SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 01:24 PM
jlamb1051 jlamb1051 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jlamb1051 is just starting out
Default DDNS and dyndns

I have an rt-ac66r (retail version of U). I am using a free dyndns account as my ddns. After looking at the forums, it seems that this router does not automatically update the dyndns service on a regular interval (it only updates on reboot or wan ip change). As you may know, dyndns free accounts expire after 30 days of no account activity and if i have no reboot or ip change in 30days my account is terminated. First, am I wrong in my understanding of the router's updating ability? If it does not update regularly, are there any ways to initiate an update interval so I dont encounter any dyndns service interruptions?

Another option is to use ASUS ddns service... How reliable is this service? Do they have any account termination issue like dyndns?

Thank you in advance for any info you can provide...

JL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 02:55 PM
Nerre Nerre is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 304
Thanks: 0
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Nerre is just starting out
Default

If I don't recall wrong there's a topic somewhere in the forums covering how to set up a cron job to do the update. But I might be mixing things up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:27 PM
LoneWolf's Avatar
LoneWolf LoneWolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
LoneWolf is just starting out
Default

That seems odd to me. By the very nature of Dynamic DNS, updates would need to happen periodically in the event that your DHCP-assigned WAN IP changed. If updates didn't happen and the IP changed, DDNS would be worthless.
__________________
Moto SB6141, ASUS RT-AC87R, Netgear PS gig switches, Buffalo WLI-H4-D1300 802.11AC bridge
HP MicroServer Gen8 WS 2012R2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 11:25 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,021
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,526 Times in 2,272 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
That seems odd to me. By the very nature of Dynamic DNS, updates would need to happen periodically in the event that your DHCP-assigned WAN IP changed. If updates didn't happen and the IP changed, DDNS would be worthless.
Asus implemented DDNS so it will only update the DDNS whenever the WAN interface changes state, or gets a new lease. The problem is they didn't take into account the fact that some DDNS services require at least one update per month to confirm that your account is still active, so if there is no change in your WAN state during that month, the DDNS won't contact the provider at all.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:23 AM
scottegos2 scottegos2 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
scottegos2 is just starting out
Default

By coincidence, I got the same notice from dyndns.org today. I didn't see any clear way to force the update manually (or from crontab) -- the one related thread I found wasn't especially helpful. OK, I can run the dyndns updater on my htpc, but that seems like a copout. This feature should be possible on the router.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:12 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,021
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,526 Times in 2,272 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Eventually I'll see if I can implement a cron job that will force an update after 25 days of uptime without reboot or WAN change.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:44 PM
DeadHead DeadHead is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DeadHead is just starting out
Default

My old D-Link DGL-4300 always updated this by itself, so would be nice to have the same functionality with this router as well. Seems pretty basic to me, so I hope they'll implement it soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2013, 06:23 PM
LoneWolf's Avatar
LoneWolf LoneWolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
LoneWolf is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Asus implemented DDNS so it will only update the DDNS whenever the WAN interface changes state, or gets a new lease. The problem is they didn't take into account the fact that some DDNS services require at least one update per month to confirm that your account is still active, so if there is no change in your WAN state during that month, the DDNS won't contact the provider at all.
I wish I'd known that a month ago.

My ASUS router continues to seem like amazing hardware hampered by a small handful of really dumb software decisions where the firmware is concerned.
__________________
Moto SB6141, ASUS RT-AC87R, Netgear PS gig switches, Buffalo WLI-H4-D1300 802.11AC bridge
HP MicroServer Gen8 WS 2012R2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2013, 09:14 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,021
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,526 Times in 2,272 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
I wish I'd known that a month ago.

My ASUS router continues to seem like amazing hardware hampered by a small handful of really dumb software decisions where the firmware is concerned.
Nothing serious that cannot be worked around through a simple cron job tho (just need custom firmware to do that).
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  485
azazel1024  155
stevech  135
KGB7  129
sinshiva  113
Kel-L  91
hggomes  90
fistv  85
sm00thpapa  83
sfx2000  78
RMerlin  5525
stevech  322
ryzhov_al  264
TeHashX  215
RogerSC  188
L&LD  188
sinshiva  140
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sfx2000  118
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  74101
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  58689
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  23894
Old Asus locking...  9124
Old [Fork]...  8782
Old ASUS...  6939
Old Incoming...  5968
Old Asus...  5314
Old Share What...  3038
Old Download...  2884
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  392
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  389
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  133
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  88
Old Asus...  52
Old ASUS...  49
Old Inherited PC...  45
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old What's...  39


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.