SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:02 PM
hiroprotagonist hiroprotagonist is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hiroprotagonist is just starting out
Default Getting ATT Microcell to work behind TPLink ER5120 router

I have an ER5120 router and an AT&T 3G Microcell, and I cannot seem to figure out the best way to get the Microcell connected to the network.

I have been able to get the Microcell working on a regular Netgear home router, so I know it works behind a router. That particular router didn't require any configuration, it just worked.

The issue is that when it's connected to the ER5120, the Microcell shows the constant blinking of the cell network icon (bottom one), and won't register a handset.

Here is what I have done so far to try and get it working:

(1) Microcell has a DHCP reserved address

(2) Router has Virtual Server ports open for that IP address: 123, 443, 4500, 500

(3) Router has Firewall IP-Mac binding set for Microcell MAC / IP

(4) ARP Spoof is on / off. Didnt make a difference.

(5) Router has Firewall -> Access Control -> Services enabled with same ports / services as listed in Virtual Server.

-----

I'll admit, the router is new and I don't know everything about it yet. But I assumed that's all it needed to have the Microcell work behind the router. Hopefully I'm missing something simple.

Thanks for anyone that might be able to provide some guidance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:44 PM
sfx2000 sfx2000 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,098
Thanks: 14
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
sfx2000 is just starting out
Default

Overview

If the AT&T 3G MicroCell is not working after connected to the router/gateway, first try the basic troubleshooting steps contained in the User Guide. If the 3G MicroCell still will not connect to the AT&T network (as indicated by a continuous blinking 3G light), then use the following instructions to check the router settings and change them, as needed. Please contact the router manufacturer or the ISP provider to obtain assistance with configuring the router settings.

Normally, just plugging the 3G MicroCell into the router/gateway is all that is required. However, sometimes router/gateway settings have been changed or the 3G MicroCell will not connect properly. This section will show how to change the settings for some popular modems/routers to enable the 3G MicroCell to connect successfully.

Procedure

NOTE: Please be advised that the router manufacture or the ISP provider will not provide support for AT&T 3G MicroCell, but they can assist with configuring the router settings.

- DHCP is on
- Data is not restricted from passing through ports 4500 and 500 (AKA Port Blocking).
- MTU size is set to 1492
- MAC address filtering is either turned off or allowing the MAC address of the AT&T 3G MicroCell
- IPSec Pass-Through is Enabled
- Block Fragmented Packets is Disabled


If using multiple routers, the 3G MicoCell must be connected to the first router connected to the broadband modem

If the 3G MicroCell is connected to a router that is connected to a modem and both the router and the modem have NAT (Network Address Translation) enabled, disable NAT either in the router or the modem.

Ensure the modem / router is using the latest software (firmware). Please see the manufacturer's documentation.

TCP/UDP Ports

NOTE: All ports listed need to be configured for inbound and outbound connections.

123/UDP: NTP timing (NTP traffic)
443/TCP: Https over TLS/SSL for provisioning and management traffic
4500/UDP: IPSec NAT Traversal (for all signaling, data, voice traffic)
500/UDP: IPSec Phase 1 prior to NAT detection (after NAT detection, 4500/UDP is used)
4500/UDP: After NAT detection, 4500/UDP is used

Also look here -- http://www.wireless.att.com/media/en...leshooting.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2013, 10:24 PM
hiroprotagonist hiroprotagonist is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hiroprotagonist is just starting out
Default

This is all good info to have compiled for the device. Thank you.

I think my question might be specific to this router, since I'm still learning my way around it. I believe I addressed the port issues correctly, but have I missed another area of the router that those need to be defined?

I don't have the ability to uncheck the box for Fragmented Packets. That box is greyed out. I'm wondering why that is. (Router -> Firewall -> Attack Defense)

I also don't seem to find the IPSEC passthrough option in the router.

