SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2013, 03:09 PM
Andrius Andrius is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Andrius is just starting out
Default VLAN for IPTV

Hello,

I am using internet + IPTV and trying to setup my Asus RT-66U for this (Firmware Version:3.0.0.4.266.23 (Merlin build)).

The schema of IPTV provider is here (how it is working with their provided router):

IPTV is tagged in VLAN6 802.1q(?).

In short I want to have:
1 port for internet connection / LAN (untagged)
2 port for internet connection / LAN (untagged)
3 IPTV (Motorola) (tagged VLAN6)
4 IPTV (Motorola) (tagged VLAN6)

p.s. VLAN5 is tagger for remote management I don't need that.


First I set LAN > IPTV setting manual and put VID 6 | PRIO 0 for IPTV (LAN port 4) other settings left blank.



Using this setup IPTV is working fine on router port 4 IPTV, but there is no internet connection (wan).

I checked nvram settings with this setup:
nvram show | grep wan | sort

ipv6_prefix_len_wan=64
led_wan_gpio=255
link_wan1=0
link_wan=1
sshd_wan=0
switch_wan0prio=
switch_wan0tagid=
switch_wan1prio=0
switch_wan1tagid=6
switch_wan2prio=
switch_wan2tagid=
switch_wantag=manual
wan0_6rd_ip4size=
wan0_6rd_prefix=
wan0_6rd_prefixlen=
wan0_6rd_router=
wan0_auth_x=
wan0_auxstate_t=0
wan0_desc=
wan0_dhcpc_options=
wan0_dhcpenable_x=1
wan0_dns1_x=
wan0_dns2_x=
wan0_dns=
wan0_dnsenable_x=1
wan0_enable=1
wan0_gateway=0.0.0.0
wan0_gateway_x=0.0.0.0
wan0_heartbeat_x=
wan0_hostname=
wan0_hwaddr=6C:62:6D:CD:0C:BB
wan0_hwaddr_x=6C:62:6D:CD:0C:BB
wan0_hwname=
wan0_ifname=vlan
wan0_ipaddr=0.0.0.0
wan0_ipaddr_x=0.0.0.0
wan0_mroute=
wan0_nat_x=1
wan0_netmask=0.0.0.0
wan0_netmask_x=0.0.0.0
wan0_phytype=
wan0_pppoe_ac=
wan0_pppoe_idletime=0
wan0_pppoe_ifname=
wan0_pppoe_mru=1492
wan0_pppoe_mtu=1492
wan0_pppoe_options_x=
wan0_pppoe_passwd=
wan0_pppoe_relay=0
wan0_pppoe_service=
wan0_pppoe_username=
wan0_pptp_options_x=
wan0_primary=1
wan0_proto=dhcp
wan0_proto_t=dhcp
wan0_route=
wan0_sbstate_t=6
wan0_state_t=4
wan0_unit=0
wan0_upnp_enable=1
wan0_vpndhcp=1
wan0_xdns=
wan0_xgateway=0.0.0.0
wan0_xipaddr=0.0.0.0
wan0_xnetmask=0.0.0.0
wan1_6rd_ip4size=
wan1_6rd_prefix=
wan1_6rd_prefixlen=
wan1_6rd_router=
wan1_auxstate_t=0
wan1_ifname=eth0
wan1_mroute=
wan1_pppoe_ifname=
wan1_primary=0
wan1_proto=
wan1_proto_t=
wan1_route=
wan1_sbstate_t=0
wan1_state_t=4
wan_auth_x=
wan_desc=
wan_dhcpc_options=
wan_dhcpenable_x=1
wan_dns1_x=
wan_dns2_x=
wan_dns=
wan_dnsenable_x=1
wan_enable=1
wan_gateway=0.0.0.0
wan_gateway_x=0.0.0.0
wan_heartbeat_x=
wan_hostname=
wan_hwaddr=
wan_hwaddr_x=
wan_hwname=
wan_ifnames=vlan
wan_ipaddr=0.0.0.0
wan_ipaddr_x=0.0.0.0
wan_nat_x=1
wan_netmask_x=0.0.0.0
wan_phytype=
wan_pppoe_ac=
wan_pppoe_idletime=0
wan_pppoe_mru=1492
wan_pppoe_mtu=1492
wan_pppoe_options_x=
wan_pppoe_passwd=
wan_pppoe_relay=0
wan_pppoe_service=
wan_pppoe_username=
wan_pptp_options_x=
wan_proto=dhcp
wan_unit=0
wan_upnp_enable=1
wan_vpndhcp=1
wandevs=et0
wanports=0
wans_disconn_time=60


nvram show | grep vlan | sort

lan_ifnames=vlan1 eth1 eth2
landevs=vlan1 wl0 wl1
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan1ports=1 2 8*
vlan2hwname=et0
vlan2ports=0 8u
wan0_ifname=vlan
wan_ifnames=vlan
wl0_vlan_prio_mode=off
wl1_vlan_prio_mode=off
wl_vlan_prio_mode=off


