SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2013, 06:21 PM
bloodymeli bloodymeli is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bloodymeli is just starting out
Default Jumbo frames

Hello,

Sorry for the really dumb question.
My network configuration is Trend-Net TEW633GR, LinkSys Linkstation Pro, and Intel 82597V Gigabit adapter (Intel DH67GB board).
A few more wireless devices (cell phones and a laptop) are also connected to the router.
As far as I know, all the wired components supports Jumbo frames (9K). I would like to enable it this feature but I'm concerned that:
A) Won't the internet connection be affected?
B) Won't the wireless devices (especially the laptop) performenace be degraded? I'm especially worried for the performance when reading files from the LinkStation Pro external HD.

What's your opinion regarding the two questions? Shall I enable this feature?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2013, 04:25 AM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

No, everything works fine don't worry about it. Make sure those devices that support JF = Jumbo Frames are set correctly though. If you use a Laptop with Gigabit connection but forget to change the Gigabit Jumbo MTU from 1500K instead of 9000K then you will not get the full benefit of JF. So check your adapter NIC = Network Interface Card settings under the OS that your using.

JF works more for LAN = local area network (sho = small home office or smb = small business) side. WAN = wide area network (internet) doesn't effect.


*** Optional Tweak for your Network on your OS
=====================================
As for the WAN side you can make sure your PCs are using what your pay for for downloads also how they access memory and CPU or NPU = network processor. Apps like TCP Optimizer help there. As most Windows PC out of the box are set to 3mbp. So if you are getting 50mbp from your ISP and your PC is set to 3mbp you can clearly see the bottleneck. So best to correct this value. Changing these setting won't harm your Wired or WiFi settings. Just make the DL = download and UL = Upload seem to run a bit smoother.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  401
azazel1024  131
L&LD  104
john9527  101
htismaqe  96
stevech  78
ColinTaylor  77
hggomes  58
sfx2000  51
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6287
john9527  459
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  253
L&LD  242
RogerSC  203
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  55427
Old RT-AC68 -...  24651
Old Moderate Nat...  5363
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4851
Old iOS 8.1...  4176
Old RT-AC87U -...  2694
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2223
Old New AC68...  2098
Old AC68U,...  2023
Old Ruckus...  1847
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  244
Old RT-AC68 -...  141
Old Review: 24...  35
Old Moderate Nat...  34
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24
Old Linksys...  21
Old Help Plz:...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.