SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2013, 05:36 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default openssl

I doing this on the fly because I'm really unsure about what I'm doing
I'm trying to setup this openvpn client on my router so here's my problem so far
I got the openvpn client for windows
but it didn't come with easy-rsa so I hunted that down
and followed the readme
but when I got to the command "build-ca" it said that openssl was reconized as
a command of that sort
can some give me a simpler walkthrough or give me some direction
thank you
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2013, 06:06 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,177
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,971 Times in 2,820 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

EasyRSA is available on the router itself, so you can generate everything through ssh/telnet on the router:

https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-mer...using-Easy-RSA
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2013, 07:20 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

I try and run the command "setuprsa.sh /mnt/sdb1"
and it gives me the error " cp: can't preserve permissions of '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/sign-req': Operation not permitted " and won't copy the files to the flash drive
also every time it tries to write the crt an key info on the flash drive it say "Using configuration from /mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/openssl-1.0.0.cnf
/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt: No such file or directory
unable to open '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt' "
thanks
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix

Last edited by bigcid10; 01-07-2013 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2013, 09:50 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,177
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,971 Times in 2,820 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcid10 View Post
I try and run the command "setuprsa.sh /mnt/sdb1"
and it gives me the error " cp: can't preserve permissions of '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/sign-req': Operation not permitted " and won't copy the files to the flash drive
also every time it tries to write the crt an key info on the flash drive it say "Using configuration from /mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/openssl-1.0.0.cnf
/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt: No such file or directory
unable to open '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt' "
thanks
Probably means that your disk isn't formatted as ext2/ext3. In that case create a directory inside /tmp, and do everything from that directory. Once done, copy the resulting files to your USB disk.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2013, 01:06 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

ok,it was formatted in fat
I 'll reformat and try it again
I have a Linux laptop ,I'll do it on that
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:07 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

is ext4 ok?
when I did that the drive in the router says unmounted
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:05 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,177
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,971 Times in 2,820 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcid10 View Post
is ext4 ok?
when I did that the drive in the router says unmounted
Ext4 is not supported. The kernel used by this router is too old.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2013, 10:37 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

how can I reformat it into ext3
my linux laptop doesn't give me an otion for ext3
only linux swap,linux,or ext4
thanks
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2013, 02:28 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,177
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,971 Times in 2,820 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcid10 View Post
how can I reformat it into ext3
my linux laptop doesn't give me an otion for ext3
only linux swap,linux,or ext4
thanks
"mkfs -t ext3 /dev/sdxx" through a terminal session.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2013, 02:39 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

OK,I got the server up and running on the router(yea!)
but now I can't figure out to get the client key and profile setup on either my android or my pc(win8)
thanks for your patience
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  524
john9527  184
System Error...  171
huotg01  165
stevech  150
L&LD  142
jegesq  137
hggomes  90
azazel1024  89
RussellInCinc...  71
RMerlin  6970
john9527  665
stevech  375
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  275
TeHashX  271
RogerSC  211
hggomes  176
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  145
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old [CLOSED]...  44735
Old SECURITY:...  18683
Old ASUS...  10947
Old ASUS...  8154
Old Asus...  4669
Old choose a new...  3504
Old Bulding...  2335
Old Horrible...  2152
Old dd-wrt for...  1913
Old What is dual...  1890
Old [CLOSED]...  338
Old Asus...  101
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  44
Old ASUS...  43
Old Can you help...  40
Old dd-wrt for...  36
Old How to build...  32


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.