Settings before changing IPTV settings:

nvram show | grep wan | sort

ipv6_prefix_len_wan=64
led_wan_gpio=255
link_wan1=0
link_wan=1
sshd_wan=0
switch_wan0prio=0
switch_wan0tagid=
switch_wan1prio=0
switch_wan1tagid=
switch_wan2prio=0
switch_wan2tagid=
switch_wantag=none
wan0_6rd_ip4size=
wan0_6rd_prefix=
wan0_6rd_prefixlen=
wan0_6rd_router=
wan0_auth_x=
wan0_auxstate_t=0
wan0_desc=
wan0_dhcpc_options=
wan0_dhcpenable_x=1
wan0_dns1_x=
wan0_dns2_x=
wan0_dns=212.**.1.1 212.**.2.2
wan0_dnsenable_x=1
wan0_enable=1
wan0_expires=316
wan0_gateway=**.**.**.254
wan0_gateway_x=0.0.0.0
wan0_heartbeat_x=
wan0_hostname=
wan0_hwaddr=10:BF:484:34:C8
wan0_hwaddr_x=
wan0_hwname=
wan0_ifname=eth0
wan0_ipaddr=**.**.***.***
wan0_ipaddr_x=0.0.0.0
wan0_lease=300
wan0_mroute=
wan0_nat_x=1
wan0_netmask=255.255.192.0
wan0_netmask_x=0.0.0.0
wan0_phytype=
wan0_pppoe_ac=
wan0_pppoe_idletime=0
wan0_pppoe_ifname=
wan0_pppoe_mru=1492
wan0_pppoe_mtu=1492
wan0_pppoe_options_x=
wan0_pppoe_passwd=
wan0_pppoe_relay=0
wan0_pppoe_service=
wan0_pppoe_username=
wan0_pptp_options_x=
wan0_primary=1
wan0_proto=dhcp
wan0_proto_t=dhcp
wan0_route=
wan0_sbstate_t=0
wan0_state_t=2
wan0_unit=0
wan0_upnp_enable=1
wan0_vpndhcp=1
wan0_xdns=
wan0_xgateway=**.**.255.254
wan0_xipaddr=0.0.0.0
wan0_xnetmask=0.0.0.0
wan1_6rd_ip4size=
wan1_6rd_prefix=
wan1_6rd_prefixlen=
wan1_6rd_router=
wan1_auxstate_t=0
wan1_mroute=
wan1_pppoe_ifname=
wan1_primary=0
wan1_proto_t=
wan1_route=
wan1_sbstate_t=0
wan1_state_t=0
wan_auth_x=
wan_desc=
wan_dhcpc_options=
wan_dhcpenable_x=1
wan_dns1_x=
wan_dns2_x=
wan_dns=
wan_dnsenable_x=1
wan_enable=1
wan_gateway=0.0.0.0
wan_gateway_x=0.0.0.0
wan_heartbeat_x=
wan_hostname=
wan_hwaddr=
wan_hwaddr_x=
wan_hwname=
wan_ifnames=eth0
wan_ipaddr=0.0.0.0
wan_ipaddr_x=0.0.0.0
wan_nat_x=1
wan_netmask_x=0.0.0.0
wan_phytype=
wan_pppoe_ac=
wan_pppoe_idletime=0
wan_pppoe_mru=1492
wan_pppoe_mtu=1492
wan_pppoe_options_x=
wan_pppoe_passwd=
wan_pppoe_relay=0
wan_pppoe_service=
wan_pppoe_username=
wan_pptp_options_x=
wan_proto=dhcp
wan_unit=0
wan_upnp_enable=1
wan_vpndhcp=1
wandevs=et0
wanports=0
wans_disconn_time=60


nvram show | grep vlan | sort

lan_ifnames=vlan1 eth1 eth2
landevs=vlan1 wl0 wl1
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan1ports=1 2 3 4 8*
vlan2hwname=et0
vlan2ports=0 8u
wl0_vlan_prio_mode=off
wl1_vlan_prio_mode=off
wl_vlan_prio_mode=off

What I can see that vlan1ports changed from "1 2 3 4 8*" to "1 2 8*" that is fine as I am trying to use 3,4 for IPTV
Also wan_ifnames and wan0_ifname changed from eth0 to vlan

Tried to revert changes to ifnames ussing commands:
nvram set wan_ifnames=eth0
nvram set wan0_ifname=eth0
nvram commit
reboot

But after router restart values were not changed and reverted to vlan.

