SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2012, 04:15 PM
ap-alexander ap-alexander is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ap-alexander is just starting out
Default Old computer as a Network Server

Hi there, I have recently upgraded my main desktop and want to built my old computer into a network server. I have most of what I need, but I need help in completing it.

Here's the information about my what I currently have:
Old computer:
An AMD Phenom II with 8GB of RAM, 40GB Intel SSD. It's built in an Antec 300 case with a 560W PSU and an Nvidia 9600GSO GPU. At the moment it's running Linux. (Ubuntu 12.10)

Uses: (what I want the system to do)
Pretty standard, really. I will use the server as main storage for media and documents, and will be streaming via ethernet to my TV via PS3. I would also love to be able to stream wirelessly to iOS devices and Apple TV. (I'm using the Apple TV to stream audio upstairs)

Network hardware:
This is a work in progress. I have a typical modem/router (Linksys dual band) setup. However, I have a 24 port patch panel (not installed) and have my eye on a 16-port unmanged gigabit switch to finish the build. I have network drops in the office, theater room, and one upstairs.

What I want to know is, instead of getting the 16-port switch, can I easily (and relatively in-expensively) turn my old computer into a network switch? What do I need to buy? I will be getting a couple Western Digital Red 3TB drives, but as far as ethernet connectivity do I just get several network cards and install them? What software to I need to get it all up and running?

Thanks in advance.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2012, 04:57 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is online now
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,418
Thanks: 181
Thanked 697 Times in 576 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Buy the switch. You don't want your computer acting as a switch or even a router if you plan on using it as a NAS,
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2012, 06:55 PM
jdabbs's Avatar
jdabbs jdabbs is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: al.us
Posts: 631
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
jdabbs is just starting out
Default

The switch would cost less.
__________________
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy." - Field Marshal von Moltke
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
network, server, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  518
L&LD  249
stevech  151
jegesq  125
john9527  120
System Error...  102
azazel1024  93
Samir  90
Rankdropper84  85
dfran1  69
RMerlin  7396
john9527  764
stevech  385
ryzhov_al  318
L&LD  303
TeHashX  279
RogerSC  216
hggomes  206
sinshiva  161
sfx2000  148
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  108861
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  42525
Old Login...  31529
Old Entware-arm...  5510
Old Home Mesh...  3746
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3211
Old ASUS...  3115
Old AC3200 worth...  2723
Old At what...  2562
Old End of the...  2174
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  617
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  271
Old Entware-arm...  57
Old Forgo...  44
Old Home Mesh...  42
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  39
Old ZyXEL...  39
Old Fear and...  38
Old AC68U cannot...  36
Old Lag issues...  35


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.