SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 06:50 PM
Diveblaster Diveblaster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Diveblaster is just starting out
Confused Strange log messages spamming log

I got this in my log
Jan 22 23:37:05 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:05 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:05 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:16 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:16 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:16 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:28 kernel: printk: 29 messages suppressed.
Jan 22 23:37:28 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0
Jan 22 23:37:28 kernel: protocol 0000 is buggy, dev eth0

I read before in this forum that u had to turn off VPN broadcast. The problem is that I can't find that feature at all.

Router ASUS AC66U
Firmware: 3.0.0.4.266.23

Best regards Dive
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:26 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,163
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,933 Times in 2,816 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

They renamed to "Network Place (Samba) Support".

If it still keeps getting logged, there's the Broadcast Support dropdown menu on the VPN Details page.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:49 AM
ryzhov_al's Avatar
ryzhov_al ryzhov_al is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Smolensk, Russia
Posts: 441
Thanks: 52
Thanked 311 Times in 156 Posts
ryzhov_al is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
They renamed to "Network Place (Samba) Support".
BTW, is it right that SAMBA tries to become master browser on WAN/MAN interfaces?
Quote:
# grep "domain master" /tmp/syslog.log

Jan 22 22:31:13 nmbd[841]: Samba server RT-N66U is now a domain master browser for workgroup WORKGROUP on subnet UNICAST_SUBNET
Jan 22 22:31:22 nmbd[841]: Samba server RT-N66U is now a domain master browser for workgroup WORKGROUP on subnet 192.168.0.1
Jan 22 22:31:22 nmbd[841]: Samba server RT-N66U is now a domain master browser for workgroup WORKGROUP on subnet 172.31.123.69
I know we are behind firewall and there is no any security issues, but AFAIK, master browser will periodically broadcast/flood MAN/WAN interfaces with UDP packages while announcing its presence, or while requesting another master browser election before shutdown. I see at least two negative consequences:
  • to expose SAMBA presence to internet or provider's LAN segment,
  • to be banned by provider for flood (Beeline bans for that, tested on myself two years ago)
__________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:01 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,163
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,933 Times in 2,816 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryzhov_al View Post
BTW, is it right that SAMBA tries to become master browser on WAN/MAN interfaces?

I know we are behind firewall and there is no any security issues, but AFAIK, master browser will periodically broadcast/flood MAN/WAN interfaces with UDP packages while announcing its presence, or while requesting another master browser election before shutdown. I see at least two negative consequences:
  • to expose SAMBA presence to internet or provider's LAN segment,
  • to be banned by provider for flood (Beeline bans for that, tested on myself two years ago)
I have been pondering that question ever since I added the Master Browser option. I was wondering if perhaps you wouldn't want Samba to bind to the WAN port when running in AP or in Bridge mode. I guess the code could always specifically look for that scenario as well and adjust accordingly.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2013, 12:14 PM
rlcronin rlcronin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
rlcronin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
I have been pondering that question ever since I added the Master Browser option. I was wondering if perhaps you wouldn't want Samba to bind to the WAN port when running in AP or in Bridge mode. I guess the code could always specifically look for that scenario as well and adjust accordingly.
Or add checkboxes for the interfaces it should bind to (perhaps defaulting them the way you describe, as that would likely be what most would want).
--
bc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:36 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,163
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,933 Times in 2,816 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

I looked into it tonight. Asuswrt would bind to the WAN interface except while in AP mode (which made sense as the WAN interface doesn't have an IP in that case). I made it so it won't bind to WAN either while in router mode, and added a non-documented nvram var that allows to override this (I see no point in burdening the webui with that option since virtually no one should need that option).

I also made Master Browser/WINS work even if you have no USB disk plugged in - Samba will be started if either option gets enabled.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  543
john9527  190
huotg01  168
System Error...  165
stevech  148
L&LD  140
jegesq  130
hggomes  97
azazel1024  92
RussellInCinc...  69
RMerlin  6932
john9527  658
stevech  374
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  275
TeHashX  271
RogerSC  210
hggomes  172
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  145
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  37005
Old SECURITY:...  18551
Old ASUS...  10755
Old ASUS...  7869
Old ASUS...  6935
Old choose a new...  3365
Old Asus...  2678
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2515
Old Bulding...  2303
Old Horrible...  2118
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  323
Old Asus...  82
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  44
Old ASUS...  43
Old Can you help...  40
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old Equipment...  29


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.