SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-22-2013, 07:27 PM
RogerSC RogerSC is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,218
Thanks: 15
Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMishSr View Post
You have no PCIe slots other than one graphics card slot so you will have to go with USB. Personally, I had great luck with TrendNET's TEW-684UB when I was running a RT-N66U. I also have a EA-N66 I got as an open box special but its expensive and the TEW-684UB is just as good, for a lot less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=TEW-684UB
I'm currently using a Linksys AE3000...I was happy to see it connect at 450Mb/s on 5GHz. Haven't measured the actual throughput, though, but I had it on my main computer (a laptop) that I do a lot with (streaming video, downloading DVD's, etc.), and it did fine for several days, no problems.

One afterthoght, though, it is a "manual" install on Windows 8. You download the Windows 7 driver, unzip it, and point the Device Manager entry for the AE3000 at it, and the Device Manager installs the driver. Works well on Windows 8, but Linksys/Cisco/whoever should really add Windows 8 installation pieces.

Last edited by RogerSC; 02-22-2013 at 07:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-22-2013, 08:17 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,598
Thanks: 44
Thanked 4,492 Times in 1,905 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Damn. This motherboard sure is crazy limited in terms of expansion If you use the on-board graphics then you could use that X16 for your wireless card, but that would prevent any future video upgrade.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-22-2013, 09:25 PM
sabot105mm sabot105mm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 45
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
sabot105mm is just starting out
Default

Take a look at the ae3000 dualband 3x3. Mine I got for 25 certified refurb from cisco
lan speedtest: reading and writing to an NTFS HDD connected to the router

AP was 15 feet away separated by a one wall
5ghz 20mhz download upload MBps
ave 6.2 3.6
max 6.9 4.0
min 5.8 3.3


2.5ghz 20mhz download upload MBps
ave 4.6 3.1
max 5.4 3.5
min 4.2 2.2

5ghz 40mhz download upload MBps
ave 7.8 3.7
max 9.2 4.4
min 5.8 3.3


2.5ghz 40mhz download upload MBps
ave 6.1 3.3
max 7.4 3.7
min 4.8 2.7

Last edited by sabot105mm; 02-22-2013 at 10:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-23-2013, 02:43 AM
Mangix Mangix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mangix is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Damn. This motherboard sure is crazy limited in terms of expansion If you use the on-board graphics then you could use that X16 for your wireless card, but that would prevent any future video upgrade.
That particular motherboard is designed for AMD CPUs that have built-in GPUs. You could add an extension card but there's close to no point.

Stick with USB. It's got a long life to live.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2013, 11:30 AM
dikkiedirk dikkiedirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 53
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dikkiedirk is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMishSr View Post
You have no PCIe slots other than one graphics card slot so you will have to go with USB. Personally, I had great luck with TrendNET's TEW-684UB when I was running a RT-N66U. I also have a EA-N66 I got as an open box special but its expensive and the TEW-684UB is just as good, for a lot less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=TEW-684UB
Just got a TEW-684 from Amazon. Works great with my N66U. Its connected to my laptop and am now able to play Bluray rips from my unraid server over WiFi.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  399
stevech  158
thelonelycode...  147
L&LD  126
azazel1024  115
KGB7  86
jim769  81
DrTeeth  71
Adamm  64
speedingcheet...  62
RMerlin  4492
stevech  275
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  166
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  102
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  88
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  32320
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  25703
Old ASUS...  22956
Old Beta Version...  17564
Old 'Heartbleed'...  14385
Old Linksys...  9610
Old Potential...  7965
Old Asus-Merlin...  7163
Old Groundhog...  6452
Old Linksys...  5941
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  220
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  189
Old Linksys...  147
Old ASUS...  125
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  79
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old USB drive...  39



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.