Read in other forums for Tomato (or dd-wrt) based routers it's enough to configure VLAN ports as:
nvram set vlan1ports="2 3 4 8*"
nvram set vlan6ports="0t 1 8t"
nvram set vlan6hwname=et0
nvram commit
reboot
p.s. here ports in reverse order meaning port1 is physical port 4, port3 physical port 2
etc.

Any ideas how to fix this? Maybe I need to setup bridge connection or similar.
I like Asus firmware and Merlin build, design, functionality and everything looks very cool.
Attached Images
File Type: png IPTV_VLAN6.png (33.0 KB, 149 views)

Last edited by Andrius; 01-07-2013 at 03:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2013, 02:36 PM
thexile thexile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 57
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
thexile is just starting out
Default

ASUS firmware implementation of VLAN is extremely basic. I have spoken to ASUS Jeremy regarding this. Perhaps you will want drop him an email as well (that's what I did)

Let's cross our fingers and hope ASUS engineers will work on it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2013, 05:15 AM
KurianOfBorg KurianOfBorg is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
KurianOfBorg is just starting out
Default

The NVRAM variables look the same as this:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

I've configured vLANs successfully in DD-WRT using these commands. You get total control like a managed switch. This might work in AsusWRT as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2014, 05:31 AM
dsimonas dsimonas is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dsimonas is just starting out
Default

Andrius did you resolve this issue? I have same problem with my Asus RT-AC66U.


Maybe someone else can point to the right commands to use in this particular situation?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2014, 05:55 AM
johnnyboy's Avatar
johnnyboy johnnyboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
johnnyboy is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsimonas View Post
Andrius did you resolve this issue? I have same problem with my Asus RT-AC66U.


Maybe someone else can point to the right commands to use in this particular situation?
I have solved this problem. If you can compile the fw, then you can do it by your self. I've compiled, you can download it (right click on it and save):

This one is for RT-AC68U.

http://www.oldlinux.org/Asuswrt-Merl....41_alpha3.trx

and I've told ASUS the method to solve this.

Last edited by johnnyboy; 04-03-2014 at 06:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:01 AM
johnnyboy's Avatar
johnnyboy johnnyboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
johnnyboy is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
I have solved this problem. If you can compile the fw, then you can do it by your self. I've compiled, you can download it (right click on it and save):

http://www.oldlinux.org/Asuswrt-Merl....41_alpha3.trx

and I've told ASUS the method to solve this.
Oh, no! This one is for RT-AC68U, I'll compile one for you, just wait for an hour...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:02 AM
dsimonas dsimonas is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dsimonas is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
I have solved this problem. If you can compile the fw, then you can do it by your self. I've compiled, you can download it (right click on it and save):

http://www.oldlinux.org/Asuswrt-Merl....41_alpha3.trx

and I've told ASUS the method to solve this.
So can I just upload this firmware, and it will work?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:07 AM
johnnyboy's Avatar
johnnyboy johnnyboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
johnnyboy is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsimonas View Post
So can I just upload this firmware, and it will work?
Yes, but the above one is for RT-AC68U only, just wait about an hour while compile one for RT-AC66U for you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:41 AM
johnnyboy's Avatar
johnnyboy johnnyboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
johnnyboy is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
Yes, but the above one is for RT-AC68U only, just wait about an hour while compile one for RT-AC66U for you.
Finished compiling for RT-AC66U. (right click & save)

http://oldlinux.org/Asuswrt-Merlin/R....41_alpha3.trx

it should work smoothly for you!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to johnnyboy For This Useful Post:
  #10  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:57 AM
dsimonas dsimonas is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dsimonas is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
Finished compiling for RT-AC66U. (right click & save)

http://oldlinux.org/Asuswrt-Merlin/R....41_alpha3.trx

it should work smoothly for you!
So with this I will be able to select vlan1 for internet? Or what did you fix?

I hope you didn't left yourself a backdoor?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
iptv, teo, vlan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  401
stevech  153
thelonelycode...  152
L&LD  126
azazel1024  119
KGB7  86
jim769  80
DrTeeth  69
Adamm  66
speedingcheet...  63
RMerlin  4487
stevech  275
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  166
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  102
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  88
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  31695
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  23258
Old ASUS...  22614
Old Beta Version...  17512
Old 'Heartbleed'...  14261
Old Linksys...  9336
Old Potential...  7926
Old Asus-Merlin...  7081
Old Groundhog...  6417
Old Linksys...  5629
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  218
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  175
Old Linksys...  144
Old ASUS...  125
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  78
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old USB drive...  39



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.