SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:21 PM
Pokey Pokey is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pokey is just starting out
Smile Asuswrt-Merlin questions and possible feature

I've been using my new AC66U with Asuswrt-Merlin and have been very happy with it's performance over my old and tired Linksys G router.

I wanted to double check that when one of the radios is disabled does that keep that radio's chip in a sleep state or low power state? I don't have any 5GHz devices so to keep the AC66U cool i disabled the 5GHz radio. The tools page doesn't show the 5GHz radio temperature so I figured it is in a sleep or low power state. My AC66U is sitting on a 15" laptop cooler that has dropped the 2.4GHz radio temperature to 43C where as without it it would run ~54C. And the ambient in the house is 20C. I'm hoping this setup keeps the router cool and helps it last longer than the dlinks and linksys routers i've used in the past.

And would it be possible for the router firmware to pickup USB HDD temperatures ie through SMART to display the drive temperature on the tools page or USB application page?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:24 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,885
Thanks: 56
Thanked 6,062 Times in 2,471 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey View Post
And would it be possible for the router firmware to pickup USB HDD temperatures ie through SMART to display the drive temperature on the tools page or USB application page?
SMART isn't generally available for USB devices, except for a few that hack it in their controler.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:27 PM
Pokey Pokey is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pokey is just starting out
Default

Thanks RMerlin,

I figured I'd ask just in case. At least I know the router is running cool.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2014, 03:47 PM
noric noric is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Thanks: 30
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
noric is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
SMART isn't generally available for USB devices, except for a few that hack it in their controler.
Well, I have a few external drives that I can view smart values from. Do you think it would be possible to add "smartctl" command in the future?
Thanks RMerlin.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2014, 05:30 PM
ColinTaylor ColinTaylor is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 373
Thanks: 22
Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts
ColinTaylor is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noric View Post
Well, I have a few external drives that I can view smart values from. Do you think it would be possible to add "smartctl" command in the future?
I think it is already available through entware.
__________________
Asus RT-N66U 374.43
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ColinTaylor For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old 08-24-2014, 06:15 PM
noric noric is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Thanks: 30
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
noric is just starting out
Default

Yes, you're right!
In case anyone wants more insight about how to do it, open telnet and type:
Code:
opkg update
opkg install smartmontools
Now you have installed smartctl. To use it type:
Code:
smartctl -a /dev/sda
If it tells you something about smart not being available, try:
Code:
smartctl -d ata /dev/sda
and then "smartctl -a /dev/sda" should work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asuswrt-merlin, disable, radio, temperature, usb hdd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  403
john9527  159
azazel1024  120
htismaqe  105
sfx2000  87
stevech  74
ColinTaylor  70
AndreyPopov  59
TonyH  54
bbb0777  42
RMerlin  6061
john9527  391
stevech  351
ryzhov_al  280
TeHashX  237
L&LD  232
RogerSC  201
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  134
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  30427
Old RT-AC68P...  2903
Old Brainstorming...  2721
Old Advice on...  2618
Old Looking for...  2373
Old RT-AC68U...  1924
Old Asus...  1831
Old Issues...  1793
Old Stable...  1705
Old AC-68...  1636
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  214
Old Brainstorming...  49
Old Advice on...  49
Old Looking for...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old WiFi...  27
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.