SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-22-2013, 08:27 PM
RogerSC RogerSC is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,450
Thanks: 25
Thanked 205 Times in 182 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMishSr View Post
You have no PCIe slots other than one graphics card slot so you will have to go with USB. Personally, I had great luck with TrendNET's TEW-684UB when I was running a RT-N66U. I also have a EA-N66 I got as an open box special but its expensive and the TEW-684UB is just as good, for a lot less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=TEW-684UB
I'm currently using a Linksys AE3000...I was happy to see it connect at 450Mb/s on 5GHz. Haven't measured the actual throughput, though, but I had it on my main computer (a laptop) that I do a lot with (streaming video, downloading DVD's, etc.), and it did fine for several days, no problems.

One afterthoght, though, it is a "manual" install on Windows 8. You download the Windows 7 driver, unzip it, and point the Device Manager entry for the AE3000 at it, and the Device Manager installs the driver. Works well on Windows 8, but Linksys/Cisco/whoever should really add Windows 8 installation pieces.

Last edited by RogerSC; 02-22-2013 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-22-2013, 09:17 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,508
Thanks: 62
Thanked 6,408 Times in 2,638 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Damn. This motherboard sure is crazy limited in terms of expansion If you use the on-board graphics then you could use that X16 for your wireless card, but that would prevent any future video upgrade.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-22-2013, 10:25 PM
sabot105mm sabot105mm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 51
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
sabot105mm is just starting out
Default

Take a look at the ae3000 dualband 3x3. Mine I got for 25 certified refurb from cisco
lan speedtest: reading and writing to an NTFS HDD connected to the router

AP was 15 feet away separated by a one wall
5ghz 20mhz download upload MBps
ave 6.2 3.6
max 6.9 4.0
min 5.8 3.3


2.5ghz 20mhz download upload MBps
ave 4.6 3.1
max 5.4 3.5
min 4.2 2.2

5ghz 40mhz download upload MBps
ave 7.8 3.7
max 9.2 4.4
min 5.8 3.3


2.5ghz 40mhz download upload MBps
ave 6.1 3.3
max 7.4 3.7
min 4.8 2.7

Last edited by sabot105mm; 02-22-2013 at 11:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-23-2013, 03:43 AM
Mangix Mangix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mangix is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Damn. This motherboard sure is crazy limited in terms of expansion If you use the on-board graphics then you could use that X16 for your wireless card, but that would prevent any future video upgrade.
That particular motherboard is designed for AMD CPUs that have built-in GPUs. You could add an extension card but there's close to no point.

Stick with USB. It's got a long life to live.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2013, 12:30 PM
dikkiedirk dikkiedirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 59
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dikkiedirk is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMishSr View Post
You have no PCIe slots other than one graphics card slot so you will have to go with USB. Personally, I had great luck with TrendNET's TEW-684UB when I was running a RT-N66U. I also have a EA-N66 I got as an open box special but its expensive and the TEW-684UB is just as good, for a lot less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=TEW-684UB
Just got a TEW-684 from Amazon. Works great with my N66U. Its connected to my laptop and am now able to play Bluray rips from my unraid server over WiFi.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  358
L&LD  122
john9527  121
stevech  93
htismaqe  91
azazel1024  90
huotg01  85
jegesq  81
watusi  61
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6407
john9527  508
stevech  358
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  138
hggomes  131
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9756
Old Why not...  8698
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  6147
Old RT-AC66U...  3614
Old Why ASUS?  2482
Old NAS...  1906
Old Help Plz:...  1649
Old OpenVPN...  1592
Old Asus...  1543
Old Remote...  1511
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  31
Old Extension...  26
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old The future...  26
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  26
Old OpenVPN...  25
Old What are the...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.