SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2012, 01:17 AM
rico99 rico99 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rico99 is just starting out
Default Questions re MOCA Network Setup

Need help figuring out options for setting up MOCA network.

Cox cable user - internet, phone & tv

Currently have 2 coax cables coming into house:
Cable 1 - carrries internet & phone, goes from Arris box on outside wall into main cable box on outside wall, then thru Arcom FRS 50-6 device to cable modem, then router (in office)
Cable 2 - carries TV, connected to 4 way splitter in box on outside wall, goes to 4 rooms (3 bedrooms & family room)

There is an extra coax cable (disconnected by Cox when phone installed) in the main box outside which also goes to a bedroom where one of the TVs is located

Not sure how to set up MOCA network since cable modem and router are essentially disconnected from the rest of the coax lines. When internet was initially installed, only had one coax in from Cox that went to 6 way splitter. But that got changed when digital phone was installed.

Am thinking to reroute data/phone line to room with 2 coax outlets (one connected to TV, the other is the spare wire), then put cable modem and router in that room. Connect 1st MOCA adapter there to the "spare wire", with Ethernet going to router, then another Ethernet cable from router to second MOCA adapter (then to second coax outlet in that room) to feed internet signal back to the splitter with 4 cables connected (the "TV" line). Would then install MOCA adapters at each room and put MOCA filter in box outside on inlet side of splitter.

Not sure if this will work. Am looking for other ideas. Main objectives are to solve bad wireless connection in the room with 2 outlets (don't want to buy any more wireless equipment) and prepare for future install of DVR with cable card.

All help appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2012, 03:23 PM
devnull devnull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
devnull is just starting out
Default

Does all of the coax come back to the same place outside the house?

If the cable modem coax and tv coax come back to the same spot, you can use a satellite diplexer to join the Moca signal onto the cable modem line by the household splitter. Then another one just before the cable modem to separate it out. I'll draw a diagram for you later.

http://www.amazon.com/Pack-Holland-D...lland+diplexer

Last edited by devnull; 11-25-2012 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2012, 04:12 PM
rico99 rico99 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rico99 is just starting out
Default

Yes, all the coax goes back to a cable box attached on the exterior wall of the house. I drew a rough diagram and uploaded it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cable setup.jpg (21.6 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:45 AM
devnull devnull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
devnull is just starting out
Default

So here's the diagram that I think will work for you.

The TV splitter will need to be replaced with a Moca compatible splitter like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Splitter-enabl...+moca+splitter

And again, the diplexers (which I have used as well as Holland's Moca splitters):
http://www.amazon.com/Pack-Holland-D...lland+diplexer

The diplexers will separate the TV signal (below 1ghz) from the Moca signal (above 1ghz). They will also isolate your Moca net from the outside world. The only possible issues are that the increased attenuation may compromise your modem signal, and the possibility of a ground loop. You may need a ground loop isolator to prevent a ground loop.

http://www.amazon.com/Viewsonics-VSI...+loop+isolator

Also, the Arcom device may need to be located between the modem and the nearest diplexer.
Attached Images
File Type: png mocadiag.png (32.7 KB, 26 views)

Last edited by devnull; 11-26-2012 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:38 PM
rico99 rico99 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rico99 is just starting out
Default

Thanks, devnull. Looks like a great idea!

A few questions:
1. If I need the ground loop isolator, where would I likely need to install it?
2. Just to confirm, with the diplexers, no need for a Moca filter on the entry line to the modem?
3. If I hook a TV straight to one of the lines coming out of the splitter, would I need a Moca filter on the coax entering the TV? I'm assuming if I put a Moca adapter on the end of each line there would be no need for any filter between the adapter and the TV.

I really appreciate your help - will make the install a lot easier.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2012, 12:34 AM
devnull devnull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
devnull is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rico99 View Post
Thanks, devnull. Looks like a great idea!

A few questions:
1. If I need the ground loop isolator, where would I likely need to install it?
On the coax link between the two SAT ports on the leftmost diplexers.

Quote:
2. Just to confirm, with the diplexers, no need for a Moca filter on the entry line to the modem?
Correct. The Moca frequencies will not be permitted on the RF port of the diplexer.

Quote:
3. If I hook a TV straight to one of the lines coming out of the splitter, would I need a Moca filter on the coax entering the TV? I'm assuming if I put a Moca adapter on the end of each line there would be no need for any filter between the adapter and the TV.
TVs and cable STBs should have no issue with Moca frequencies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  400
azazel1024  131
L&LD  104
john9527  101
htismaqe  96
stevech  78
ColinTaylor  78
hggomes  58
sfx2000  51
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6287
john9527  459
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  253
L&LD  243
RogerSC  203
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  55683
Old RT-AC68 -...  24715
Old Moderate Nat...  5378
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4865
Old iOS 8.1...  4188
Old RT-AC87U -...  2713
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2228
Old New AC68...  2116
Old AC68U,...  2042
Old Ruckus...  1854
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  246
Old RT-AC68 -...  141
Old Review: 24...  35
Old Moderate Nat...  34
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24
Old Linksys...  21
Old Help Plz:...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.