top of the class router like the AC66U should be functional after the time frame from it was released till now. I am using Asus USB-N53 to connect with and the AC66U gives me lower connect speeds than the TP-Link. Just to further investigate the problem I am waiting for a N66U to test if I get the same problems with connection speed.



Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
That device uses an Atheros device, so you aren't comparing identical technologies. You would have to compare it with an RT-N56U or an RT-N65U to compare similar technologies. Not to mention the fact that the RT-AC66U is a 802.11ac capable router - you can't compare pricing of the two.

Some clients work better with Atheros-based devices, and others with Broadcom-based devices.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2013, 08:58 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,593
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,487 Times in 1,904 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierino View Post
If I'm not mistaken the rt-n56u and rt-n65u are Railink devices, so he souldn't really use those either. Right?
Right (I had Realtek and Atheros mixed up), sorry.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 AM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  401
stevech  156
thelonelycode...  151
L&LD  126
azazel1024  119
KGB7  86
jim769  80
DrTeeth  69
Adamm  65
speedingcheet...  61
RMerlin  4487
stevech  275
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  166
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  102
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  88
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  31771
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  23588
Old ASUS...  22682
Old Beta Version...  17523
Old 'Heartbleed'...  14282
Old Linksys...  9411
Old Potential...  7929
Old Asus-Merlin...  7099
Old Groundhog...  6421
Old Linksys...  5703
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  218
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  176
Old Linksys...  144
Old ASUS...  125
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  79
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old USB drive...  39



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.