Now, funny enough, with all this reconfiguring and rebooting of the Microcell, it's lost GPS lock. So now I need to move it around it get that resolved.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfx2000 View Post
Overview

If the AT&T 3G MicroCell is not working after connected to the router/gateway, first try the basic troubleshooting steps contained in the User Guide. If the 3G MicroCell still will not connect to the AT&T network (as indicated by a continuous blinking 3G light), then use the following instructions to check the router settings and change them, as needed. Please contact the router manufacturer or the ISP provider to obtain assistance with configuring the router settings.

Normally, just plugging the 3G MicroCell into the router/gateway is all that is required. However, sometimes router/gateway settings have been changed or the 3G MicroCell will not connect properly. This section will show how to change the settings for some popular modems/routers to enable the 3G MicroCell to connect successfully.

Procedure

NOTE: Please be advised that the router manufacture or the ISP provider will not provide support for AT&T 3G MicroCell, but they can assist with configuring the router settings.

- DHCP is on
- Data is not restricted from passing through ports 4500 and 500 (AKA Port Blocking).
- MTU size is set to 1492
- MAC address filtering is either turned off or allowing the MAC address of the AT&T 3G MicroCell
- IPSec Pass-Through is Enabled
- Block Fragmented Packets is Disabled


If using multiple routers, the 3G MicoCell must be connected to the first router connected to the broadband modem

If the 3G MicroCell is connected to a router that is connected to a modem and both the router and the modem have NAT (Network Address Translation) enabled, disable NAT either in the router or the modem.

Ensure the modem / router is using the latest software (firmware). Please see the manufacturer's documentation.

TCP/UDP Ports

NOTE: All ports listed need to be configured for inbound and outbound connections.

123/UDP: NTP timing (NTP traffic)
443/TCP: Https over TLS/SSL for provisioning and management traffic
4500/UDP: IPSec NAT Traversal (for all signaling, data, voice traffic)
500/UDP: IPSec Phase 1 prior to NAT detection (after NAT detection, 4500/UDP is used)
4500/UDP: After NAT detection, 4500/UDP is used

Also look here -- http://www.wireless.att.com/media/en...leshooting.pdf

Last edited by hiroprotagonist; 01-24-2013 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:56 AM
Butchfoote Butchfoote is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Butchfoote is just starting out
Default Same Problem with ASUS n66u

Just like this poster. ATT microcell worked great with no config changes on WRT54G. Upgraded to ASUS n66u. Microcell doesn't work with new router, though it does successfully acquire local ip address. The long list of att suggested changes cannot all be made in the n66u either. Some yes, some no.

It would be nice to have someone that knew these newer routers help us understand why the WRT modems from 8 years ago worked out of the box and the new 'high end' ones today aren't functional with the microcell.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2013, 01:02 PM
slyderz slyderz is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
slyderz is just starting out
Default

I have an n66u and it works fine out of the box with the latest firmware. All I did to mine was forward ports 500 and 4500 to get mms texts to send.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2013, 05:01 PM
CaptainSTX CaptainSTX is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
Thanks: 9
Thanked 83 Times in 80 Posts
CaptainSTX is just starting out
Default Dmz

When I was having problems with my micro cell I just put it in the DMZ. I don't think there is a huge security issue doing so, but just in case use a strong password.

While I don't think the problems I had were related to port forwarding I got tired of tech support people from AT&T (dedicated support for micro cell and most of the people were quite knowledgeable ) having me futz with various port forwarding setting so to rule that out as a problem I just put the micro cell in the DMZ. The micro cell is working well so I have never bothered taking it out of the DMZ.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  417
stevech  140
KGB7  128
azazel1024  126
sinshiva  100
sfx2000  94
Kel-L  93
hggomes  85
fistv  79
john9527  66
RMerlin  5586
stevech  328
ryzhov_al  265
TeHashX  217
RogerSC  189
L&LD  189
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  120
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  76594
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  38930
Old [Fork]...  15918
Old Asus locking...  9886
Old ASUS...  7856
Old Incoming...  7721
Old [Fork]...  4319
Old Share What...  3540
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2866
Old Best version...  2289
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  186
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  118
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old Connection...  49
Old ASUS...  49
Old Incoming...  44
Old [Fork]...  41
Old 376.44 -...  40


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.